The Sunday Post

a5bef9db-6851-4a10-be79-b62d087e1be9_zpsga1luhrd

The Sunday Post is a weekly meme hosted by Kimba @ Caffeinated Book Reviewer. It’s a chance to share News. A post to recap the past week, showcase books and things we have received and share news about what is coming up for the week on our blog. This is your news post, so personalize it! Include as much as you want or as little. Be creative, it can be a vlog or just a showcase of your goodies. Link up once a week or once a month, you decide. Book haul can include library books, yard sale finds, arcs and bought books…share them!

Another week has passed, so let’s step back and look at what was going on on this blog last week.

Firstly, I wanted to say that I am very excited, because I managed to write almost all of the Blogmas posts! I did do some different posts than I had already planned, but the important part is that I reached my ultimate goal to publish one posts for almost every Blogmas day.

LAST WEEK’S POSTS:

  • On Sunday, I posted Two Sweet Traditional Christmas Recipes. These are two of my favorite treats and every Christmas I try to enjoy them as much as I can, because then I’ll have to wait an entire year before I am able to eat them again.
  • On the same day, I gave you some Other meanings of… kourabies in Greek. Greek is an ancient language. Over the years it has changed and transformed, words have been added or removed. So, I thought that it would be fun to give you some alternative meanings of a Greek word. If you liked this post, then please tell me and I might do a similar one in the future.
  • On Monday the 21st, I published my Sunday Post. Well, to be honest, I had already started writing it on Sunday, but I finished it an hour or so too late.
  • On Wednesday, I posted my Christmas Gift Guide  for Bookworms. This post took me soooooo long to write! But I believe it was worth it. Even if it set me back on my already tight posting schedule.
  • On Wednesday, I also posted my Joy of Christmas Book Tag.
  • On Thursday, I talked about the Series I Want to Start Next Year, which was the Top 5 Wednesday topic of the week.
  • Also on Thursday, I posted my Top 5 Christmas Destinations, My Christmas Wishlist, and my review of Echo Gear#1 by Vincent Sammy.
  • On Friday, I gave you my Grandma’s Chicken Crepes Recipe and described to you what Christmas Day looked like in my house this year. (By the way, we still have some food leftover in the fridge…)

Wow, that is a lot of posts for just one week…

NEXT WEEK’S POSTS:

Let’s move on to next week. This is going to be another busy week for this blog. However, I have so many post ideas and things that I want to talk about, so why not?

  • On Monday, (which actually means in a few hours) I’m going to post my review of Lady of the Loch by John C. Ryan, which I got through Netgalley. So, wait for it…
  • On Tuesday, I’m planning to do a review of the New Species series by Laurann Dohner.
  • On Wednesday, I will be discussing that week’s Top 5 Wednesday topic which is about the Top 5 Books of 2015.
  • On Thursday, I have another review planned. This time it will be The Benighted by A.M. Dunnewin, but I don’t know if I will be able to finish the book by then, in which case I will be switching this post with the one scheduled for Saturday.
  • Also, on Thursday, I will be posting my December Wrap Up.
  • On Friday, I’m planning to talk about my Goals for 2016.
  • On Saturday, I sincerely hope that I will have finished with my review of The Magician’s Guild, which I’ve been trying to write for more than a week now. Please, cross your fingers and wish me luck!
  • Again on Saturday, I want to publish my January TBR post. It is possible that I might combine it with the December Wrap Up post, we will see…
  • And, of course, on Sunday I will be writing next week’s Sunday Post, which will be a special edition, since I will be describing some Greek New Year’s Eve customs.

