The Pastry Book Tag

pastry-300x225I’ve never done a tag post before, so I thought it would be nice to start with something delicious. I first found out about this tag from this post by Embuhlee Liest and this is the original post. I wasn’t tagged by anyone, but I wanted to do the tag, so I’m doing it anyway.

Aaand let’s start with question numero 1…

images1. Croissant: Name a popular book or series that everyone (including you) loves.

Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen. For many years I liked to say that I would never read Pride and Prejudice. However, after starting my first blog, I felt that it was important that I read a book before I decided it was bad. When I tried to explain this feeling to a friend of my mother’s she said looking at me down her nose that by now must be touching the ceiling: “You should get 15994711out of the habit of reading things just because you think that you are expected to in order to be considered a well-read person.” I’m not saying that there aren’t people that do this. But I, personally, was of the opinion that, if I were to write book reviews and publish them for everyone to read, I would have to have read the books I was commenting on, even if the comments were negative. So, this was what prompted me to read Pride and Prejudice and I just loved it.

macarons-feature-pic2. Macaron: Name a book that was hard to get through but was worth it at the end.

The Magician’s Guild by Trudi  Canavan. Ever since I got accepted to University, I have been wanting to own and read Trudi Canavan’s
books. I think I have talked about that before in this blog. I wanted so much to like her books that I was afraid to read them, in case I might not like them. Yeah, I’m sure everyone can appreciate 28249the logic in that, and especially when it comes from a
Mathematician… Anyway, after I got the courage and finally started this one, it was a bit hard for me to get through, because the beginning was quite slow. Although, I believe that this was mostly because I had already read the prequel and wanted so much to read more about the Guild itself and how a Sonya’s life there was going to be. But it was worth all the waiting and frustration in the end. It is a great book and a great trilogy that I believe most people would enjoy.

prawn3. Vol-au-vent: Name a book that you thought would be amazing but fell flat.

The List by Siobhan Vivian. When I first saw this b
ook, I thought it was going to be a great read. 10866233So I bought it and, without really reading the summary, I started reading it thinking it was going to be a very good book about high school discrimination and bullying that had to teach me something. Unfortunately, it fell flat. I didn’t like the book at all and it wasn’t even close to what I had expected. I believe I have  talked about that in a previous post.

download4. Pain Au Chocolat: Name a book you thought would be one thing but turned out to be something else.

The Return of the Viking Warrior by Michelle Styles. I won this book on a Goodreads 21522522giveaway and at the time I had thought it
was going to be a great book but I really wasn’t. I had thought that it would have more to do with the Viking civilization and less with a frightened woman playing hard to get to her own husband. I have a written a review on it a while ago.

1279857424_filepathname5. Profiterole: Name a book or series that doesn’t get enough attention.

The Parasol Protectorate by PrintGail Carriger. I’ve known about this series for almost two years now. Though it did take me some time until I started reading it, I loved it from the very first pages. However, I don’t believe that the series has gotten as much attention as it deserves. Especially the first book, which my favorite one.

FNM_120109-Sugar-Fix-006_s4x3.jpg.rend.sni12col.landscape6. Croquembouche: Name a book or series that’s extremely complex.

The Inheritance Cycle by Christopher Paolini. I was given the first book as a gift for my birthday just before the movie was released. I love this series almost as much as I hate the movie. It is an 113436extremely complex series. There are so many different civilizations and languages and even the plot was very complex. I just wish that the ending was a bit different. For anyone who has not read the series, my suggestion would be to give it a chance. Despite the very very VERY bad movie adaptation, the books are really really REALLY good.

dsc_0044-27. Napoleon: Name a movie or TV show based off a book that you liked better than the book itself.

Outlander by Diana Gabaldon. I know that many of you disagree with me, but I hated that book. I thought it was too long and 10964I struggled to finish it. In fact, had I not watched the TV series before reading the book, I never would have read past the second chapter. Especially the second book, Dragonfly in Amber, was awfully awful. I would love to watch season 2 of the TV show, but I will never finish the rest of the series.


cocina8. Empanada: Name a book that was bittersweet.1317181

Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix by J.K. Rowling. I chose this book mostly because I couldn’t come up with another title. Now, if there is anybody that doesn’t know why I chose it, I’m not going to tell you. Read the series and you’ll find out. I promise it will be worth your time.

il_570xN.762229293_e9hi9. Kolompeh: Name a book or series that takes place somewhere other than your home country.

Mine Till Midnight by Lisa Kleypas. Since I live in Greece and I read mostly books from foreign authors, this question was somewhat redundant. coverAnyway, I chose this book in particular for several different reasons. Firstly because I like it. Secondly, because it is set in England. An, lastly, because the male protagonist is half Gypsy. I thought that the fact that Gypsies are a nomadic people would make this book the best answer for this question.

A perfect alternative would the Brides of the Kindred series by Evangeline Anderson, which takes place mostly in space and on alien planets, but I thought that was cheating.

images10. Pate a Choux: Name one food from a book or series that you would like to try.

Any food from The Inheritance Cycle by Christopher Paolini. Actually, the first thing that came to my mind was Harry Potter. However, every time I hear this question, this is the answer that 95% of the people  will give. It’s like J.K. Rowling was the first and last author to ever make up recipes that people would want to try. Come on, people, I know you can do better than that! In Eldest, for example, Christopher Paolini provides his readers with many perfectly delicious answers. I would love to taste the rich cuisine of the Dwarfs or the vegetarian recipes of the Elves.

If you don’t like this answer, I can give you an alternative. Hmm… Grieza worms, again from the Brides of the Kindred series by Evangeline Anderson. They might sound disgusting, but no woman would ever say no to them after learning what they really were.

Aaand with that, I have completed my first tag post. I’m going to tag Mallory from The Leaning Tower of Tomes, Kiltsandswords, Kassidy Voinche and everyone of you reading this tag that have yet to do it. And if you do the post, feel free to add the link to it in the comments below, so that I and everybody else can read your answers.

Finally, I wanted to say that this is the first post I’mm doing for Blogmas. Initially, I was planning to post it last week, but due to lack of Wifi, I was forced to delay it.

6 thoughts on “The Pastry Book Tag

  1. Pingback: The Pastry Book Tag! | The Leaning Tower of Tomes

Leave a Reply

