February Wrap Up, March TBR, Challenges and Read-a-thon

large

February is over, March has started and my birthday are still 352 days away (because as I’ve mentioned in an older post I always start the countdown for my birthday from the number 364).

I’m sad to say that February was a very unsuccessful reading month for me. I finished reading no books at all!

Shame-on-you-GIFS.gif

Yes, yes. I’ve been procrastinating and I know it. Shame on me! But it is true that the February was a very stressful month for me and I did need a break.

Anyway, let’s talk about something a bit more interesting…

I was reading The Sunday Post on lazydaylit.blogspot.gr and I found about the Take Control Of Your TBR Pile Chalenge and the 24-Hour Read-a-thon that will be hosted by Kimba @ Caffeinated Book Reviewer in March and I thought that it was a great idea to participate. And so I will.

So, since the Challenge will last all month I decide to combine my march TBR pile with the Challenge TBR and add a few extras for the Read-a-thon.

March & Take Control Of Your TBR Pile Challenge TBR

941531. The Freedom Writers’ Diary

I’ve been reading this book for several years now and I need to finish it. I actually have quite a good feeling about it this time 🙂

Straight from the front line of urban America, the inspiring story of one fiercely determined teacher and her remarkable students.
As an idealistic twenty-three-year-old English teacher at Wilson High School in Long beach, California, Erin Gruwell confronted a room of “unteachable, at-risk” students. One day she intercepted a note with an ugly racial caricature, and angrily declared that this was precisely the sort of thing that led to the Holocaust—only to be met by uncomprehending looks. So she and her students, using the treasured books Anne Frank: The Diary of a Young Girl and Zlata’s Diary: A Child’s Life in Sarajevo as their guides, undertook a life-changing, eye-opening, spirit-raising odyssey against intolerance and misunderstanding. They learned to see the parallels in these books to their own lives, recording their thoughts and feelings in diaries and dubbing themselves the “Freedom Writers” in homage to the civil rights activists “The Freedom Riders.”

With funds raised by a “Read-a-thon for Tolerance,” they arranged for Miep Gies, the courageous Dutch woman who sheltered the Frank family, to visit them in California, where she declared that Erin Gruwell’s students were “the real heroes.” Their efforts have paid off spectacularly, both in terms of recognition—appearances on “Prime Time Live” and “All Things Considered,” coverage in People magazine, a meeting with U.S. Secretary of Education Richard Riley—and educationally. All 150 Freedom Writers have graduated from high school and are now attending college.

With powerful entries from the students’ own diaries and a narrative text by Erin Gruwell, The Freedom Writers Diary is an uplifting, unforgettable example of how hard work, courage, and the spirit of determination changed the lives of a teacher and her students.

9789604362219-1000-03817672. The Art of War by Sun Tzu

I’ve recently mentioned this one in my latest book haul. It’s not been a part of my TBR for a very long time, but I really do want to read it and it is a short book.

Conflict is an inevitable part of life, according to this ancient Chinese classic of strategy, but everything necessary to deal with conflict wisely, honorably, victoriously, is already present within us. Compiled more than two thousand years ago by a mysterious warrior-philosopher, The Art of War is still perhaps the most prestigious and influential book of strategy in the world, as eagerly studied in Asia by modern politicians and executives as it has been by military leaders since ancient times. As a study of the anatomy of organizations in conflict, The Art of War applies to competition and conflict in general, on every level from the interpersonal to the international. Its aim is invincibility, victory without battle, and unassailable strength through understanding the physics, politics, and psychology of conflict.

(Original publication date was circa 500 BCE.)

128818423. Room by Emma Donoghue

This on the other hand is a book that has been in my possession for about a year now and I still haven’t read it. It’s one of those books that I know I am going to love, but still have not read because for some twisted reason I fear that I might not love. Yeah, I know. It doesn’t make sense. I actually read a great post on exactly that recently.

Oh, and I think that it has been turned into a movie. I’m pretty sure that I saw it advertised on my local cinema, so I need to read the book if I want to be able to watch the movie.

“Room” is the story of Ma and Jack. They live in a single, locked room. Five-year-old Jack loves watching TV, but he knows that nothing he sees on the screen is truly real – only him, Ma, and the things in the Room. Until the day Ma admits there’s a world outside …

‘Room is a book to read in one sitting. When it’s over you look up: the world looks the same but you are somehow different’ Audrey Niffenegger, author of The Time Traveler’s Wife

148006164. The Warden by Anthony Trollope

This is a classic that I hauled in autumn, I believe. I have no clue what it is about, but it is short and it’s been sitting on my shelve for months and I felt like picking it up, so I included it in my TBR.

‘It was so hard that the pleasant waters of his little stream should be disturbed and muddied …that his quiet paths should be made a battlefield: that the unobtrusive corner of the world which been allotted to him …made miserable and unsound’.

Trollope’s witty, satirical story of a quiet cathedral town shaken by scandal – as the traditional values of Septimus Harding are attacked by zealous reformers and ruthless newspapers – is a drama of conscience that pits individual integrity against worldly ambition.