OTHER NEWS:

  • I am currently preparing for this semester’s exams, which will start by the end of January. At the same time, I have many things to do for my English lessons and I also need to finish my tiger drawing. This means that I am very busy right now.
  • Me and my sister have already started planning our summer vacation and looking for cheap airplane tickets. Actually, we were shocked to discover some very cheap tickets to exotic destinations, so I am very excited.
  • I am trying to decide what to draw next and I will probably write a post about it later in the month.
  • Today I visited another art exhibition. This time a friend of mine was participating in it. Though I wasn’t wowed by her paintings, I did find some very beautiful pieces by other artists to admire. Unfortunately, this time I cannot show you any pictures.
  • We still have guests in our house, who have taken over my room. I am currently sleeping on the couch, but it is a very nice leather couch, so I am not complaining.
  • I got three books from my local library’s Christmas Book Bazaar. One for my cousin George, another for my other cousin Dimitra, and one for me. It’s nothing exciting, though. I simply wanted to mention them.
  • My momma got a couple of Black Faber Castell Albrecht Durer watercolor pencils. I’ve been looking for them for ages and was starting to worry that I wouldn’t be able to finish my tiger. Phew! I can relax now…

CURRENTLY READING:

21928173The Benighted by A.M. Dunnewin. I have just started it so I cannot give you any comments on it yet.

The King was dead.

His body was found slain in his room, only months after his son had been brutally murdered. Skylar Mandolyn, his daughter, has now become the last heir to inherit the throne. But instead of becoming Queen, she has been imprisoned for helping in the escape of Sir Harlin Brien, her knight who was framed for the King’s murder.

Confined to darkness, Skylar’s captors have given her no choice but to yield to a new kind of enemy: a kingdom that has advanced in both technology and warfare. It’s when she refuses that the prison uses its other means of persuasion, and although unmerciful, the whip lashings and isolation can’t suppress the memories of her family’s downfall. Pulled between her subconscious and reality, Skylar already knows who the true enemy is, because even the darkness can’t hide the deceptive hands that have destroyed them all.

With two kingdoms on the brink of war, Skylar’s only hope is in the person who has gone missing — Harlin, the knight who was sworn to protect her. The memory of him surrounds her when the darkness screams louder than the prisoners, and when Death smiles a faceless grin in between the cracks of the stone. While the tremors start to rise from the deep, crawling up through the prison’s walls, Skylar doesn’t realize that she will soon see why he’s one of the Benighted.

The mystery was never how Harlin escaped. It’s how he’ll return.

25690816PLANNING TO READ NEXT:

Lydia’s Enchanted Toffee by Neale Osborne, which I am planning to review after I have read it. It’s a children’s fantasy book and it has been too long since I read a children’s book, so it will be a nice change.

Planet Plenti is a most extraordinary place, a world of incredible edible delights; of confectionery minerals, fizzy pop springs, forests and jungles full of delectable plantlife …

And yet, for children in the land of Likrishka, life is less than ordinary, and mostly very grim – as the Likrish population lives under the watchful rule of Stannic, a tin-skinned tyrant, a Master Chef who commands an army of robot waiters.
Thus nine-year-old Lydia faces a future slaving away in a factory camp – but the girl was born with a mysterious power over metal (when she eats a special type of toffee) …

One eventful day, she meets a gang of other girls with strange sweetie powers: the deadly Bull’s-Eye, razor-toothed Jawbreaker, fire-breathing Peppermint, super-fast Hazel Whirl; there’s Marshmallow, Ice Lolly, Sugar Cube, Dolly Mixture, Cocoa and Marzipan … and together, they must travel across the robot-controlled Candi-Lands, on a treasure hunt for magic sweets that will help to defeat the villainous Chef … and return their world to its sweetest, once more.

This is a new slimmer version of Neale Osborne’s acclaimed debut ‘Lydia’s Tin Lid Drum’ – in 44 short chapters, from ‘Appetizer’ to ‘Afters’, decorated with over 100 illustrations – some of them new to this beautifully-presented paperback edition.

So, that was it for this post. Now it’s your turn. Tell me your news, what are you currently reading or planning to read next? Have you gotten any new books recently? Leave your comments below…

Leave a Reply

