Review: The High Lord

I know I’ve disappeared for a while. I’ve already got several posts scheduled for this week (including yesterday’s post about Bulgaria) and I will definitely will be posting more reviews. But I have kept this post waiting to be published for too long, so I decided that it is finally time to post it and be finished with my reviews of this trilogy. Also, before I start this review, I do need to say that this is the last book in the Black Magician Trilogy, so if you haven’t read the other two books, you might not want to read this post. I can’t say that there will be no spoilers from the previous books in the trilogy. However, I do have reviews of The Magicians’ Guild and The Novice, which are the first and second books in the trilogy, as well as a review of The Magician’s Apprentice, which is the prequel to the trilogy, so you can go on and read those too.

28251Title: The High Lord

Author: Trudi Canavan

Series: Black Magician Trilogy #3

Genres: High Fantasy, Magic, YA

Buy it: Book Depository

Summary:

In the city of Imardin, where those who wield magic wield power, a young street-girl, adopted by the Magician’s Guild, finds herself at the centre of a terrible plot that may destroy the entire world…

Sonea has learned much at the magicians’ guild and the other novices now treat her with a grudging respect. But she cannot forget what she witnessed in the High Lord’s underground room – or his warning that the realm’s ancient enemy is growing in power once more. As Sonea learns more, she begins to doubt her guildmaster’s word. Could the truth really be as terrifying as Akkarin claims, or is he trying to trick her into assisting in some unspeakably dark scheme?

Review:

The High Lord is my second favorite book in the Black Magician Trilogy. As an ending to the trilogy it was simply awesome.

I think that Akkarin is one of the best characters I have ever read about. When the trilogy started he was this aloof person roaming about the Guild. He seemed to know more than he should and you never knew how he got know all of these things. Then in the second book he is turned into this terrible villain. He is now that one evil character that everybody hates; that one person from whom you can expect the worst kind of evil. However, in this book, you are starting to doubt his evil-ness. As the story progresses this mask of evil is being taken away and you can see the real Akkarin that was hiding behind it. In fact, by the end of the book he had already become one of my favorite characters.

Sonea remained Sonea. I liked that her new status as a Novice in the Guild didn’t change who she really was. Of course, she grew up and she matured, but her basic personality, the one that gave her the courage to throw stones at the magicians remained the same.

The story and the writing where just as good as they were in the previous books. The different perspectives do frustrate me quite a bit usually, because I don’t get instant curiosity gratification, but it was so interesting to see what happened to all these other characters in the story. Honestly, other than the frustrating part I didn’t mind the change in POVs at all.

The last thing I want to talk about is the ending. This time I can say that I was mildly surprised by the ending. I knew that something like what happened was going to happen from the moment I started reading The Magicians’ Guild, but by the end of the book things had changed a lot and I had started hoping that something else would happen and that I had been wrong. Unfortunately, I was mostly right, but there was one tiny detail that I had not predicted and that detail made me okay with the ending as a whole. I’m not going to reveal anything more though, in case I spoil the ones who haven’t read the book yet.

So yes, that is my entire review of The High Lord. I know that usually I have much more to say in my reviews. But firstly, I have been trying to make them shorter, and secondly, I have already talked about everything else in my reviews of the previous books in the series.

PicMonkey Collage

15890A few words about the author

Trudi Canavan was born in Kew, Melbourne and grew up in Ferntree Gully, a suburb at the foothills of the Dandenongs.

In 1999 she won the Aurealis Award for Best Fantasy Short Story with “Whispers of the Mist Children”. In the same year she was granted a writers residency at Varuna Writers’ Centre in Katoomba, New South Wales.

In November 2001, The Magicians’ Guild was first published in Australia. The second book of the trilogy, The Novice, was published in June 2002 and was nominated for the Aurealis Award for Best Fantasy Novel. The third book The High Lord was released in January 2003 and was nominated for the Best Novel Ditmar category. All three books entered Australian top ten SF bestseller lists.

The Black Magician Trilogy reached the international market in 2004, published by HarperCollins’ EOS imprint in North America and Orbit Books in the UK. The trilogy is now rated by Nielsen BookScan as the most successful debut fantasy series of the last 10 years.

Trudi’s second trilogy, Age of the Five, has also enjoyed bestselling success. Priestess of the White reached No.3 in the Sunday Times hardback fiction bestseller list, staying in the top ten for six weeks.

In early 2006 Trudi signed a seven-figure contract with Orbit to write the prequel and sequel to the Black Magician Trilogy. The prequel, The Magician’s Apprentice was released in 2009 and won the Best Fantasy Novel category of the Aurealis Awards. She is now working on the sequel trilogy, and planning her next fantasy series, which will be set in an entirely new world.

Now it’s your turn…

Did you like my review? Have you read The High Lord? Have you read any of the rest of the books in this trilogy? Have you read any books by Trudi Canavan in general? What did you think of them. Which high fantasy book do you think I should read and review next? Do you enjoy multiple POVs in books?

Tell me all about it in the comments below…

2 thoughts on “Review: The High Lord

    • Yeah, I know what you mean, but even though I kept wishing it wouldn’t happen I knew something like that would happen and I was prepared (meaning: I cried for only 2 hours instead of 3)

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

