February Book Haul

Wow! This is a week of firsts. This is my first ever book haul! Oh, I’m so excited to share with you the books I got this month! Three of them I ordered from the Book Depository on January, but because of the distance and some problems that came up, they arrived at the end of February. The fourth is a Greek book. For this one I will include a description in Greek. So without further ado, lets talk about the books I bought!

132534871. The Word Lover’s Journal: A Do-It-Yourself Dictionary of Your Favorite Words by Meera Lester

This is a beautiful hardcover book with inspiring quotes and writing prompts that help you fill it with some of your favorite words and refine your lexicon. I can’t wait to start writing in it! And it is just so pretty, don’t you think?

2. My Life Next Door by Huntley Fitzpatrick

I first read this book as an e-book more than a year ago and I loved it. I have wanted to get a hardcover copy of it ever since. Now I finally have it and I’m looking forward to re-reading it hopefully some time this month. It’s a beautiful story that I think I have already reviewed on my previous blog, but I will post an updated review here right after I finish re-reading it.

The Garretts are everything the Reeds are not. Loud, messy, 12294652affectionate. And every day from her rooftop perch, Samantha Reed wishes she was one of them . . . until one summer evening, Jase Garrett climbs up next to her and changes everything.

As the two fall fiercely for each other, stumbling through the awkwardness and awesomeness of first love, Jase’s family embraces Samantha – even as she keeps him a secret from her own. Then something unthinkable happens, and the bottom drops out of Samantha’s world. She’s suddenly faced with an impossible decision. Which perfect family will save her? Or is it time she saved herself?

3. Everneath by Brodi Ashton

I have wanted to read this book ever since it first came out. I’ve even had an e-copy of it for years, but I just couldn’t read it. For some inexplicable reason I had to wait until I got a physical copy of it. I’ve even found it in bookstores here in Greece, but i didn’t buy it because it was translated. It had to be the original thing or nothing at all. Am I weird or have you felt like this about certain books too?

9413044Last spring, Nikki Beckett vanished, sucked into an underworld known as the Everneath. Now she’s returned—to her old life, her family, her boyfriend—before she’s banished back to the underworld . . . this time forever. She has six months before the Everneath comes to claim her, six months for good-byes she can’t find the words for, six months to find redemption, if it exists.

Nikki longs to spend these precious months forgetting the Everneath and trying to reconnect with her boyfriend, Jack, the person most devastated by her disappearance—and the one person she loves more than anything. But there’s just one problem: Cole, the smoldering immortal who enticed her to the Everneath in the first place, has followed Nikki home. Cole wants to take over the throne in the underworld and is convinced Nikki is the key to making it happen. And he’ll do whatever it takes to bring her back, this time as his queen.

As Nikki’s time on the Surface draws to a close and her relationships begin slipping from her grasp, she is forced to make the hardest decision of her life: find a way to cheat fate and remain on the Surface with Jack or return to the Everneath and become Cole’s queen.

4. Lastly I got Το Διαμαντένιο Άλφα by Nora Pylorof.

Firstly, I don’t know if you’ve noticed, but the author and I share the same name. Secondly, I love this cover. This publishing company has a knack for creating beautiful books and of great quality materials. You should see their Harry Potter editions. Anyway, I have linked to the goodreads page, even though it’s all in Greek, so if you don’t read Greek it’s not going to help any. But I will tell you what I learnt about it from the synopsis.

The story takes place in Thessalonica of the 20th century. Eight women share their stories about their lives, their marriages, the mistakes they’d made, and the dark secrets they have been hiding. I believe that from this book I will be able to get a great insight on how the people and especially women lived at the time. It is set in a very troubled period of the Greek modern history. I usually avoid reading books set in this time frame, but I am very interested in this one and the reviews I have read are great.

Πινακοθήκη γυναικείων χαρακτήρων το μυθιστόρημα, όπου σταδιακά ξεδιπλώνεται το χρονικό μιας αστικής 25047473οικογένειας διά στόματος των γυναικών της, που αναλαμβάνουν τον μίτο της αφήγησης σ’ έναν λαβύρινθο διαρκών ανατροπών. Αταίριαστοι γάμοι, παράνομοι έρωτες, σχέσεις βίας και εξουσίας, παιχνίδια εξαπάτησης, αμαρτίες που μεταφέρει το αίμα από τη μια γενιά στην άλλη. Τα θύματα γίνονται θύτες, η οργή δυναμιτίζει την επίπλαστη οικογενειακή ισορροπία. Παγιδευμένες σε σκοτεινά οικογενειακά μυστικά, οι ηρωίδες κατατρέχονται από τα λάθη και τα πάθη τους, παλεύουν να ξεφύγουν από τα αδιέξοδά τους και να πολεμήσουν το Κακό με όποιους τρόπους τούς προσφέρει η γυναικεία τους φύση∙ με τον ερωτισμό, τη θηλυκότητά τους, με τους ιστούς εκδίκησης που υφαίνουν.

Συνδετικός κρίκος των οκτώ γυναικών το άλφα, το αρχικό γράμμα του ονόματός τους και το διαμαντένιο δαχτυλίδι που περνάει από γενιά σε γενιά. Κοινός τόπος και σκηνικό μαζί το κόκκινο σαλόνι, κολαστήριο ψυχών και πεδίο βολής της οικογένειας, γίνεται μάρτυρας αποκαλύψεων, εκρήξεων και βιαιότητας. Γιατί το παρελθόν διεισδύει από αόρατες ρωγμές…

Σφυρηλατημένο με μαεστρία και απίστευτη δραματικότητα, Το διαμαντένιο Άλφα αναδεικνύει τον αγώνα της γυναίκας να υπάρξει, να αυτονομηθεί και να αντιταχθεί στην ανδρική παρουσία και στους κοινωνικούς συμβιβασμούς.

Αυτό το βιβλίο είχε αρχικά εκδοθεί από τις εκδόσεις Ελληνικά Γράμματα, αλλά αφότου έκλεισαν, οι εκδόσεις Ψυχογιός ανέλαβαν την επανέκδοση του και πιστεύω πως έκαναν πολύ καλή δουλειά.

After I read the book I will be writing a review on it both in Greek and in English so that anybody can read it.

So these are the books I got in February. At he end of this post I have added links to the books for anyone who would like to get their own copies. Which books did you buy last month? Tell me in the comments below… 😀

1. The Word Lover’s Journal, 2. My Life Next Door, 3. Everneath, 4. Το Διαμαντένιο Άλφα

Leave a Reply

