I’m going to London!!!

Yaaay! A dream of mine is going to come true. On imagesFriday I will be flying to London with my sister. She has been taking English language classes for the last couple of years in order to get her Proficiency degree and the teacher that has been giving these classes has organized a trip to London.

I’ve always wanted to travel to England and now my dream is going to come true. We’re going to visit so many places and we will have time to take a walk in Oxford street and buy souvenirs and stuff. From what I’ve heard from other people, though, it’s a very expensive place. I hope not, we’ll see. The place where I want to go, apart from the attractions of course, is one of those huge bookstores I always see on the internet or even better one that sells used books. Here in Greece our bookstores are quite small nothing at all compared to the ones I have seen in the photos on the internet. Of course there may be bigger ones in Athens or Thessaloniki, but I’ve never been in Athens and I’ve never been in such a big bookshop in Thessaloniki. Also, I have never found a bookstore that sells used books and I would like to see one. Not just because you can find cheap books there, but also because of the history. Some of these books may be first editions or really old tomes or books that have been marked that have notes  from different people that have been loved. I’d love to see that.

Where I have been really dreaming of going, of course, is Scotland. I want to see the highlands and all these places where some of my favorite books are set. But this will have to be another trip. After all there are so many places in this country that I want to visit, I can’t go to them all in just four days. The UK in general has been a fascination for me since I was a baby. I’m definitely going back someday after my graduation.

So, like I’ve already said, we will be flying there on Friday morning and will be coming back on Monday the 23rd. I will write a post about the trip and my experiences afterward, but I don’t think I will be able to post all of my scheduled posts for the week. I will try to write them all beforehand and schedule them, but I won’t have my laptop with me, so I can’t promise anything.

Anyway, if any of you have been to London or live there, don’t hesitate to tell me if you know of bookshops like the ones I mentioned on Oxford Street, or any other shop there that you think I should search for. I won’t have loads of time of course and Oxford Street must be huge, but I might find one or two of them and go see…

I’m so excited! I hope we’ll have a great time…

P.S. I know that you are reading this on Friday, but right now I am on the plane to London. This post was written a few days in advance. That should explain to you the future tenses…

Leave a Reply