In The Warden Anthony Trollope brought the fictional county of Barsetshire to life, peopled by a cast of brilliantly realised characters that have made him among the supreme chroniclers of the minutiae of Victorian England. It is the first book in the Chronicles of Barsetshire.

Weeell, now that I’ve actually read the synopsis it seems like an interesting book. Let’s hope it’s good. Oh, and it is the first book in a series! At least this time I was lucky enough to randomly pick up the first one, I have been known to buy a book thinking it is the first one in a series only to find out later that it was the last.

1127535. The Highlander’s Touch by Karen Marie Moning

This was one of the first books I hauled in this blog. And I have yet to read it. However, I have at least read the first two books in the series, which I had bought together with this one. Anyway, it’s a series that I would like to finish. I remember that the first book was quite ridiculous and I hope that this one will be ridiculous too (but in moderation).

A WARRIOR OF IMMORTAL POWERS
He was a mighty Scottish warrior who lived in a world bound by ancient laws and timeless magic. But no immortal powers could prepare the laird of Castle Brodie for the lovely accursed lass who stood before him. A terrible trick of fate had sent her 700 years back in time and into his private chamber to tempt him with her beauty – and seduce him with a desire he could never fulfill. For this woman he burned to possess was also the woman he had foresworn to destroy.
A WOMAN CAUGHT IN THE MISTS OF TIME
When Lisa felt the earth move under her feet, the fiercely independent 21st-century woman never dreamed she was falling…into another century. But the powerful, naked warrior who stood glaring down at her was only too real…and too dangerously arousing. Irresistibly handsome he might be, but Lisa had no intention of remaining in this savage land torn by treachery and war. How could she know that her seductive captor had other plans for her…plans that would save her from a tragic fate? Or that this man who had long ago forsaken love would defy time itself to claim her for his own….

These are the books I will be reading for the challenge. Most of them are short, but I don’t want to over-stress myself.

Take Control of Your TBR Pile

24-hour Take Control Of Your TBR Pile Read-a-thon TBR

The Read-a-thon will take place on Saturday March 12th and these are the books that I will be reading.

Take Control TBR Pile Read-a-thon

dokimia1. Δοκίμια για τα Θέματα της Έκθεσης στη Β’ Λυκείου by A. Kolokotsas & M. Dimopoulos.

It’s this book that you can see on the photo on the right. It’s a book of short essays and truly this is all I can actually say about it right now. When I finish it I will do a review to shed some light on this mystery book.

288014612. Πώς η Λογοτεχνία σού Αλλάζει τη ζωή by Dimitris Stefanakis.

I am planning to talk about this book in my next post, so I won’t get into detail. I will say, though that it is an essay about how literature can change one’s life (which is actually an exact translation of the title).

247683513. Τι μας έμαθαν επιτέλους οι Αρχαίοι Έλληνες; by Dimitris Sarandakos (Title translation: What have we learned by the Ancient Greeks?)

Lately, I’ve been in the mood for reading some non-fiction. Nothing too heavy like the History of WWII or anything but just something that is more like an essay or a book like this one. I don’t really remember what the book is about, but I’m sure it will have something to do with what the title describes. I hope it will be good.

“Fingers crossed?”

“Yup!”

“Toes crossed?”

“Uuuuh…yeah?”

“What was that, soldier?!”

“Yup!”

“Good!”

Aaaand after my moment of silliness (because we really need those from time to time) let’s move on to the last part of this post.

Read the Globe Challenge TBR

I will be continuing on with my challenge, even though I’ve been doing very badly so far. To those of you who are new to my blog I have a page where I talk more in depth about what the Read the Globe Challenge is.

Anyway, this month the theme is Oceania, which means that you can pick any book by an author from Oceania and read it. This is what I will be reading:

17333319Burial Rites by Hannah Kent.

This book is the only one on my TBR that is in e-book format actually. I’ve read quite a few very good reviews about it and I’ve wanted to read it for a while. So, I think that now i the perfect time for me to do that.

A brilliant literary debut, inspired by a true story: the final days of a young woman accused of murder in Iceland in 1829.

Set against Iceland’s stark landscape, Hannah Kent brings to vivid life the story of Agnes, who, charged with the brutal murder of her former master, is sent to an isolated farm to await execution.

Horrified at the prospect of housing a convicted murderer, the family at first avoids Agnes. Only Tóti, a priest Agnes has mysteriously chosen to be her spiritual guardian, seeks to understand her. But as Agnes’s death looms, the farmer’s wife and their daughters learn there is another side to the sensational story they’ve heard.

Riveting and rich with lyricism, BURIAL RITES evokes a dramatic existence in a distant time and place, and asks the question, how can one woman hope to endure when her life depends upon the stories told by others?

These are all the books that I hope I will be able to read in the month of March. Some of them I have already started and some of them I have been putting off for quite a while.

Now it’s your turn…

Which books are you planning to read this month? Will you participate in the Take Control of Your TBR Pile Challenge or the Read-a-thon? Are you participating in any other -book related or not- challenges? Is there any event happening this month that you are excited about?

And also…

Have you read any of these books? Are you planning to read any of them? Tell me all about it in the comments below…

Leave a Reply

