Review: Return of the Viking Warrior

21522522Title: Return of the Viking Warrior

Author: Michelle Styles

Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Summary:

The Viking claims his wife…

Kara Olofdottar thanked the gods when she married her childhood hero Ash Hringson. But this fearless raider has been gone so long his proud arrogance is the only memory she retains of him. Now she must remarry to protect her lands for her son. But then, on her wedding day, the conquering warrior returns – to gasps of horror and surprise! After all, Ash was supposed to be dead… though to Kara’s starved gaze he seems very much flesh and blood… and less than impressed to find his beautiful wife intent on marrying someone else!

Review:

I won a copy of this book on Goodreads and the author was awesome enough to sign it for me! I’ve never had a book that was signed by the author before. I was so excited when I received the book. I wanted to read it immediately and I wanted to love it. But things did not go as planned.

My main issue was my instant dislike for Kara, the female protagonist. How can a woman that has taken control of her whole life at a time when women were rarely allowed the right to voice an opinion on their own futures be so stupid and blind! First mistake: marrying someone you don’t love by choice; a recipe for disaster. Second mistake: the man you’re in love with comes back to you after seven years, even though you thought him dead, and you lie to him, try to drive him away, play hard to get, and generally hide things from him instead of talking to him like any reasonable human being. The impersonation of idiocy! They’d have both been spared the heartache and I’d have been spared the frustration.

Ash, on the other hand, has (thankfully) grown up. He has been through a lot and has now returned to reclaim and take care of his family. He knows what he wants and doesn’t hesitate to take it, but has also the patience to wait for the right time to do it. He’s not afraid to recognize his mistakes and his flaws and tries to make up for them. When he realizes he has a son, he doesn’t run from the responsibility. Instead he accepts his son with all his flaws and guides him on how to become a good man and overcome his limitations. If things were different, I would have hated the self-centered man Ash was before leaving, but it is obvious (to everybody except Kara) that the Ash that came back is a completely different person.

Ash’s father, Hring, was a total as*&#@e. He was the type of person who could never be happy, if everyone around him wasn’t miserable. The things he had done to Kara and Ash were horrible, but the things he had said to his grandson were even worse.

Anyway, apart from the characters, the plot was okay. It wasn’t anything that I hadn’t read before, but it was believable and the story had a nice flow. It is a short book, but still things don’t just happen out of the blue when they should have taken more time. The writing was good and I really liked the descriptions. Finally, the ending was exactly what I had expected and thank God for that or I would have burned it.

Overall, it was a good book. The only problem I had with it was Kara, but that was, of course, my personal opinion. To anyone who might be unsure on whether to read it or not, I would say: read it and form your own opinion about it. It is one of those books that people mostly either love it or hate it. I’m kind of in the middle, but I’m trying to be fair and give an honest opinion.

Have you read Return of the Viking Warrior? If yes, what did you think about it? And if not, would you like to read it? Tell me in the comments below.

And let’s not forget about my #AYEARATHON wrap-up that’s going to be posted tomorrow.

If you want your own copy of this book, click on this link here.

Leave a Reply

