The Intimidating TBR Tag

Hello there! It’s been some time since I my March & April Book Haul, which was my last post on this blog. But I wanted to do this post today that I have some free time. So, I found out about this tag from Monica who did a video on her YouTube channel. I wasn’t tagged by anyone, I just thought it was an interesting tag to do. (If you know who the creator of the tag is, then tell me or leave me a link in the comments.)

Now, on to the tag…

1) What book have you been unable to finish?

28412666Wildcat Under Glass by Alki Zei. I’m kind of embarassed by this admission. This book was given to me as a gift when I was very young and I have never wanted to finish it.I have always heard people talk about it and praise it and sing their praises for the author, but I never EVER could even consider sitting down and reading it to the end. And I think there is a reason for that, but I will probably share it in another post.

Wildcat under Glass, first published in 1963 and translated in about 35 languages, is internationally acclaimed as a classic work having been successfully and repeatedly published in many countries apart from Greece until today. 
The story is set on an island in Greece during the 1930’s as the nation is forced into a Fascist dictatorship. It is told through the eyes of a young girl named Melia, who relates the experiences of her family as they are forced to accept life under a repressive government. The book provides an interesting look at an important period of Greek history and tells it from a child’s unsophisticated perspective. The naturalness and liveliness of the dialogue is combined with the seriousness and depth of the meaning. In a playful atmosphere, the reader is aware of and enjoys a mature thought that deals with and analyses social visions while trying to discover the threads that move them. The value of the book consists in precisely this combination. One of its virtues and what makes it universal is that the narration, although set in Greece at a particular period of time, seems somehow spaceless and timeless.

What book have you yet to read because…

130976862) …you just haven’t had the time?

A Clash of Kings by George R. R. Martin. I know that many people have read this series and loved it and I did buy the first three books totally intending to read them. However, reading the first book took me sooo long. It was huge and to be honest I didn’t enjoy it as much as I did the show. I still want to read the rest of the series, because I want to know what is missing from the TV show, but right now I just don’t have the time to read something that long.

The Seven Kingdoms of Westeros are plagued by civil war, while the Night’s Watch mounts a reconnaissance force to investigate the mysterious people known as wildlings. Meanwhile Daenerys Targaryen continues her quest to return to and conquer the Seven Kingdoms. All signs are foreshadowing a terrible disaster that is to come.

3) …it’s a sequel?

8164304I actually have to answers for this question. The first one is The Girl Who Played With Fire by Stieg Larsson, which is the second book in the Millenium Trilogy. A few years ago my aunt asked me what book I wanted as a birthday gift and I picked this one thinking that it was the first one.

Mikael Blomkvist, crusading journalist and publisher of the magazine Millennium, has decided to run a story that will expose an extensive sex trafficking operation between Eastern Europe and Sweden, implicating well-known and highly placed members of Swedish society, business, and government.

But he has no idea just how explosive the story will be until, on the eve of publication, the two investigating reporters are murdered. And even more shocking for Blomkvist: the fingerprints found on the murder weapon belong to Lisbeth Salander—the troubled, wise-beyond-her-years genius hacker who came to his aid in The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo, and who now becomes the focus and fierce heart of The Girl Who Played with Fire.

As Blomkvist, alone in his belief in Salander’s innocence, plunges into an investigation of the slayings, Salander herself is drawn into a murderous hunt in which she is the prey, and which compels her to revisit her dark past in an effort to settle with it once and for all.

18679385A couple of years later I was at this huge bookstore and I saw the Wicked Lovely series on display. All of the books one beside the other. So, I picked up the one that I thought was the first one in the series thinking that if I liked it, I could always come back and buy the rest of the books. Oh, how wrong was I! You see I had just bought Darkest Mercy, which is the fifth and last book of the series…

The Summer King is missing; the Dark Court is bleeding; and a stranger walks the streets of Huntsdale, his presence signifying the deaths of powerful fey.

Aislinn tends to the Summer Court, searching for her absent king and yearning for Seth. Torn between his new queen and his old love, Keenan works from afar to strengthen his court against the coming war. Donia longs for fiery passion even as she coolly readies the Winter Court for battle. And Seth, sworn brother of the Dark King and heir to the High Queen, is about to make a mistake that could cost his life.

Love, despair, and betrayal ignite the Faery Courts, and in the final conflict, some will win . . . and some will lose everything.

4) …it’s brand new?

