Series Review: Chicagoland Vampires #3

coverTitle: Twice Bitten

Author: Chloe Neill

Series: Chicagoland Vampires #3

Rating: 5 out of 5

Summary:

Merit, Chicago’s newest vampire, is learning how to play well with others. Other supernaturals, that is. Shapeshifters from across the country are convening in the Windy City, and as a gesture of peace, Master Vampire Ethan Sullivan has offered their leader a very special bodyguard: Merit. Merit is supposed to protect the Alpha, Gabriel Keene—and to spy for the vamps while she’s at it. Oh, and luckily Ethan’s offering some steamy, one-on-one combat training sessions to help her prepare for the mission.

Merit must accept the assignment, even though she knows that she’ll probably regret it. And she’s not wrong. Someone is gunning for Gabriel Keene, and Merit soon finds herself in the line of fire. She’ll need all the help she can get to track down the would-be assassin, but everywhere she turns, there are rising tensions between supernaturals—not least between her and a certain green-eyed, centuries old master vampire.

Review:

Since this is a review of the third book in this series, I’d suggest that you read my review on the first book, if you haven’t read it, or maybe the second book, before reading this one so that you don’t get spoiled. But if you have read the first two books then go on and read my review on the third one.

Well, I have already said that this is one of my favorite books in this series and for a very good reason. We finally get to meet some shapeshifters and understand a bit more about the hatred between vampires and shapeshifters. There had been some shapeshifters in the two previous books, but we hadn’t seen their world. Now we get to do so.

Also, Gabriel is my second favorite character in the series, competing with Ethan for first place. And Gabriel’s interactions with Merit are always some of the best parts. Apart from Gabriel, we also get to meet Berna, whom I love. Read the book and tell me if you don’t love her as well. No, maybe we should all wait until later in the series, where she gets some of my favorite Berna lines… She just reminds me of a fierce mother shifter taking care of whomever she considers family.

But let’s leave the shifters for a bit and let’s return to the vampires. Ethan as always is… well, Ethan. But in this book we actually get to see the Ethan that’s hiding under the hard exterior of the Master vampire. He and Merit get closer. And I wish I could say much more than just that, but I would have to give away two -no, three- biiiig spoilers.

Another vampire I’d like to talk about and that we get to meet in this book is the Librarian. He’s my favorite secondary vampire character in the series. I don’t have a lot to say about him, just that in a perfect world, he would be my perfect mate (siiiiigh).

Lastly, there is one more person that I want to mention and it is Mallory. I don’t like her at all. For the very first moment it has been obvious that Merit and Ethan are meant to be together. So why is she giving Merit the advice that she is giving her?

Okay, I don’t think I have to say anything more about this book without spoilers. I might mention a few more things in my review of the next book on Saturday. It’s really hard to write series reviews. So many things happen in this book that I want to talk about, but they’re all like a chain of events, you can’t talk about one without giving away the rest.

Have you read any of the books in this series? How have you found them so far? And if you have tell me which one do you like more Gabriel or Ethan?

You can get a copy of this book here.

Leave a Reply

