May Book Haul

DSCN0027I cannot believe how quickly this month ended! One day it was May 1st and we were celebrating Easter and the next it’s the 28th and it’s almost time for my semester finals to start.

But let’s not talk about stressful stuff like my finals. I’ve got some new books to talk to you about!

85379441. Robinson Crusoe by Daniel Defoe

I’ve wanted to read this classic ever since I watched a video seminar analyzing the novel as part of an English Literature class I was taking online. For a while I kept putting off buying it because I wanted to get it in a really pretty edition but eventually I saw and I just had to get it.

‘It happen’d one Day about Noon going towards my Boat, I was exceedingly surpriz’d with the Print of a Man’s naked Foot on the Shore.’

Shipwrecked in a storm at sea, Robinson Crusoe is washed up on a remote and desolate island. As he struggles to piece together a life for himself, Crusoe’s physical, moral and spiritual values are tested to the limit. For 24 years he remains in solitude and learns to tame and master the island, until he finally comes across another human being. Considered a classic literary masterpiece, and frequently interpreted as a comment on the British Imperialist approach at the time, Defoe’s fable was and still is revered as the very first English novel.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

2. Plato, Not Prozac!: Applying Eternal Wisdom to Everyday Problems by Lou Marinoff

I talked about this book in my Intimidating TBR Tag post. In short, I was trying to kill time in my favorite bookshop in Ioannina until it was time for me to go to the bus station and this one caught my attention. I was looking for something a little bit like How Literature Can Change Your Life  by Dimitris Stefanakis. You know something that will make you think about everyday life, that is a bit more on the philosophical side of literature, which is not heavy or loaded with political ideas and propaganda. Books are supposed to be fun not a How-To-Guide-To-Self-Torture, you know? Though, if you enjoy these books then go ahead and read them.

If you’re facing a dilemma — whether it’s handling a relationship, living ethically, dealing with a career change, or finding meaning in life — the world’s most important thinkers from centuries past will help guide you toward a solution compatible with your individual beliefs. From Kirkegaard’s thoughts on coping with death to the I Ching’s guidelines on adapting to change, Plato, Not Prozac! makes philosophy accessible and shows you how to use it to solve your everyday problems.

Gone is the need for expensive therapists, medication, and lengthy analysis. Clearly organized by common problems to help you tailor Dr. Lou Marinoff’s advice to your own needs, this is an intelligent, effective, and persuasive prescription for self-healing therapy that is giving psychotherapy a run for its money.

174154703. The 5th Wave by Rick Yancey

I’ve wanted to read this one on and off ever since it was first published, though I have heard some mixed reviews about it. Despite that I still want to read it and after that watch the movie. So, when I was it in the bookstore I decided to finally buy it and do just that.

The Passage meets The Hunger Games in a gripping new series from Carnegie-shortlisted Rick Yancey. After the 1st wave, only darkness remains. After the 2nd, only the lucky escape. And after the 3rd, only the unlucky survive. After the 4th wave, only one rule applies: trust no one. Now, it’s the dawn of the 5th wave. On a lonely stretch of highway, Cassie runs from Them. The beings who only look human, who roam the countryside killing anyone they see. Who have scattered Earth’s last survivors. To stay alone is to stay alive, until Cassie meets Evan Walker. Beguiling and mysterious, Evan may be her only hope for rescuing her brother and even saving herself. Now she must choose: between trust and despair, between defiance and surrender, between life and death. To give up or to get up. Cassie Sullivan gets up.

25578873.jpg4. Mantepse pios tha fygei apopse (Guess who’s leaving tonight) by Chrysiida Dimoulidou

I have to admit that I got this book mostly because of the author. I have always heard the best about her writing and her books, but I have never read one of them. So, when I got the e-mail from the publication company without a discount code for the per-order of her new book, I thought that it was time to check her out. So, I picked the two books of hers that I thought were the most interesting and ordered them. I did read this one and I will write a review about it.

Τhe book is about a young woman named Fofo, who fell in love with Minas and got married to him. However, Minas had only married Fofo for her money and treated her really badly. Years later Fofo has gained a lot of weight and her self-esteem is almost non-existent, though she manages to find the strength to lose this extra weight and claim the life she deserves. Is she going to be successful or not? (And yes, I know that this is a really bad summary. In my review I will translate the summary from the back cover for you.)

24910156.jpg5. Ta Dakrya tou Theou (God’s Tears) by Chrysiida Dimoulidou

This is the second book by Chrysiida Dimoulidou that I bought. And actually according to the publisher it has been published in Brazil and the Czech Republic, so if you know Portuguese or Czech then you can buy it and read it. Unfortunately, I don’t think that it has been translated in English.

Anyway, the book is about an 80-year-old woman who used to be a prostitute during the ’50s. Now, that she is older and part of a family that loves and respects her, she has finally decided to share her secrets with us.

And the last book in this haul is…

remote.jpg6. Oi Daimones Den Echoun Onoma (Demons Don’t Have Names) by Chrysiida Dimoulidou

This is the latest book by Chrysiida Dimoulidou that was published just a couple of days ago. I was actually thinking of buying it, but at the last minute I changed my mind and ordered the other two instead. In the end, it proved to be a very wise decision since just one day after I received my order I got a message from the publisher telling me that I had won an autographed copy of the book. Now, I have three of Chrysiida Dimoulidou’s books to enjoy!

Unlike, the previous books this one is a mystery or maybe crime fiction, I’m not sure. It’s about a father who’s daughter drowned in the river outside their village at the age of 13. Several drownings and mysterious disappearances in the area have the police trying to find what is going on and makes people think that the village is cursed. 20 years later a 15-year-old girl is found drowned by the same river and the case is opened once again.

I know my descriptions of these books are pretty bad, but their summaries are too long for me to translate right now. So, I will translate each summary  in my reviews of the books.

This is the the end of my book haul for this month.

Now it’s your turn…

What books did you buy this month? Have you read/do you own any of the books in my haul? Would you like to read them?

And also…

Do you speak Czech or Portuguese? What languages do you speak? And what languages are you interested in learning?

Tell me all about it in the comments below…

Leave a Reply