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Plato, Not Prozac!: Applying Eternal Wisdom to Everyday Problems by Lou Marinoff. I just bought this one ten days ago actually. I found in the bookstore and the synopsis seemed so interesting that I immediately picked it up. I’ve always been interested in Philosophy and I think that this is going to be a great book to read.

If you’re facing a dilemma — whether it’s handling a relationship, living ethically, dealing with a career change, or finding meaning in life — the world’s most important thinkers from centuries past will help guide you toward a solution compatible with your individual beliefs. From Kirkegaard’s thoughts on coping with death to the I Ching’s guidelines on adapting to change, Plato, Not Prozac! makes philosophy accessible and shows you how to use it to solve your everyday problems.

Gone is the need for expensive therapists, medication, and lengthy analysis. Clearly organized by common problems to help you tailor Dr. Lou Marinoff’s advice to your own needs, this is an intelligent, effective, and persuasive prescription for self-healing therapy that is giving psychotherapy a run for its money.

71716375) …you read a book by the same author and didn’t enjoy it?

I know people might hate me for this, but my answer is Clockwork Angel and the entire Infernal Devices series by Cassandra Clare. And the reason why I have yet to read these books is the Mortal Instruments series. The M.I. series has been in my DO NOT Finish list for a long while now. I’m not saying that the books where necessarily bad, but at some point I got tired of the whole plot and didn’t even want to think about reading them. I will admit that at one time I had been excited about getting my hands on the next book, but it lasted for a couple of hours at the most. Oh, and I don’t like the covers. At all. Nuh-uh.

In a time when Shadowhunters are barely winning the fight against the forces of darkness, one battle will change the course of history forever. Welcome to the Infernal Devices trilogy, a stunning and dangerous prequel to the New York Times bestselling Mortal Instruments series.

The year is 1878. Tessa Gray descends into London’s dark supernatural underworld in search of her missing brother. She soon discovers that her only allies are the demon-slaying Shadowhunters—including Will and Jem, the mysterious boys she is attracted to. Soon they find themselves up against the Pandemonium Club, a secret organization of vampires, demons, warlocks, and humans. Equipped with a magical army of unstoppable clockwork creatures, the Club is out to rule the British Empire, and only Tessa and her allies can stop them…

cover6) …you’re just not in the mood for it?

Finale by Becca Fitzpatrick.

Will love conquer all?

Nora and Patch thought their troubles were behind them. Hank is gone and they should be able to put his ugly vendetta to rest. But in Hank’s absence, Nora has become the unwitting head of the Nephilim and must finish what Hank began. Which ultimately means destroying the fallen angels – destroying Patch.

Nora will never let that happen, so she and Patch make a plan: lead everyone to believe they have broken up, and work the system from the inside. Nora will convince the Nephilim that they are making a mistake in fighting the fallen angels, and Patch will find out everything he can from the opposing side. They will end this war before it can even begin.

But the best-laid plans often go awry. Nora is put through the paces in her new role and finds herself drawn to an addictive power she never anticipated.

As the battle lines are drawn, Nora and Patch must confront the differences that have always been between them and either choose to ignore them or let them destroy the love they have always fought for.

7) …it’s humongous?

See question 2.

8) …because it was a cover buy that turned out to have poor reviews?

When I find a book interesting, I am not easily affected by the reviews about it. When I buy a book either read it or give it away to the library despite the poor reviews. Books that I’m not interested in reading don’t usually stay in my TBR-list for long unless I have a reason that makes me want to keep them. In fact, I have recently purged my bookshelves by giving away all the books that I didn’t want to the library. I have been going back and forth donating books almost every single time I visited the town center. The last time I thought that the librarian was going to drop to his knees and worship at my feet.

131365099) What is the most intimidating book in your TBR pile?

21 ιστορίες και “Το κοράκι” (21 Stories and “The Raven”) by Edgar Allan Poe. Though I don’t know why.

10) Who do you tag?

Honestly, I have no idea who has and who hasn’t done the tag already and unfortunately I don’t have the time to check. So, I tag you who are reading this post right now. Go on and do the tag and then come back here and leave me the link in the comments below.

So, this was the Intimidating TBR Tag. I do have a couple of other tags to do and I will as soon as I can.

Now it’s your turn…

Did you like this tag? Have you done the tag or are you planning to do it? Have you read any of the books I mentioned? What did you think of them? What are your answers to these questions?

Tell me all about it in the comments below…

Leave a Reply

