T5W: Top 5 Books of the Year

Top 5 Wednesday is a Goodreads group created by Lainey at gingerreadslainey. You can check the Goodreads page for more information or to see the Complete List of Wednesday-ers. This week’s topic is Top 5 Books of the Year.

I’ve always avoided writing posts like this one about my favorite books of an entire year. For some reason I myself can’t understand, I keep thinking that the books I’ve read are not nearly as good as the ones others have to talk about…(awkward silence)…Yeah, it’s stupid I know. But I have finally decided to stop putting this post off and just do it!

So, I went to my Goodreads page, clicked on my 2015 Reading Challenge- where I have added every single book I have read this year- so that I won’t leave any book out, and try to pick out 5 books to add to my favorite list. Needless to say that I ended up struggling to keep titles out of this list…(That was it for my idiotic fear.)

So, without further ado, let’s see this much feared and talked about list.

coverNumber 5:

Hooked on the Game by C.M. Owens. I believe I first heard about this one from a booktuber, but I can’t remember who. I read it during the same period that I read Elle Kenedy’s The Deal, which would be on this list if I didn’t have to stick to five books. It is a book that is quick, funny and easy to read.

Everyone has secrets that define them, a past that has shaped them, and a game they play – whether they know it or not.

Despite the fact they live next door to each other, Kade and Raya have never made an effort to speak, until a wild party, four frat boys, and… a bulldozer.

Sterling Shore was supposed to be a new start for eighteen-year-old Raya Capperton. Everything was working out perfectly until her two roommates were expelled for a prank, leaving Raya with the house she couldn’t afford on her own. Fate intervenes before she has the chance to find a new home, but she struggles to decide if it’s divine luck or the devil’s cruel sense of humour.

Twenty-one-year-old Kade Colton has his life planned out, and everything he does is an elaborate game to aid him with his future endeavors. Coming from money has made Kade’s life easy, but he wants to build his own name – his own future. The thing he doesn’t realize… when you only put forth superficial effort, you only acquire superficial friends.

Raya is torn between being amused or disturbed by Kade and his philosophy, but the drive behind his determination isn’t what Raya expected. Little by little, her hatred fades and is replaced by emotions she never would have believed she could have for the rich jerk she desperately doesn’t want to care about. Too bad you can’t force yourself not to care.

The problem is… Kade’s shiny name can’t be tarnished, and Raya has a jaded tie she can’t cut loose. Nothing about them can work, nothing about them makes sense, but nothing can seem to stop them from trying.

3342764Number 4:

The Magician’s Apprentice by Trudi Canavan. I know. I’ve talked and talked and talked about this book endlessly on this blog, but it truly is one of my favorite books that I’ve read this year. I do have a review on it, so you can go check it out if you want to know more about. Also, I am planning to post the review on The Magicians’ Guild this week, which is the first book in the Black Magician trilogy. ❤ ❤ ❤

Taking place hundreds of years before the events of “The Magicians’ Guild, The Magician’s Apprentice “is the new novel set in the world of Trudi Canavan’s Black Magician trilogy.
In the remote village of Mandryn, Tessia serves as assistant to her father, the village Healer. Her mother would rather she found a husband. But her life is about to take a very unexpected turn.
When the advances of a visiting Sachakan mage get violent, Tessia unconsciously taps unknown reserves of magic to defend herself. Lord Dakon, the local magician, takes Tessia under his wing as an apprentice.
The hours are long and the work arduous, but soon an exciting new world opens up to her. There are fine clothes and servants and – to Tessia’s delight – regular trips to the great city of Imardin.
However, Tessia is about to discover that her magical gifts bring with them a great deal of responsibility. For a storm is approaching that threatens to tear her world apart.

Print

Number 3:

Soulless by Gail Carriger. Another book I have loved and reviewed. It is funny and I really like it’s on the supernatural and preternatural beings of this world. I have to read the rest of Gail Carriger’s books soon.

Alexia Tarabotti is laboring under a great many social tribulations.

