Review: Echo Gear #1 (Blogmas day 12)

cover78042-mediumTitle: Echo Gear

Author/Illustrator: Vincent Sammy

Issue #1

Publication Date: December 25th, 2015

Rating: 2 out 5 stars

Description (from Netgalley):

Echo Gear is a “hybrid codex,” a mash up of imagery, text, sequential art, editorial and advertorial nodes. A story told in codes, puzzles, wordplay, and cross-referenced archaic media.

It’s a time of love and regret in Echo Gear.

“When nothing around us mattered.
And all was pure and tranquil.”

Review:

Firstly, I wanted to say that this is the review of the e-copy of Echo Gear #1 that I was sent from the publisher through Netgalley and I wanted to thank Rosarium Publishing for sending it to me.

On to the review…

I want to begin with my positive comments first and then move on to the reason why I gave it such a low rating. Because I do have good thins to say.

First and foremost, I found the concept of trying to tell a story through pictures, codes, puzzles, etc. intriguing and original, while it is also a bit dangerous, because not everyone might understand it. Indeed, it was a risky choice, but it was mostly what made me want to request it for review, so it might be good after all. I can’t say for sure yet.

Secondly, I really enjoyed the illustrations and the art style in general. Unfortunately, I don’t think I can describe it well, especially since I can’t show you what I mean. Anyway, it’s all black and white and it matches very well with the kind of desperate(?) feeling that I got through the story.

Now, for the negative part of the review. It’s exactly what I mentioned at the beginning. I didn’t understand almost anything. Well, to be honest, I did get most of what was going on in the last few pages, but otherwise I was completely clueless. Like I said, I got this feeling of desperation and hopelessness, but nothing else. Even worse, as soon as I thought things had started to make sense, I reached the end.

Actually, that’s the gist of my negative comments. Had I understood a little better what was going on, I would have had more to say for sure. Maybe this was something done intentionally and everything will be much improved with the next issues. Who knows?

So tell me…

Did you like this review? Are you interested in reading Echo Gear #1? Have you possibly read an early copy of it? And if yes, did you understand more than I did? Tell me all about it in the comments below…

Leave a Reply

