#AZDiverse Read-a-thon & #AYearAThon & July TBR

It’s been a while since I made a TBR post and even longer since I participated in #AYearAThon and there’s a reason for that. I am really bad at reading the books I have planned to read instead of other books that have nothing to do with my TBR list. Also, I have a really bad history with Read-a-thons; whenever I decide that I’m going to participate in a Read-a-thon something happens and I just cannot find the time to do it.But this time I decided to risk it and try once more. I have been doing a much better job lately in disciplining myself to read the books I have planned, so I am willing to give the monthly TBR post another try. As for the Read-a-thon, it’s summer and my exams are over and I haven’t got any event planned for the next couple of weeks and I’m hoping that my luck won’t desert me until the end of both Read-a-thons.

#AZDiverse Read-a-thon TBR:

A-ZDiverseReadathon

I found out about this Read-a-thon at the last moment. In fact it has already started and I have unoficially participating in it since yesterday.

Anyway, the Read-a-thon is hosted by Annika at Hidding Books and Ezrah at I Heart Romance & YA and its theme is diverse literature. You can visit Annika and Ezrah’s blogs to read more about the Read-a-thon rules and get ideas on what to read. The Read-a-thon will last from June 30th (yesterday) until July 5th, but you’ve still got the time to join, if you want to.

So now, let’s talk about my TBR…

remote.jpg1. Demons Don’t Have Names (Οι Δαίμονες Δεν Έχουν Όνομα) by Chrysiida Dimoulidou

Alright, I now that this is not a diverse book, but I’ve already started reading it and I’m halfway through. Believe me guys, I cannot put it down unless someone cuts off my hands (please don’t). I’ve recently talked about Demons Don’t Have Names in my Greek Fiction TBR post and you can read a bit more about the book there.

Thanasis Vergis loses the earth beneath his feet when, in May 1972, his thirteen-year-old daughter Drosia drowns in the river outside their village. Her body will not be found, only her shoes and jacket. Almost a year later another girl from the neighboring village mysteriously disappears. Rumors say she eloped with someone who was madly in love with her. A few months later, another girl from the first village disappears with no reason or trace on the day of her birthday. One drowning and two disappearances in the same area cause many questions to arise between both the villagers and the Police, who are looking everywhere for the girls and can’t find any answers. The village is now considered cursed and a cloud of fear lies above the residents’ heads.

Twenty years after after Drosia’s death, a fifteen-year-old girl is found drowned in the same river. The curse strikes once again. And along with this case the Police will re-open three forgotten files. That is when the demons awaken. Because this time, someone will talk and they will reveal truths that no one wants to believe. What happened to those girls who disappeared? Where did they go? Where are they now?

Demons have no names. But they are present and they choose who to torture…

249101562. The Tears of God (Τα Δάκρυα του Θεού) by Chrysiida Dimoulidou

Despite my totally unrelated to the Read-a-thon beginning of my TBR, I will attempt to stick with the Diverse Reads theme for the rest of the Read-a-thon. And I think this is a great choice for this theme. Because if the life of a prostitute is not a diverse background, then I don’t know what is. Regardless, I think it’s going to be an amazing read and I can’t wait to pick it up.

They say that God weeps every time he sees us whores. He weeps in shame, since we have none left. But if God weeps, then Death owes us!

It is the 1950s. Over the wounds of a Greece that is still bleeding from the war, in neighborhood in Piraeus, the famous Troumpa, among the smoke of hand-rolled cigarettes and cheap alcohol, love leaves on the bodies of women its frayed dreams and a hope that life is magical and beautiful. Day and night prostitutes stroll the narrow streets selling their bodies for very little money. A few steps farther their supposed protectors lurk like vultures ready to snatch their prey, selling them promises of a better future made of glitter and angels. Each of these women has a different story to tell, that might have begun from a rich house or even a marriage, an engagement, a great love. I was one of these women myself, going by the name of Madame Jeny, I started as a simple prostitute and ended up owning the most famous brothel in Troumpa.

