Review: Me and the Marquis (Blogmas 2015 day 7)

22623439Title: Me and the Marquis

Author: Tybourn Way

Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Summary (from Goodreads):

“To chase her true destiny, a woman must be wanton.” – Marquis de Sade

Is she mad or is she just bad? She’s certainly dangerous to know – the modern woman who dares to live her life according to the principles of notorious 18th century kinky French nobleman the Marquis de Sade. Taking the perverse philosophy of the first-ever sadist Sade as her ideal and helped along the way by a former lover, a colleague and her daughter, the experimentatrice tries life as the Marquis longed to live it and finds that such an existence, while exciting and eventful, is definitely not easy. Will the lady’s experiment to emulate the Marquis’s philosophy and life be a big success or is she doomed to failure? Find out in author Tyburn Way’s dark and deep novella set in Zurich, Switzerland.

I know I’ve been kind of lost for the last week or so, but I’m still planning to upload all of my Blogmas posts starting with Monday’s missed review…

Review:

As you might have already deduced from my rating, I didn’t like this book. But before all that let me give you some general information about it.

To begin with, I wanted to say that this was a book I won from a Goodreads giveaway and I wanted to thank the author for hosting it.

The story is about a woman who has decided to live her life according to writings of the Marquis de Sade, who was a sadist. I entered the giveaway thinking it would be something different to read and because I was curious about what the author was trying to say through this story.

When I received my copy I was both curious and apprehensive about reading it. I feared that, if I actually read it, that I wouldn’t like it. Do you ever do that? Put off reading a book, because you might not like it? Anyway, in the end I was right, unfortunately. I didn’t like  it.

The main problem for me was the plot. This is a book almost completely focused on sex. Even the parts were the author was talking about human relationships and social interactions were somehow connected to sex. This was what started my dislike of the book. However, I might have still given it a better rating, if the story had a better ending. I don’t want to spoil anyone, so I will just say that I thought that the author could have given a much better ending to the story. I believe that by writing a slightly different ending, she could have passed on the same message just as effectively and at the same time make her epilogue a little more… hopeful(?). I really don’t think I can explain this better without spoiling the ending.

On the other hand, even though I didn’t like the plot there are a couple of positive things I want to talk about. The first one, has to do with the message that is being sent through the book that I mentioned before. Despite of this focus on sex that I found so tiring, the reader gets to see what happens to another person’s life when he/she lives his/her life according to the dictates and beliefs of someone else. Even though, the author has chosen to talk about this in a somewhat extreme way, extreme examples are sometimes the only way to make others understand why what they’re doing is wrong or right. In this case I think that this story is a very good cautionary tale, if you’d like. Furthermore, I also think that it is something that many people could relate to. Not the sexual part, of course, I’m talking about the letting others tell you how to live your life part. It is something thousands of people around the world do every day. We allow religion, family members, social expectations, prejudice, etc. to take from us our control over our lives.

The second thing I liked in this book was the writing. Regardless of the plot, I liked the author’s writing style. As a story, it is written in first person through main character’s (whose name I can’t remember) point of view and it has very few dialogues, but this doesn’t make the descriptions boring. On the contrary, the first person narration makes the writing more direct.

So, in the end I hope I could have given a better rating to the book. But the fact remains that I did not like it and that it is not something I would recommend to a friend or buy to someone as a gift. I will say though that it is a book worth reading, if you are looking for something different to read, something very short that is outside your comfort zone. I wouldn’t totally discredit the book, it’s just something I didn’t enjoy.

Tell me your thoughts and impressions. Have you read this book or would you like to read it? What did you think of this review? Share with me your comments…

And if you’re interested in reading it, you can buy your own copy of Me an the Marquis through the Book Depository website.

Leave a Reply

