Take Control of Your TBR Pile 24-Hour Read-a-thon Wrap Up

Wow! That’s a long name for a read-a-thon.

As some of you may already know from my March TBR post, I participated in the 24-hour Read-a-thon that took place on Saturday.

Unfortunately, I didn’t have very much free time that day, so I wasn’t able to read as much as I would have liked to. But I did finish one book…

28801461So, the first book I picked up to read was “How Literature can change your life” (Greek: Πώς Η Λογοτεχνία ΣούΑλλάζει Τη Ζωή). I’m going to have a review up on it tomorrow, so I will simply give you the book’s summary.

“Αν επιμένουμε ακόμα να διαβάζουμε λογοτεχνία στη ζωή μας, είναι γιατί πιστεύουμε σε αυτό που μας προσφέρει. Δεν θα καταφέρουμε ποτέ να αλλάξουμε τον κόσμο με την ποίηση και τα μυθιστορήματα, αξίζει όμως τον κόπο να δοκιμάσουμε την ευεργετική επίδρασή τους στη ζωή και στον χαρακτήρα μας.

Αν με ρωτούσε κανείς πώς η λογοτεχνία μπορεί να αλλάξει τη ζωή μου, θα απαντούσα κυρίως πως η λογοτεχνία σου μαθαίνει τρόπους. Σε κάνει λιγότερο σίγουρο για τον εαυτό σου, λιγότερο μελοδραματικό και κραυγαλέο, λιγότερο αφελή και ευκολόπιστο αλλά και πιο ευγενή στη γλώσσα, πιο διορατικό στις ανθρώπινες σχέσει.

Στη ζωή τα πράγματα δεν είναι πάντα όπως φαίνονται κι η λογοτεχνία θα είναι πάντα εδώ για να μας το θυμίζει.”

And here’s my own translation of the summary:

“The fact that we are still reading literature today means that we believing in what it has to offer. We cannot change the world through poems and novels, it is still worth it to try their beneficial effect on our lives and our characters. If someone were to ask me how literature can change their lives, I would answer them that most importantly literature teaches you better manners. It makes one less sure of oneself, less melodramatic and rude, less naive and gullible, but also more polite and more insightful on human relationships.”

17333319That was the only book I finished on Saturday. I did start reading Burial Rites but I didn’t get very far.

A brilliant literary debut, inspired by a true story: the final days of a young woman accused of murder in Iceland in 1829.

Set against Iceland’s stark landscape, Hannah Kent brings to vivid life the story of Agnes, who, charged with the brutal murder of her former master, is sent to an isolated farm to await execution.

Horrified at the prospect of housing a convicted murderer, the family at first avoids Agnes. Only Tóti, a priest Agnes has mysteriously chosen to be her spiritual guardian, seeks to understand her. But as Agnes’s death looms, the farmer’s wife and their daughters learn there is another side to the sensational story they’ve heard.

Riveting and rich with lyricism, BURIAL RITES evokes a dramatic existence in a distant time and place, and asks the question, how can one woman hope to endure when her life depends upon the stories told by others?

So that was my Read-a-thon Wrap Up. I know this is a very short post, but I didn’t have much free time for blogging today. Did you participate in this Read-a-thon?

Leave a Reply

