Review: The Lady of the Loch & Spoiler Discussion

cover77914-mediumTitle: Lady of the Loch

Author: John C. Ryan

Publication Date: Aug 16, 2015

Publisher: Cobblestone Press

Rating: 2.5 out of 5 stars

Description (from Netgalley):

Grateful to be rescued from a watery grave, yet mortified she lay naked in a strange man’s arms, Paden can’t believe her savior is none other than the notorious Black Knight—a man accused of murdering his twin brother to secure his lairdship.

Determined there is more to the story, she steals away with him instead of marrying the man of her father’s choosing, and helps her Black Knight try to prove his innocence.

Battles wage, blood is shed, and secrets are a matter of life and death.

Review:

This is another book I got from Netgalley for review. To be honest, I wasn’t particularly impressed by this book.

The writing was good enough and the characters were described very well, but…

I found the plot unoriginal and entirely unrealistic. For example, Paden and Faolin meet in the first chapter and 15 minutes later, as they are going their separate ways, they have already realized that they are in love with each other. By the way, this is not a spoiler at all, it’s what happens in the first chapter.

The plot goes on somewhat like this. I have to admit that there are a lot of twists and turns. It’s true that, even though I’m quite good at figuring out what’s happening next, I wasn’t able to do that with this book. However, the extreme cheesiness took all the enjoyment out of it for me. I can’t really understand that at all. How can an author who can write such a good plot, manage to ruin his book just because he couldn’t wait a few chapters before he started talking about love.

Generally, this could have been a great book. I don’t really have anything else to say. This sums up my thoughts.

SPOILER DISCUSSION:

I don’t think I’ve ever written a spoiler discussion post before. Mostly what I wanted to do was point out parts of the book and share with you my thoughts on them.

  • First offence: Who climbs up on a tree naked while their little brother is right underneath and could turn around any moment now?
  • Falling in love within the first 15 pages.
    • I think of people who say to themselves “I love him/her” 20 minutes after their first meeting as insincere.
    • Even if you realize later that you fell in love with someone at first sight, still true love needs time to grow.
  • Why would a murderer bother to take with him the dead body of the person he has killed when he is caught in the act?
  • Confessing your love for one another the second time you meet.
    • Really?
  • Paden decides to go away with Faolin just because he told her that he loves her and that she is in danger.
    • Uhhhhm, I’m sorry, miss, but you don’t really know him. He could be a serial killer for all you know. He has already been accused of murdering his own brother… Oh, but I forgot! Paden is such a great judge of character… yeah, this is the only explanation you’ll get for this decision.
    • Personally, I would have quite a few questions to ask him before believing him.
  • Faolin had just happened to have written an ode to Paden that she just happened to read, when she borrowed a piece of paper from him.
    • This stinks from miles away and it is cheesy as hell! Mostly because they just met the previous day, when did he find the time to write it between travelling through Scotland and practicing his skills in espionage?
  • ‘When I find the other half of this cross, I will have my wife’s murderer’
    • Because the logical thing for a murderer to do is keep the only thing that could ever prove his guilt with him at all times…
    • Yeeaah, it seems that in this book it is very logical. Even two years later.
  • Oh, my God! They are deciding to get married 3 days after their first meeting.
    • I’m not going to say anything. I’m not going to say anything. I’m not going to say anything.
    • YOU DON’T KNOW EACH OTHER!!!
  • A couple of English soldiers bring you an injured Scottish priest and no one is the least bit suspicious?
    • Let me give you a little clue: The English are at war with Scottish…
  • Oh, God, I’m still on page 43. How will I ever reach 170!?!
  • “After all, ye chose me, didn’t ye?”
    • After all what? They have just met! They haven’t been through anything yet.
    • And choose out of whom. Until three days ago, when he made the mistake of saving your life, he was still grieving for his wife. Also, let’s not forget that he is still wanted for murderer. He hasn’t had that many women to choose from lately.
  • ‘Our love will be eternal’
    • Of course, because you have faced so many hardships together…NOT.
  • The message Paden left was very quick thinking and having had some experience with this author by now, I can say that it was well done. It was something that could happen.
  • Faolin not only forgives Hamish, because Paden said so, but in just a few hours they have become the best of friends. Uhuh…
  • Why does the Scot king love the Mac Courts so much? Because of their last name?
  • Hamish and Brae: Another instant love. Another instant proposal.
  • Just how many spies can one fit in a 170 pages?
  • The brothers just happened to know the secret entrance to the cave and reach it at the specific moment when Paden would need help. Yes, of course!
  • It is the most ridiculous thing in the world, to finally manage to capture your archenemy and-just because he killed your wife- to arn him against you and ask your brother to let him go if he kills you.

Aaand these are my thoughts on this book.

So tell me…

Did you like this review? Have you read the Lady of the Loch? Would you like to read it in the future? Do you like reading love at first sight stories? What are your thoughts on instant love? Share with me your thoughts and opinions in the comments below…

Leave a Reply

