The Holly Jolly Holiday Tag (Blogmas 2015 day 10)

As promised in my Sunday Post, this is my Holly Jolly Holiday Tag post. I found this on Embuhlee‘s blog. The tag was created by beautybaby44 and strawberryelect from Twitter (or at least I think so, because this is quite an old tag). Having said that let’s move on to the questions…

How_the_Grinch_Stole_Christmas_film_poster1. Favorite Christmas movie?

Well, I have already talked about this in my Favorite Christmas Stories and Movies, but, if I had to choose just one Christmas movie, I think it would have to be the Grinch.

2. Are you on the Naughty list or on the Nice list?

I’m probably on the Naughty list. It’s so much more fun to be naughty. Even if you don’t get any presents from Santa Claus, you just have to devise evil plans on how to make others get you what Santa won’t.

3. Show us an embarrassing Christmas card photo! (WE KNOW YOU HAVE ONE, OK?)

Indeed, I don’t. Firstly, because my family never did the whole Christmas card thing. Though, we do buy Christmas cards from non-profit organisations and such in our area. And I do like to collect those cards, mostly for inspirational reasons for my art. But we don’t give Christmas cards to each other. Secondly, even if we did give Christmas cards to each other, I probably wouldn’t have any photos, because I don’t often take photos of things.

4. Have you ever had a white Christmas?

Yeah! Here in Greece having a white Christmas is not very uncommon. Of course, that depends on the area of Greece that you are living, but here in Macedonia it snows almost every year. Okay, not so much in the past few years, but I will never forget when, four years ago, it had snowed so much on Christmas Eve! At the time I was travelling from Ioannina to Veroia and it was snowing so hard and for so long that they had to close the Highway. I will never forget how a two and a half hour trip lasted 15 hours!!! Yes! We were left inside that bus for 15 hours with no food, water or bathroom with a snow storm raging outside halfway between Kozani and Veroia. Literally 15 minutes away from home.

5. Where do you usually spend your holiday?

Usually, I spend my holiday at home. When I was little, we used to stay in a four-story building, which was occupied only by my relatives. So, on Christmas day, we gathered all in my grandparents’ apartment and we all had lunch or dinner together. Every year there were at least 20 people, but we had easily reached 30 on several years. And I’m only talking about close relatives from my father’s side!

6. Play or sing us your favorite Christmas song.

I am not going to play or sing you anything, since the recording devices available to me make me sound soooo weird. Anyway, if I had to choose just one Christmas song it would probably be Mariah Carey’s All I Want for Christmas Is You, but I have recently posted My Top 10 Favorite Christmas Songs.

7. Do you open any presents on Christmas Eve?

No. Again in my family we usually don’t exchange presents at Christmas. For us Christmas has never been about presents. Especially for me the most important part about Christmas has always been what I described above. Setting a huge table full of food and invite more people than you have chairs for them to sit on to share it with. Nowadays, I mostly exchange smalls gifts with my sister. But again, I do it because I feel the need to and not because it is expected of me to do it. In fact, my sister is the only person I think it important to buy gifts for, everybody else is just because I have to (birthdays and such) or a spontaneous gift.

8. Can you name all of Santa’s reindeer?

Uuuh, no.

9. What holiday tradition are you looking forward to most this year?

In my house, the most important holiday tradition has always been Christmas lunch. You know sitting around the Christmas table and sharing a meal with all the people you love. Generally we don’t do anything for Christmas, we don’t buy presents, we don’t have a tree, and we don’t send Christmas cards. Christmas for us, has always been about the people we surround ourselves with and sharing this special day with our friends and family.

10. Is your Christmas tree real or fake?

We don’t have a Christmas tree. We have other Christmas decorations, but we don’t have a Christmas tree. In fact, I don’t remember ever having had a Christmas tree in my house. We did have a boat for a few years, but I don’t remember a Christmas tree. Although, I do believe that next year my father is planning to buy decorations for the fir tree we have planted in the front garden of our house.

11. Hands down, what’s your all-time favorite holiday food and holiday sweet treat?

Favorite holiday food:

  • When I was little, my grandma used to make homemade sausages. I swear, I have never ever tasted better sausages in my life! She used to make some with chicken and others with pork and she only baked them on Christmas.
  • Now, that she doesn’t make those any more my favorite Christmas food is her baked chicken-stuffed crepes recipe. It is simply amazing and I will probably post it sometime during blogmas.

downloadFavorite holiday sweet treat:

Kourabiedes. At least that’s what they are called in Greek, I don’t know if there is an English translation of the word. But they are my favorite Christmas sweet treat.

