Top 5 Wednesday: Books That Made You Think

I have to admit that this week’s theme was a bit vague. Since this is one of the reasons I read books, though, I decided not to skip it. And although it was hard for me to choose 5 titles, but I think I’ve made some good choices.

coverNumber 5: Pushing the Limits by Katie McGarry. This is one of my favorite books of all time. It’s about a teenage girl whose mother is bipolar and has tried to kill her and an orphaned teenage boy who’s trying to protect his little brothers. It was a captivating read about two young people dealing with social problems, lack of proper parental care and scars that reach deep into their souls.

coverNumber 4: Delirium by Lauren Oliver. What would you do in a world where love is considered a disease? What would your life be like, if you were not allowed to love and be loved? Is love after all something to strive for, something to search for? Is the feeling of being loved worth the heartache that comes with it? This book shows what can become of a world, where people have gone too far in their search for perfection. The author doesn’t stray from the subject of love at all, but while reading, one can easily replace love with other words. Personally, I believe that the message the author is trying to pass, is about what happens when, in our search for perfection, we lose sight of what’s actually important. Lives are not meant to be perfect. One cannot know happiness, when they have never known sadness. They cannot know beauty, if they have not seen ugliness. They cannot know wealth, if they haven’t witnessed poverty. A perfect world is a world out of balance.

94153Number 3: The Freedom Writers Diary: How a Teacher and 150 Teens Used Writing to Change Themselves and the World Around Them by Erin Gruwell & The Freedom Writers. This is an inspiring story of 150 teenagers that, through writing and with the help of a remarkable teacher, manage to overcome the problems in their lives and -against all odds and expectations- build a better future for themselves. This book deals with social issues, drugs, gang wars, racism, abuse, bullying and hundreds of other topics that we get to experience through the perspective of the teenagers that have been their ‘victims’. I haven’t finished it yet, but still it’s one of the top five books that have made me think.

1217100Number 2: Thirteen Reasons Why by Jay Asher. This is a depressing story about a young girl that committed suicide and is now sending tapes to the people she considers responsible for it, where she talks about how each one of them had affected her decision to end her life. Personally, I think that what she did was cruel. I don’t care what someone has done to you, if they require punishment, there are other ways to do it. This is unthinkably cruel. Also, I tend to think that a person that commits suicide has no right to blame anyone other than herself and her own cowardice for it. No matter what you’ve been through, others have been through worse. As long as you’re alive, you have a chance at happiness. Throwing away the gift of life you have been given in such a way shows only your ingratitude for the good things you have been blessed with. I haven’t finished this book and don’t plan on ever finishing it. You could say that it’s a matter of principal to me. Apart from my general dislike for the book, though, the author does make several good points in it. Like, for example, how our most trivial action or decision can have grave consequences in the lives of other people.

10866233Numero 1: The List by Siobhan Vivian. Another book I’ve hated with all my heart. It’s about a group of students that have been selected as parts of a very idiotic list and how their lives are affected by it. In my opinion each and every one of these students is more stupid than the previous one. The whole school pays way too much attention on that stupid list and for all the wrong reasons. But the author also gets to talk about some very important issues. That’s why I don’t consider it a waste of my time and why it has the first place on this list.

These are the top 5 books that made me think. Or at least they are the first 5 books that I could think of. Since I make it a habit to make myself think about the books I read, almost each and every book qualifies. It’s something that stuck with me, ever since my relatives started criticizing my choices in books. Firstly, it was just a way for me to justify these choices, later it became one of the top 5 reasons I read a book. Check the Complete List of Wednesday-ers to see which books other people have chosen. Next week’s topic is Bookish Habits…Bye!

Click on the titles below to get your own copies of the books I’ve mentioned:

Pushing the Limits, Delirium, The Freedom Writers’ Diary, Thirteen Reasons Why, and The List.

6 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday: Books That Made You Think

  1. For 13 reasons,Hannah the main character I felt like her suicide was for shallow reasons and she was just being a b*tch (please excuse my language) for creating those tapes. I read the book and I honestly could not sympathize with her.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Interesting choices, I haven’t read any of these but might pick them up particularly the books you had a strong dislike of, I’d like to see if I feel the same. I do just have to mention that I respectfully disagree with your comments about suicide, although the girl in the book may not be right in blaming others for her suicide I don’t necessarily think that the act of suicide is an act of cowardice nor do I agree with the phrase ‘No matter what you’ve been through, others have been through worse.’ Mental illness is just that, an illness, it does not discriminate and depression can invade anyones mind and block out anything that might be good and comparing your suffering to others does not make your pain any less real. I don’t think people who commit suicide are ungrateful I think that they are people who’s lives have been destroyed by a very real illness. However I did enjoy reading your views on these books and I look forward to further top 5 Wednesdays.

    If you’d like to see the top 5 books that made me think I’ve posted them here: http://sarahschapter.blogspot.co.uk/2015/03/top-five-wednesdays-books-that-made-you.html

    Sarah
    sarahschapter.blogspot.co.uk
    Xx

    Liked by 1 person

    • Maybe you’re wrong. Or maybe you’re right and I’m wrong. Or maybe there is no right answer in this situation. I just can’t help feeling that taking your life is like giving up. Giving up all these good things that were going to come, that you could have achieved. I’ve always thought that we are responsible for our lives and of finding that small ray of light even in the darkest places. But everyone is different and I have no right to judge them for their decisions. On this you are right.

      Like

    • The Freedom Writers movie is great. I didn’t know there was a book at first either. But it is a unique book. Written from bits and pieces of different people’s diaries, it somehow forms a complete story from 150 different stories. Does that make sense?

      Like

Leave a Reply

