Review: The Novice

28250Title: The Novice

Author: Trudi Canavan

Series: The Black Magician  Trilogy #2

Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Summary (from  Goodreads):

Alone among all the novices in the Magician’s Guild, only Sonea comes from lowly beginnings. Yet she has won powerful allies–including Lord Dannyl, newly promoted to Guild Ambassador. But Dannyl must now depart for the Elyne court, leaving Sonea at the mercy of the lies and malicious rumors her enemies are busy spreading…until the High Lord Akkarin steps in. The price of Akkarin’s support is dear, however, because Sonea, in turn, must protect his mysteries–and a secret that could lead a young novice mage deep into the darkness.

Meanwhile, Dannyl’s first order to resume High Lord Akkarin’s long-abandoned research into ancient magical knowledge is setting him on an extraordinary journey fraught with unanticipated peril–as he moves ever-closer to a future both wondrous…and terrible.

Wow! I still can’t believe that it is finally time to review this book. I already have reviews on the prequel called The Magician’s Apprentice and on the first book of the trilogy called The Magicians’ Guild. Now, let’s start with this review.

Although, it is a very difficult choice to make, I think this is my favorite book in the trilogy. Sonea is finally a student in the Guild. She is learning how to trust a few of the Magicians and we can now finally see her relationship with the other Novices and her overall treatment by the people in the Guild.

If you started reading the first book and after reading the first few chapters you put it aside, then I recommend that you try reading it again. The second and third books in the trilogy are sooo much better. It’s like when you start learning something entirely new to you. Sometime you get to a point when you are able to say: “Okay, I’ve learned what I need, now let’s have some fun!”

Anyway, I’m not going to go on an “in depth analysis about the writing style” and what I think about it. I’ve already given you my thoughts on the writing in my review of The Magician’s Apprentice.

When it comes to the characters, I think they are well-developed. Also, I think that Trudi Canavan is very good at making the reader feel/think about her characters as much or as little as she wants them to through her descriptions of said characters.

If I had to comment on something that I didn’t like, then the only thing I could say is that I found it completely frustrating that while I had been expecting to read about x thing, the chapter would end and there would be a change of POV that would probably take me miles away from what I had been anticipating so badly. But that is not necessarily a bad thing. After having read the book a couple of times, I can now see that what she did actually served a purpose. It made me want to continue reading until the next change in POV so that I would get to read the part I was so interested in. It is actually a very smart strategy in my opinion. It keeps the reader interested in reading more. The selection of where each chapter ended and where each book ended in general was made in such a way that you just have to keep reading.

15890A few words about the author

Trudi Canavan was born in Kew, Melbourne and grew up in Ferntree Gully, a suburb at the foothills of the Dandenongs.

In 1999 she won the Aurealis Award for Best Fantasy Short Story with “Whispers of the Mist Children”. In the same year she was granted a writers residency at Varuna Writers’ Centre in Katoomba, New South Wales.

In November 2001, The Magicians’ Guild was first published in Australia. The second book of the trilogy, The Novice, was published in June 2002 and was nominated for the Aurealis Award for Best Fantasy Novel. The third book The High Lord was released in January 2003 and was nominated for the Best Novel Ditmar category. All three books entered Australian top ten SF bestseller lists.

The Black Magician Trilogy reached the international market in 2004, published by HarperCollins’ EOS imprint in North America and Orbit Books in the UK. The trilogy is now rated by Nielsen BookScan as the most successful debut fantasy series of the last 10 years.

Trudi’s second trilogy, Age of the Five, has also enjoyed bestselling success. Priestess of the White reached No.3 in the Sunday Times hardback fiction bestseller list, staying in the top ten for six weeks.

In early 2006 Trudi signed a seven-figure contract with Orbit to write the prequel and sequel to the Black Magician Trilogy. The prequel, The Magician’s Apprentice was released in 2009 and won the Best Fantasy Novel category of the Aurealis Awards. She is now working on the sequel trilogy, and planning her next fantasy series, which will be set in an entirely new world.

So this was my review on The Novice by Trudi Canavan. Next week I will be reviewing the third and last book in the trilogy. But before that, I have a Top 5 Wednesday post scheduled for tomorrow.

Until then, you can participate in this survey about my blog, or you could go ahead and buy The Novice so that you can read it as well.

Book Depository

Now it’s your turn…

Have you read The Novice by Trudi Canavan? Have you read any other books by her? Would you like to? What did you think of her books? What are your thoughts on this review? Can you recommend another book that people who liked The Novice might enjoy reading? Do you know of another high fantasy book or series to recommend?

Tell me all about it in the comments below…

Leave a Reply