First, she has no soul. Second, she’s a spinster whose father is both Italian and dead. Third, she was rudely attacked by a vampire, breaking all standards of social etiquette.

Where to go from there? From bad to worse apparently, for Alexia accidentally kills the vampire–and then the appalling Lord Maccon (loud, messy, gorgeous, and werewolf) is sent by Queen Victoria to investigate.

With unexpected vampires appearing and expected vampires disappearing, everyone seems to believe Alexia responsible. Can she figure out what is actually happening to London’s high society? Will her soulless ability to negate supernatural powers prove useful or just plain embarrassing? Finally, who is the real enemy, and do they have treacle tart?

coverNumber 2:

To Wed A Wicked Earl by Olivia Parker. One of the many Historical Romances that I’ve read this year. I would have gone for one of Lisa Kleypas’ titles, since she is one of my favorite Historical Romance authors, but I decided to choose a book that I have yet to talk about in this blog. I really enjoy the humor in this book. It makes it light and easy to read.

He’s on the hunt for a bride… 
Adam Faramond, Earl of Rothbury, needs to find a wife—immediately!—or his beloved grandmother will leave him penniless. But Adam, an unrepentant rake, would reform for only one woman, the woman he’s lusted after—and loved—for years. It’s rather unfortunate, then, that Miss Charlotte Greene would never consent to be the blushing bride of a rogue… or so he thinks.

Charlotte believes that the earl, the only man whose touch leaves her trembling, would never want a woman like her. Weary of her wallflower ways, Charlotte decides that a friendship with the earl just might give her the excitement she desires. Keeping their true feelings hidden, she and Adam plan a sham ceremony to placate the dowager. But when the “marriage of convenience” takes an unexpected turn, will Charlotte and her wicked earl finally reveal their irresistible, unforgettable love—and delight in a lifetime of passion?

coverNumber 1:

How to Flirt with a Naked Werewolf by Molly Harper. I looooooove Molly Harper’s books. She is one of my favorite authors ever. I finished her Jane Jameson series last year and, oh God, did I love it! All of her books are easy to read and humorous, with ridiculously overprotective mothers (God knows I can relate to that!). They’re just so much fun to read. In fact, if you haven’t read them yet, I suggest you do so. Start with Jane Jameson and continue with this one.

Northern Exposure

Even in Grundy, Alaska, it’s unusual to find a naked guy with a bear trap clamped to his ankle on your porch. But when said guy turns into a wolf, recent southern transplant Mo Wenstein has no difficulty identifying the problem. Her surly neighbor Cooper Graham—who has been openly critical of Mo’s ability to adapt to life in Alaska—has trouble of his own. Werewolf trouble.

For Cooper, an Alpha in self-imposed exile from his dysfunctional pack, it’s love at first sniff when it comes to Mo. But Cooper has an even more pressing concern on his mind. Several people around Grundy have been the victims of wolf attacks, and since Cooper has no memory of what he gets up to while in werewolf form, he’s worried that he might be the violent canine in question.

If a wolf cries wolf, it makes sense to listen, yet Mo is convinced that Cooper is not the culprit. Except if he’s not responsible, then who is? And when a werewolf falls head over haunches in love with you, what are you supposed to do anyway? The rules of dating just got a whole lot more complicated. . .

So, these were my Top 5 Books of the Year. Now it’s your turn to tell me…

Have you read any of the books on my list? Did you like them?

Have you read any other books by the authors I’ve mentioned? What did you think of them?

Which were your top 5 favorite books of 2015?

Tell me everything in the comments below…

6 thoughts on “T5W: Top 5 Books of the Year

  1. Your fear is irrational. 🙂 Reading tastes differ… some read only YA,some only literary fiction.
    I haven’t read any of the books on your list and heard of only 1 book- Soulless. That only makes me think “So many books,so little time”.
    Happy New Year !

    Like

  2. Haven’t heard of any of the books or authors on your list but they sound interesting. Also on Soulless – “She’s a spinster who’s father is both Italian and dead” – haha love that 😛

    Like

Leave a Reply

