Series Review: Chicagoland Vampires #2

coverTitle: Friday Night Bites

Author: Chloe Neill

Series: Chicagoland Vampires #2

Rating: 3.5 out of 5

Summary:

Vamps in Chicago!

You’d think headlines like that would have provoked the fine citizens of the Windy City to take up arms against us bloodsucking fiends. Instead, ten months later, we’re enjoying a celebrity status reserved for the Hollywood elite—fending off paparazzi only slightly less dangerous than cross and stake-wielding slayers. Don’t get me wrong, Joe Public isn’t exactly thrilled to be living side-by-side with the undead, but at least they haven’t stormed the castle yet.

But all that will change once they learn about the Raves—mass feeding parties where vampires round up humans like cattle and drink themselves silly. Most civilized vampires frown on this behavior, putting mere mortals at ease with their policy of asking a person’s consent before taking a big gulp of the red stuff. However, that doesn’t make good copy for a first time reporter looking to impress his high society family.

So now my “master,” the centuries old, yet gorgeously well-preserved Ethan Sullivan, wants me to reconnect with my own upper class family and act as liaison between humans and vampires—and keep the more unsavory aspects of our existence out of the media. But someone doesn’t want people and vamps to play nicey-nice—someone with an ancient grudge.

Review:

I was so engrossed in my book yesterday that I forgot to publish this post. In my review of the first book I said that it is like an introduction to the whole story. And it is. Now the story starts to pick up and become more complex. If you haven’t read the first book yet, I’d suggest that you read its review here instead of this one, so that you don’t get spoiled.

Friday Night Bites. I have mixed feelings about this book. I do like it, but not as much as other books in this series. We get to know a bit more about Ethan as a person, and Merit and Ethan’s relationship starts to turn more into a romance than before, but there are some parts that are just so frustrating.

My main problem in the whole story is, I think, that there is too much Morgan. I’m not saying that Morgan has overtaken the plot, just that there is too much of him as a whole. I think that my dislike of him was evident in my previous post, so I guess you might understand why I don’t like reading about him. I think that their relationship was a mistake from its very beginning. And also, Morgan has too many things in common with a spoiled teenager sometimes.

But aside from Morgan and a little thing with Mallory that I’m not going to talk about and spoil everyone, I like this part of the story. New characters are introduced, mostly from Merit’s life as a human, and we get to see the prejudice between vampires and shifters. The ending wasn’t exactly what I had expected and I’m usually very good at figuring out things in books. But still I wasn’t able to find out the identity of the person responsible for these messages.

My favorite part of the whole book is in the last couple of chapters, but since they the are last two I’m not going to tell you why that is. I know that this must be one of the worst reviews I’ve ever posted. I must have rad this book at least five times and I still cannot explain my thoughts on it.

Anyway, don’t forget to read my review on the first book here and wait for my review on the next one in the series, Twice Bitten, which I’ve already said it’s my favorite (you can now read it here).

Have you read Friday Night Bites? Tell me your opinion on the book or this review in the comments…

As always you can get your copy here.

Leave a Reply