12. Be honest: Do you like giving gifts or receiving gifts better?

I prefer receiving gifts. Honestly, I find shopping for gifts extremely stressful. I prefer what I call ‘spontaneous gifting’, by which I mean giving to some as a present something you own and tell you that they like regardless of the occasion, just because you feel like it. The only person I don’t mind buying gifts for is my sister. I like buying her gifts.

13. Show us your tackiest Christmas attire (ex: Ugly Sweater)

I don’t have a tacky Christmas attire anymore. However, a few years ago my mother had bought me an entire tacky Christmas set. It consisted of:

  • Long-sleeve red pyjamas. The top had a stitched Santa Claus head
  • Red Christmas slippers. They were the kind that look like ballerina shoes (I’m sure they have a name, but I simply don’t know it) and they had ‘Merry Christmas’ written on them and tiny little bells.
  • Reindeer earrings. Rudolph earrings to be exact.

Both, my sister and my mother had a similar set and we used to wear them every Christmas for a couple of years. It used to annoy my father sooo much. He doesn’t like Christmas at all. In fact, him saying that we should buy Christmas decorations for the fir tree next year was a shock of indescribable proportions. He usually walks around the house every Christmas turning off Christmas lights and decorations and generally moping. Making fun off him is mine and my sister’s favorite pass-time this time of the year.


14. What would be your dream place to visit for the holiday season?

piter2

Saint Petersburg. It’s the one place I’ve always dreamed of visiting during Christmas. And one day I will. I just need to save up the money for it.

15. Does your family have a special holiday recipe you like to help make?

Not really. Although, if I had my own house, I would be baking cookies like crazy right now.

16. Are you a pro-present wrapper, or do you fail miserably?

Most of the times the presents I buy are already wrapped, nut I am excellent at wrapping presents myself.

17. Most memorable Holiday moment.

It was many many years ago. I remember that my uncle was visiting us from Canada and we were staying at the ski resort near my hometown that I mentioned before. So, after dinner on Christmas night we were all sitting around a long table in the common area of the resort that was restricted to the people staying at the resort or to athletes for the occasional big skiing competition and playing Scrabble. We were laughing and having a wonderful time. And around midnight we sat by the windows and watched as people came skiing down the slope from the top of the mountain with only the torches that were buried in the snow to light their way. It was beautiful. It was magical…

18. What made you realize the truth about Santa?

I never believed in Santa. Not even as a child. I mean, my parents and grandparents did talk to me about Santa and we had Christmas children’s books about Santa that we read every year and all that, but I don’t recall ever actually believing that Santa was real. And not just that, I used to get extremely annoyed at children who made a fuss when they were told that Santa wasn’t real. I thought they were stupid.

19. Do you make New Year’s Resolutions? Do you stick to them?

I’ve not really made any New Year’s Resolutions in the past. There have been times that I have said that “From this year on I will (not)…”, but I never actually meant it. However, this year I am planning to make quite a few New Year’s Resolutions and yes, I am planning to stick to them.

20. What makes the Holidays special for you?

Picture this Christmas day…

It is snowing outside. Everything is covered with snow and it’s still snowing very slowly and the snowflakes are big and fluffy. The fireplace is lit and the flames give a nice warmth in the entire room. In the center of the room the dining table filled with all your favorite Christmas foods and you are sitting there surrounded by all your best friends and favorite family members. And you are all laughing and talking and debating and planning and happy. At the end of the day, when everybody has left you are alone at last, you sit on your favorite comfy chair by the fireplace, put your feet up and read your favorite book with a cup of your favorite hot drink (coffee, tea or chocolate, whatever you are in the mood for at the moment). That is the perfect Christmas day for me.

And that was the end of this tag. I hope you liked it. I tag everyone that wants to do it. What did you think of my answers? What are your answers to these questions? Tell me in the comments below. And if you decide to do the tag yourselves, don’t forget to leave the link to your post in the comments.

Bye for now!!!

3 thoughts on “The Holly Jolly Holiday Tag (Blogmas 2015 day 10)

  1. I really, really liked your post. Your answers are so completely different from mine, so it was super interesting to read about your perspective. 😀 Hope you have a lovely Christmas and New Year!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

