My Christmas Wish List (Blogmas day 24)

Since it’s one day before Christmas, I thought it would be appropriate to talk a bit about Christmas presents and what I would like to get for Christmas, if an imaginary someone were to get me a present instead of ask me like my mother: “Do you need something for Christmas?”. I don’t want to need something for Christmas, I want you to sit down and think what present I would enjoy receiving for Christmas and go buy it for me even if you don’t really like my choices.

Anyway, I’m not really complaining. I know that whatever I need she would buy it for me. But that’s not really the point of Christmas gift giving, is it?

So, what would I like to get for Christmas? When it comes to books I’m going to separate them into two categories:

1. Books by Greek authors:

I don’t really have a wish list of books written by Greek authors. However, if someone was buying me something like that as a present then I would love to get a collection of poems by a famous Greek poet like Karyotakis, Odysseas Elytis, or C.P. Cavafy. An alternative would be a translation of Ancient Greek plays or Ancient Greek Literature and Mythology in general, maybe one of Homer’s epic poems or something for the Ancient Greek playwrights.

2. Books by non-Greek authors:

Here I do have a list. I’m going to start with the classics, continue on with other books on my wishlist and finish with some boxed sets.

9780007590063Classics

  • The Canterbury Tales by Geoffrey Chaucer
  • Dracula by Bram Stoker
  • Gulliver’s Travels by Jonathan Swift
  • Robinson Crusoe by Daniel Defoe
  • Beowulf
  • Italian Folk Tales by Italo Calvino
  • The Love Poems by Ovid
  • Faust by Johann Wolfgang von Goethe
  • Hans Christian Andersen Classic Fairy Tales by Hans Christian Andersen , Dugald Stewart Walker and Hans Tegner
  • Utopia by Sir Thomas More

13167267Other Books

  • Living, Thinking, Looking by Siri Hustvedt
  • Eon by Alison Goodman
  • The Bronze Horseman by Paullina Simons
  • Inkheart by Cornelia Funke
  • The Replacement by Brenna Yovanoff
  • Eyes Like Stars by Lisa Mantchev
  • Falling Kingdoms by Morgan Rhodes
  • Splintered by A.G. Howard
  • Illusions of Fate by Kiersten White
  • Mechanica by Betsy Cornwell

9781473213692Box Sets

  • The Complete Hush, Hush Saga by Becca Fitzpatrick
  • The Legend Trilogy by Marie Lu
  • The Mistborn Trilogy by Brandon Sanderson
  • The Selection Series by Kiera Cass
  • The Daughter of Smoke and Bone Trilogy by Laini Taylor
  • The Lord of the Rings and the Hobbit by J.R.R. Tolkien

Of course, there are way too many books on my wish list, but these are some of the top ones.

Other than books, the thing I would want to receive as a gift the most would be art supplies. Specifically, I would want to get either pencil cases for my Faber-Castell Albrecht Durer colored pencils or brushes for painting with acrylics and acrylic paints.

Of course, I know I’m not going to get even half of these things, but then who knows? My imaginary benefactor can be very generous after all. He might decide to get me all of them! Hahaha!!! (I knew I should have written that letter to Santa!)

So tell me…

What is on the top of your Christmas wish list? Is there anything we have in common in our lists? What is the best gift you have received for Christmas? Do you exchange gifts at Christmas in your family? Tell me all about it in the comments below…

Merry Christmas..!

(I’m not going to say ‘Ho ho ho!’. Don’t worry, I’m not that far gone. Yet.)

Leave a Reply

