Series Review: Chicagoland Vampires #1

coverTitle: Some Girls Bite

Author: Chloe Neill

Series: Chicagoland Vampires #1

Rating: 4 out of stars

Summary:

They killed me. They healed me. They changed me.

Sure, the life of a graduate student wasn’t exactly glamorous, but I was doing fine until Chicago’s vampires announced their existence to the world. When a rogue vampire attacked me, I was lucky he only got a sip. Another bloodsucker scared him off and decided the best way to save my life was to make me the walking undead.

Now I’ve traded sweating over my thesis for learning to fit in at a Hyde Park mansion full of vamps loyal to Ethan “Lord o’ the Manor” Sullivan. Of course, as a tall, green-eyed,
four-hundred-year-old vampire, he has centuries’ worth of charm, but unfortunately he expects my gratitude—and servitude. Right…

But someone’s out to get me. Is it the rogue vampire who bit me? A vamp from a rival House? An angry mob bearing torches?

My initiation into Chicago’s nightlife may be the first skirmish in a war—and there will be blood.

Review:

This is the first book in a great series. I have read it and re-read it and re-read it so many times. But let’s start from the beginning. Merit is a great heroine. She starts off being just another woman who is studying literature. But she’s a lot more than that. She is independent, smart, funny and sarcastic. She is strong and loyal and honorable. Her attraction to Ethan is strong, but she doesn’t allow this to come before what really matters to her.

Ethan is a 400-year-old vampire, and just like anyone would expect he has some antiquated beliefs. It is clear that he is a good and honorable man, who loves and takes care of his people. He is a great strategist who takes advantage of every opportunity and can be both ruthless and just whenever the situation demands it. Where Merit is concerned though, we get a glimpse once or twice of the man that is hiding under the hard cover of the in charge Master vampire. It is too bad that we don’t get to read anything through his perspective. It would have been such an interesting read. Ethan is an intriguing character.

The rest of the characters vary. You can find people whose personalities range from cute and adorable to insane and homicidal. Take your pick. Personally, one of my favorite secondary characters in this book is the pretentious smart-ass sorcerer.

And that is another thing that stands out to me. The variety of the different paranormal entities that exist in this series. The author doesn’t just talk about vampires or about vampires and werewolves like you see in most series. She has included a variety of different supernaturals. Maybe not that much in the first book, but in the series as whole.

This first book is like a big introduction to the whole story. It has its own plot and its own conclusion, of course, but it’s like a ‘This is How it All Started’ story. I like the plot and I like the writing. The author doesn’t over-explain things in the dialogues and I like the humor and sarcasm that you can find in the conversations. I don’t mind the instant attraction between Ethan and Merit because it is obvious that this instant attraction doesn’t equate to instant love. And it wouldn’t have been normal, if it did. How could they fall in love at first sight, when they don’t even know or at least like each other? It’s so frustrating when in some books you see two total strangers meeting each other and almost immediately they’re like ‘let’s have sex and get married’. No, that’s not what real relationships are like.

Anyway, that’s almost everything I had to say about this book. I only need to add this: I don’t like Morgan. I didn’t like him from the very first moment he made his appearance to the very last page of the 11th book. Some people might like him. I do not.

I have an idea; let’s hate Morgan together. Who’s on the team anti-Morgan?

All right, that’s all I had to say about this book. I will be continuing this review on Saturday with the second book, Friday Night Bites (you can read the post here). What are your thoughts on Some Girls Bite? Have you read it? I’d like to hear your opinions…

You can buy Some Girls Bite here.

Leave a Reply

