Series Review: New Species by Laurann Dohner

Today I decided to do something different. So instead of a review of just one book, I’m going to review the entire New Species series by Laurann Dohner. But first let me give you a quick summary…

Mercile Industries -a pharmaceutical company- has found a way to combine animal and human DNA and create a new race called ‘New Species’. They are mostly humans, but they share some animal traits with canines, felines, and primates whose DNA was used for their creation. Their sole purpose of their creation: to be kept imprisoned in secret from the rest of the world and have experiments performed on them in order to create better drugs for Mercile to sell.

But now the secret is out and the New Species can finally be free…

Yeah, I know. There are a lot of headless half-naked men with six-packs. Why? Are you going to complain?

…I didn’t think so…

The books in the series are:

  1. Fury
  2. Slade
  3. Valiant
  4. Justice
  5. Brawn
  6. Wrath
  7. Tiger
  8. Obsidian
  9. Shadow
  10. Moon
  11. True
  12. Darkness
  13. Smiley
  14. & 15.  Numbers

And just to give you a better idea of what the coverseries is like here’s the summary (from Goodreads) of the first book:


Ellie is horrified to discover the pharmaceutical company she works for is doing illegal experiments. Company scientists have spliced human and animal DNA, creating exotic new species. One such “experiment” captures her heart and she’ll do anything to save him—even if he hates her for it.

Fury has never known compassion or love. He’s spent his life in a cell, chained and abused by humans. The one woman he allowed himself to trust betrayed him. Now he’s free and set on vengeance. He vows to end her life but when she’s finally in his grasp, harming her is the last thing he wants to do to the sexy little human.

Fury can’t resist Ellie—the touch of her hands, her mouth on his skin, her body wrapped around his. He’s obsessed with the scent of his woman. And Ellie wants Fury—always has. She craves his big, powerful body and wants to heal his desolate heart.

But loving Fury is one thing…taming him is another.

Review:

I have to admit when I first saw these books, I thought that it was going to be another badly written romance with more sex than plot in it. The good thing is that I proved myself wrong.

Okay, there are a few lines here and there in some dialogues that could have been better. You know, they sound a bit off when you read them. But all in all, Laurann Dohner’s writing is good. And yes there are sex scenes -lots of them- but they don’t take over the plot. Each book has its own plot and the sex scenes are just a part of it.

Also, each book talks about a different New Species male finding his mate. They can be read as stand-alones without a problem, but it is better to read them in order, because there are a couple of spoilers here and there in the later books (obviously, but not too many).

I’ve lost count of how many times I’ve read this series. It’s one of my first choices, when I’m looking for something quick and easy to read. But why do I like it so much, you might ask?

Weeell, I find this series different than any similar ones, such as the Breeds series by Lora Leigh (which I was supposed to have reviewed last week, but I was frightened of the number of books I would be reviewing at once). What makes it so different is the naivete that the New Species have not lost, even after all they have been through. There is an inherent sense of honor and honesty and pride in them that is so rare nowadays. A very common thing they say in the books is that they strive to be better than their creators and they are. If you haven’t understood it by now, I really love the society that Laurann Dohner has created.

There is also another reason why I love this series, and that is because it promotes ‘true feminism’. I am one of those people who are really skeptic about the feminists around me and the entire concept of feminism. I truly believe that women deserve the same basic rights as men and that we should be afforded the same respect in every aspect of our lives as men, but I don’t think that we are equal. If we were, then we should have exactly the same expectations of women that we do of men. If we were, there would be no special considerations in the laws for women etc etc. We are different and thus we are not equal. I especially, detest the women who are feminists only when it suits them and when it doesn’t they don’t mind having a man help them. Anyway, considering how many alpha males are in the series, one would expect that at least one of them would be a misogynistic pig, but they aren’t. On the contrary. “Males are physically stronger and females are generally more cunning.” No, the two sexes are not equal, but they both have their strengths and weaknesses. This a very prevalent view in the series along with a great respect towards women. New Species males think of women as priceless treasure to be protected and revered. If only this were true for humans as well.

Furthermore, there is something else that I wanted to point out. In my previous review on this blog, I talked about how ridiculous I found the fact that the two main characters fell instantly in love with each other. Although, in this series the characters fall very quickly in love with each other, it doesn’t feel fake. Apart from the fact that here the reader gets to see the uncertainty and the fear of the characters while they are falling in love with each other, there are also a few more things that make the story more believable. First are the animal DNA that is part of each New Species’ identity. It makes them act much more instinctively than humans and gives them the advantage of animal magnetism. This, at least for me, rationalized the ‘how could this ever be possible?’ part. Second, the author has written the books in a way that makes one think that the two characters he/she s reading about are soulmates, so they were meant to fall in love with each other. Lastly, the New Species males scent imprint their mates very quickly  and, after they do that, they can’t stand to carry the scent of any other female on their skin. This makes falling in love fast inevitable for anyone who is looking for a happy ending.

I think that’s all I can say in this review. The rest would be spoilers. Next year, probably after my exams, I am planning to talk more about Laurann Dohner’s books and especially the ones I have read.

So tell me…

Did you like this post? Would you like to see more series reviews in the future? Have you read the New Species series? Have you read any of Laurann Dohner’s books and did you like them? Are you interested in reading this series? Share your thoughts with me in the comments below…

Leave a Reply

