New Years Resolutions Book Tag

This is another tag post, but unlike the other tag posts I’ve done, this time I actually got tagged! I am sooo excited! I’ve never been tagged before. Is it normal to be jumping up and down just because I got tagged for the first time? Has it happened to you to? Is my condition fatal?

AHEM! Getting back to the subject…

This is a new tag created by Emily from Embuhlee Liest and Shivii from Brown Eyed Musings. I was tagged by Emily and I want to thank her because she just made me so happy! (Okay, maybe I’m a 22-year-old child. So, what?!)

On to the tag…

179252841. Get in shape – name a book that doesn’t quite fit correctly on your shelf.

I would say The Cleft by Doris Lessing. This book is taller and narrower than all my other paperbacks. However, anyone other than little (probably OCPDed) me would say it’s fine. What truly doesn’t fit on my shelves, because they shouldn’t have been there in the first place, are two HUGE encyclopedias -a total of 21 tomes- that my mother sneaked into my room while I was away. She has this very bad habit of storing into my room things she doesn’t have anywhere else to store. Uhm, helo! This is my bedroom. It doesn’t say Storage Space anywhere! (Sigh) Sadly for me, I can’t get rid of them now without a fuss as huge as the tomes themselves, if I haven’t already found another place to fit them.

b1765332. Eat healthy – name a book you feel was good for you to read.

‘Αφού Μεγάλωσες… Καλά να Πάθεις!’ by Petros Venetis. I think I have talked about this book again in a haul post. I have recently re-read it and was thinking of reviewing it, but since I don’t believe it has ever been translated, I didn’t think you would find it interesting. Anyway, this is a great book full of life lessons and written in a very direct style. I think it was very good for me to read it and that it would be very good for everyone to read. It’s really great food for thought.

30546843. Read more – name a book you keep telling yourself to read but haven’t.

Oh, that’s easy! Stargazer by Claudia Gray. I’ve been trying to read this one for a very very VERY long time. My failure has reached such ridiculous levels that it was the first item I added on my Goals for 2016 list, which now has it’s own page here on this blog.

65841344. Quit smoking – name a book you kept going back to even though you’d finished it.

I wish it were just one. I have a really bad habit of re-reading my books one too many times every year. If I had to choose just one though it would probably be Sarah MacLean’s Nine rules to Break When Romancing A Rake. It’s easy to read and funny and it always makes me smile. By the way, this was the first book I reviewed in this blog.

127160105. Save more money – name a book you got for a really good price.

Rapture by Lauren Kate. I got this one for 4.99€. Of course since then I have bought books that were much cheaper (I recently got a book for just 1€). However, the edition of Rapture was one that I like. It’s one of those big paperbacks and it was most importantly the one I had been looking for a while. Oh, how I wish we had real bargain bookstores in my country!

6. Be more organized – how do you organize your bookshelf?

I have recently (2 days ago) separated my Read and To-Be-Read books into different shelves. Apart from that, I organize my books by height going from the tallest one on the left to the shortest one on the right. Other than that there is no real organization simply because it would mean that I would have to mess up their height order. I am really OCPDed when it comes to my bookshelves. All of my books NEED to be in the specific order I have put them or I can’t stop moving them around. This is why I HATE looking at bookshelves that are organized by color. The tallest books are mixed with the shortest ones and I can’t focus on my conversation with the people around me because I’m constantly thinking of where this book should go and where I would put that other one and so on, until I’m free to go.

941537. Be punctual – shortest time and longest time it took you to read a book.

About 20 minutes reading through comic books like Echo Gear#1, which I have reviewed recently, is my shortest reading time. As for the longest it has taken me to read a book… 3 years reading The Freedom Writers’ Diary, which I have yet to finish! And it’s not that I don’t like the book. In fact, I love it. I just can’t seem to be able to ever finish it.

Print

8. Go out more – what book made you isolate yourself from the outside world?

Soulless by Gail Carriger does that to me every time I read it. Although, the fact that I rather like to isolate myself for whatever reason I can justify to others (or not), doesn’t help my case much. I’m a very introverted person and I need a lot of time with just myself, especially if I am to venture into the Out World (the world that is not my bedroom). Social interactions, however enjoyable they may be, tire me and I take advantage of however little time to myself I’ve got to isolate myself recharge and prepare for next time.

cover9. Be unique – what was your favorite book of 2015?

I talked about my Top 5 Books of the Year on my latest Top 5 Wednesday post. So, if you want to see that go on and check this post out. My favorite book of 2015 was How to Flirt with a Naked Werewolf by Molly Harper. I love Molly Harper’s writing. She is one of my favorite authors and this is a great book.

10. Be more personal – what book are you waiting for most this year?

Book #13 in the Chicagoland Vampires series by Chloe Neill. The Chicagoland Vampires is one of my favorite series in the world and this one is the last book in it. It doesn’t even have a title yet, but it is supposed to come out sometime in 2016 and I need to know what’s going to happen. The bad thing is that I can’t help feeling like something is going to happen in the last book that will ruin the entire series for me. You know, something like what happened in the Morganville Vampires series.

1187008511. Really, resolutions? – what book do you promise to read next year?

The Fault in Our Stars by John Green. I know that it almost everybody that has read it has loved it, but every time I listen to people describe it I get the feeling that I’m going to absolutely hate this book. Which is, of course, why I have yet to read it. Either way I need to rip the band-aid off. It’s been a while since I bought the book and I don’t like buying books and never reading them. Even if I donate it to my local library later, I need to read it at least once, so that I can excuse the expense to myself. Does that make any sense?

And this is the end of this tag. I am going to tag Savannah from Geekish Books (she is a very new blogger, so go on and show her your support), Cait from Paper Fury, Mallory from The Leaning Tower of Tomes, Leona from Leona’s Blog of Shadows, and Lisa and Becca from Lost in Literature. I hope you had fun reading this tag post and for these of you that I have tagged, I hope that you will do the tag too.

Did you like this tag? Were there any answers that surprised you? How much did you laugh at me? What would your answers be? What is one of your New Year’s Resolutions? Tell me in the comments below and come back tomorrow when I will be sharing some exciting news with you…

3 thoughts on “New Years Resolutions Book Tag

  1. Pingback: New Years Resolution Book Tag! – The Leaning Tower of Tomes

Leave a Reply

