March TBR

I know it’s almost a week since the beginning of March, but I have already posted a TBR for the first week so it doesn’t really count. This is the second time that I have written a TBR post. The first time it was on my previous blog and it didn’t go so well. I couldn’t stick to the books I had chosen and read them. It was like, as soon as I had published the TBR post, I had lost any interest in reading those books. But since I have been doing so well this last week with my #AYEARATHON TBR, I decided to try again. So for this month I will be reading 5 books and one e-book.

For this month I decided to participate in the Read-a-Long with PRICEISWONG. It is a goodreads group that was created by Jessica (priceiswong), you can check out her youtube channel here. Every month we pick a book that we read and then discuss it with the rest of the group’s members. This month’s pick was Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard.

17878931The poverty stricken Reds are commoners, living under the rule of the Silvers, elite warriors with god-like powers. To Mare Barrow, a 17-year-old Red girl from The Stilts, it looks like nothing will ever change. Mare finds herself working in the Silver Palace, at the centre of those she hates the most. She quickly discovers that, despite her red blood, she possesses a deadly power of her own. One that threatens to destroy Silver control. But power is a dangerous game. And in this world divided by blood, who will win?

I’ve wanted to read this book ever since it was released last month. And look at that gorgeous cover! I can’t wait to buy my own copy. For now I’ll have to content myself with the e-book.

Now on to the rest of the books…

122946521. My Life Next Door by Huntley Fitzpatrick. I’ve just shown you this book in my Book Haul. This book will be a re-read for me and I’m very excited about it. I first read it as an e-book, but lately, I’m beginning to understand that reading a book in its e-book format and reading the physical copy of it are two very different experiences. It will be interesting to see what I wil think about it this time.cover

“One thing my mother never knew, and would disapprove of most of all, was that I watched the Garretts. All the time.” The Garretts are everything the Reeds are not. Loud, messy, affectionate. And every day from her rooftop perch, Samantha Reed wishes she was one of them . . . until one summer evening, Jase Garrett climbs up next to her and changes everything. As the two fall fiercely for each other, stumbling through the awkwardness and awesomeness of first love, Jase’s family embraces Samantha – even as she keeps him a secret from her own. Then something unthinkable happens, and the bottom drops out of Samantha’s world. She’s suddenly faced with an impossible decision. Which perfect family will save her? Or is it time she saved herself? A transporting debut about family, friendship, first romance, and how to be true to one person you love without betraying another.

2. Stargazer by Claudia Gray. This is the second book in the Evernight series. I read this series (all of it except for the second book, and I’m sure I have to have a very logical reason for that) years ago. I can’t say I loved it, I didn’t even particularly like it. But still for some reason I feel like I have to read the second book. It’s like I won’t be finished with this series until I have read that last book. So now I decided that I’m going to read it and be done with it. For those who haven’t read the first book and are interested in learning more about the series I will leave a link to the first book here. For the rest of you here is the synopsis of Stargazer.

3054684The vampire in me was closer to the surface… Evernight Academy: an exclusive boarding school for the most beautiful, dangerous students of all—vampires. Bianca, born to two vampires, has always been told her destiny is to become one of them. But Bianca fell in love with Lucas—a vampire hunter sworn to destroy her kind. They were torn apart when his true identity was revealed, forcing him to flee the school. Although they may be separated, Bianca and Lucas will not give each other up. She will risk anything for the chance to see him again, even if it means coming face-to-face with the vampire hunters of Black Cross—or deceiving the powerful vampires of Evernight. Bianca’s secrets will force her to live a life of lies. Yet Bianca isn’t the only one keeping secrets. When Evernight is attacked by an evil force that seems to target her, she discovers the truth she thought she knew is only the beginning… The book I really want to read is Balthazar, which is written from Balthazar’s point of view -the only reason I kept reading this series.

250474733. Το Διαμαντένιο Άλφα by Nora Pylorof. I’ve talked about this book in my Book Haul as well. It is an old title that was published years ago, but when the publishing company closed down, it was picked up by another one and was recently re-released (and with a much better cover). I have recently found it and was intrigued by it. I won’t say more about it because I don’t know much more about it and also because it is written in Greek so including the synopsis is pointless. You can read about the book, though, in my Book Haul and in the review I am planning to write once I have finished reading it. And by the way, isn’t this a beautiful cover?
4. Red Riding Hood by Sarah Blakley-Cartwright & David Leslie Johnson. I first heard about this book when the movie came out. They both looked very interesting. So I bought the book and…never read it. Now I’ve decided that it’s time for me to do that. I don’t like buying books and have them sit on my shelves without ever opening them.

9938941Valerie’s sister was beautiful, kind and sweet. Now she is dead. Henry, the handsome son of the blacksmith, tries to console Valerie, but her wild heart beats fast for another: the outcast woodcutter, Peter, who offers Valerie another life far from home. After her sister’s violent death, Valerie’s world begins to spiral out of control. For generations, the Wolf has been kept at bay with a monthly sacrifice. But now no one is safe. When an expert Wolf hunter arrives, the villagers learn that the creature lives among them – it could be anyone in town. It soon becomes clear that Valerie is the only one who can hear the voice of the creature. The Wolf says she must surrender herself before the blood moon wanes…or everyone she loves will die.

5. To Tame a Highland Warrior by Karen Marie Moning. This is the second book in the Highland series. I bought the first three books in January and read the first one last month. I can’t say that it was the best book I’ve ever read, but it was a good one. I don’t know if I’m going to like this one, but it is about Scottish Highlanders, so it can’t be that bad.

112756A Woman’s Tender Touch

He was born to a clan of warriors of supernatural strength, but Gavrael McIllioch abandoned his name and his Highland castle, determined to escape the dark fate of his ancestors. Hiding his identity from the relentless rival clan that hunted him, he called himself Grimm to protect the people he cared for, vowing never to acknowledge his love for ravishing Jillian St. Clair. Yet even from afar he watched over her, and when her father sent an urgent summons, “Come for Jillian,” he raced to her side—into a competition to win her hand in marriage.

A Warrior’s Steely Heart

Why had he run from her so many years before? And why return now to see her offered as a prize in her father’s manipulative game? Furious, Jillian vowed never to wed. But Grimm was the man she loved, the one who urged her to marry another. He tried to pretend indifference as she tempted him, but he could not deny the fierce desires that compelled him to abduct her from the altar. She was the only woman who could tame the beast that raged within him—even as deadly enemies plotted to destroy them both…

So, these are the books I plan to read in March. I will also continue to read Obsidian in German. I am determined. Nothing will stop me from improving my German through literature.

Which books will you be reading this month? Tell me in the comments below…

And if you’re interested in buying any of the books I just mentioned, click on the links below…

Red Queen, My Life Next Door, Evernight and Stargazer, Balthazar, Το Διαμαντένιο Άλφα, Red Riding Hood and lastly To Tame A Highland Warrior

Leave a Reply

