Review: The Magicians’ Guild

28249 Title: The Magicians’ Guild

Author: Trudi Canavan

Series: The Black Magician Trilogy #1

Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Summary (from Goodreads):

“We should expect this young woman to be more powerful than our average novice, possibly even more powerful than the average magician.”

This year, like every other, the magicians of Imardin gather to purge the city of undesirables. Cloaked in the protection of their sorcery, they move with no fear of the vagrants and miscreants who despise them and their work-—until one enraged girl, barely more than a child, hurls a stone at the hated invaders…and effortlessly penetrates their magical shield.

What the Magicians’ Guild has long dreaded has finally come to pass. There is someone outside their ranks who possesses a raw power beyond imagining, an untrained mage who must be found and schooled before she destroys herself and her city with a force she cannot yet control.

Review:

I think I have talked about Trudi Canavan’s books quite a bit lately and, indeed, they are some of my favorite books that I read in 2015. In fact, I have posted a review on the trilogy prequel The Magician’s Apprentice.

This is the second book by Trudi Canavan that I have read and it was almost as good as the first one. Again I liked the writing. The book is written through various perspectives, but this doesn’t make it difficult to read.

The story begins hundreds of years after the events in The Magician’s Apprentice. (Or you could say that The Magician’s Apprentice is set hundreds of years before this trilogy. It depends on the order in which you have read the books.) It follows Sonea, a young girl from the slums of Imardin, who discovers that she has magical powers.

As a story I didn’t like the beginning so much. My problem was that in the first half of the book the story progresses very slowly. However, other than that first part, I just loved the rest of the story.

What I liked the most was that the author didn’t make it easy for the reader to predict whether the ending would be good or bad. Up until the last page of the book I was wondering what was going to happen and whether or not one of the characters was going to do something stupid to screw the perfect ending that I had pictured in my mind.

About the ending I’m just going to say that it was diabolical. It was written so that there was indeed an ending to the story, but at the same time the story stopped in a point where you just had to read the next book to find out what happened. I’m not sure if it’s a cliffhanger, I really do not think so. It was just written in a very smart way to make you want to read the next book asap.

I honestly don’t know what else to write right now. I have written so much today that my mind has gone blank. This was a very short review, but I need to finally publish this post. It’s just been too long since I started writing it. I hope that you will excuse my mental black out.

15890.jpgA few words about the author

Trudi Canavan was born in Kew, Melbourne and grew up in Ferntree Gully, a suburb at the foothills of the Dandenongs.

In 1999 she won the Aurealis Award for Best Fantasy Short Story with “Whispers of the Mist Children”. In the same year she was granted a writers residency at Varuna Writers’ Centre in Katoomba, New South Wales.

In November 2001, The Magicians’ Guild was first published in Australia. The second book of the trilogy, The Novice, was published in June 2002 and was nominated for the Aurealis Award for Best Fantasy Novel. The third book The High Lord was released in January 2003 and was nominated for the Best Novel Ditmar category. All three books entered Australian top ten SF bestseller lists.

The Black Magician Trilogy reached the international market in 2004, published by HarperCollins’ EOS imprint in North America and Orbit Books in the UK. The trilogy is now rated by Nielsen BookScan as the most successful debut fantasy series of the last 10 years.

Trudi’s second trilogy, Age of the Five, has also enjoyed bestselling success. Priestess of the White reached No.3 in the Sunday Times hardback fiction bestseller list, staying in the top ten for six weeks.

In early 2006 Trudi signed a seven-figure contract with Orbit to write the prequel and sequel to the Black Magician Trilogy. The prequel, The Magician’s Apprentice was released in 2009 and won the Best Fantasy Novel category of the Aurealis Awards. She is now working on the sequel trilogy, and planning her next fantasy series, which will be set in an entirely new world.

Now it’s your turn…

Have you read The Magiacians’ Guild? Would you like to? Have you read any other book by Trudi Canavan? Did you like it? Did you like this review?

Tell me all about it in the comments below…

5 thoughts on “Review: The Magicians’ Guild

  1. I haven’t read anything by Trudi Canavan yet but I’ve been thinking about it ever since I heard her speak at one of my favourite YA books podcasts! I’m glad to hear that you’ve enjoyed this one – the premise is promising, and I’ll have to check it out soon. Thanks for your review!

    Like

Leave a Reply

