T5W: Books I DNF

118368Top 5 Wednesday is a weekly book meme created by Lainey. Here is the Complete List of Wednesday-ers for anyone who wants to join or find other members of the group.

This week’s theme is books you DNF and here are my choices:

Number 5: The Mighty Hunter by Michelle M. Pillow. I started reading this one after reading one of the other series she had written at the time. (Don’t ask me I don’t remember.) But this was not something I enjoyed reading and when the enjoyment is not part of my reading process I just stop reading.

Number 4: The Green Woman by Peter Straub, Michael Easton & John Bolton. This is a really bad graphic novel, with really bad artwork and I didn’t like it at all. I tortured myself trying to understand what was going on, until I reached the middle and gave up on it.

Number 3: The Warden by Anthony Trollope. This is my most recent DNF. It was part of my March TBR. actually. All I’m going to say is that I did not like it. I  just couldn’t find something to draw me into the story and make me read it. I had started thinking of reading the book as a chore. So DNF it is.

Number 2: Magic Bites by Ilona Andrews. This is the same case as with The Warden. I know there are people that loved this book, but I am not one of them.

And the total blasphemy in the book blogging community…

Number 1: Dragonfly In Amber by Diana Gabaldon. I hated this one from the start and, since I had already suffered through Outlander, I couldn’t justify this self-torture to myself. I know. I know! People L-O-V-E love the Outlander Series. But I don’t. You can all try to change my mind, of course. In fact, I challenge you to give it your best try.

Sigh. I love being contradicted. Contradiction could have been the spice of life. If Literature hadn’t already claimed first place.

So, this was my Top 5 Wednesday post.

Now it’s your turn…

What did you think of my T5W choices? Do you agree with me? Do you disagree with me? Is Outlander part of your religious system? And if yes, does that mean you think I’m going to Hell? (Oh, God! This would make a hilarious dystopia. Don’t you think?) What are your top 5 DNFs?

Tell me all about it in the comments below…

20 thoughts on “T5W: Books I DNF

    • Yeah, I was expecting to like this book. Not just because of the hype, but because it was similar to other books I had loved. But…sometimes you’ve just got to DNF a book.

      Like

  1. I haven’t heard of most of these books. I’ve been wanting to read Outlander, but it so long and kind of terrifying because of the amount of pages HAHA.

    Like

  2. I LOVE THE OUTLANDER SERIES!!! buttttttt, I can understand why Drangonfly in Amber is your DNF because if I hadn’t loved the 1st book so much (and also the show), I’d have dropped it too. In fact, I may be guilty of skipping a few pages (which was probably not a good idea since now I can’t remember many of the characters but oh well).

    Like

  3. I haven’t read any of this but I think i need to start adding to my DNF list. I always struggle so much to get through some book like its a crime to leave them unfinished. However, I get encouraged when I see lists like yours where you have even books that are supposedly popular but you still abandoned them if you did not connect 🙂

    Like

    • I like to think of it this way: It is important to give every book a chance, but if you get to a point where you are no longer having fun and reading this or that book has turned into a chore, then you should definitely put it aside or DNF it. There are way too many books in the world for you to read, so don’t waste your time reading books you don’t like just so that you can say you have finished them.

      Like

    • I can’t really recommend any of the books I just mentioned since I have not finished them myself. Thanks for leaving your link. I’ll have to check it out. 😀

      Liked by 1 person

      • Yes! I told myself I wouldn’t buy as many books this year because I have so many on my shelves that I haven’t read. Then, this month, I go on Bookoutlet and buy a bunch of books. ugh!!!! lol

        Like

      • There are times when I really hate Bookoutlet because the shipping costs are too high for Greece. But then I remember I have “a problem” and say ‘Thank God!’

        Like

  4. That’s a shame about the Green Woman one. That cover is so interesting! I have the first outlander book… I’ve never made it past the first chapter or so. It just makes me tune out almost instantly (I have it as an audiobook). My T5W

    Like

    • You’re right. When I first saw the cover, I thought that the artwork inside would be really pretty like the cover, but sadly it wasn’t. I’ll definitely check out your T5W post.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