No, life has not been easy for me. There have been no easy paths to follow. One night of my life was your entire life… This night I will tell you. Now, in my eighties, and for many years, I have been Eugenia Frankou, a respectable woman, who is highly regarded by her family and social circle. Nobody has ever learned who I really was. Why am I doing this now? Because to me Death has yet to repay his debt…

cover3. Luna by Julie Anne Peters

This one has been on my TBR from the beginning of the year, ever since I decided to participate in the Book Riot Read Harder Challenge. So, by reading this book I am hitting two birds with one stone.

Regan’s brother Liam can’t stand the person he is during the day. Like the moon from whom Liam has chosen his female namesake, his true self, Luna, only reveals herself at night. In the secrecy of his basement bedroom Liam transforms himself into the beautiful girl he longs to be, with help from his sister’s clothes and makeup. Now, everything is about to change-Luna is preparing to emerge from her cocoon. But are Liam’s family and friends ready to welcome Luna into their lives? Compelling and provocative, this is an unforgettable novel about a transgender teen’s struggle for self-identity and acceptance.

These are all the books I will be reading for this Read-a-thon, mostly because I already have a lot of books on my TBR for the rest of the month and also because these are the two diverse books on my bookshelves and immediate TBR list at the moment. I am determined to take down my TBR this year and that means no searching for more books to read when it’s not absolutely necessary. I have found that it is searches of that kind that end up doubling my TBR. (It’s how a certain author, whose many books, I will be talking about later got added in my Have-To-Read-Right-Now pile.)

#AYearAThon TBR:

71654054. The Ambassador’s Mission by Trudi Canavan

I’ve read The Magician’s Apprentice and the Black Magician Trilogy (The Magicians’ Guild, The Novice, The High Lord) by Trudi Canavan and I loved them all. I have left links to my reviews for all four books, if you want to read them.

The Ambassador’s Mission is the first book in the Traitor Spy Trilogy, which is a sequel series(?) to the Black Magician Trilogy. I’ve had this book on my currently reading shelf on Goodreads and not really currently reading it for months now. So, I have decided that it is time for me to finally read it.

Half the Thieves in the city are dead and nothing can account for the randomness and the inventiveness of each death. 

Sonea, a Black Magician of Kyralia, knows that she is needed to help hunt down the rogue magician killing the Thieves. But Sonea has problems of her own. Her son is now the assistant to the new Guild Ambassador of Sachaka and will be in deadly danger when he sets foot on their ancient enemy’s soil. As a Black Magician, however, her every action is watched – and monitored. Any attempt to leave the city will result in her exile, and lose her any chance of helping her friends – or her son.

84117495. The Rogue by Trudi Canavan

This is the sequel to The Ambassador’s Mission. Iknow that I am not being very creative for this TBR, but come on guys, let’s be realistic, if I read the first book in the trilogy, then there is no chance I’m going to wait for the second and third until after the Read-a-thon. So, I simply included them in the list.

Living among the Sachakan rebels, Lorkin does his best to learn about their unique magic. But the Traitors are reluctant to trade their secrets for the Healing they so desperately want.

Meanwhile, Sonea searches for the rogue, knowing that Cery cannot avoid assassination forever — but the rogue’s influence over the city’s underworld, however, is far greater than she feared.

And in the University, two female novices are about to remind the Guild that sometimes their greatest enemy is found within…

12970162 (1)6. The Traitor Queen by Trudi Canavan

Of course! What did you expect? That I would play favorites and add the first two books but not the last one? Never!

Anyway, like I said, if I start this trilogy, I’m going to want to finish it. So, I’m including all three books in my TBR, because I’m going to read them anyway.

Events are building to a climax in Sachaka as Lorkin returns from his exile with the Traitor rebels. The Traitor Queen has given Lorkin the huge task of brokering an alliance between his people and the Traitors. Lorkin has also had to become a feared black magician in order to harness the power of an entirely new kind of gemstone magic. This knowledge could transform the Guild of Magicians – or make Lorkin an outcast forever.

The Traitor Spy trilogy, which began with The Ambassador’s Mission and The Rogue, is the new series set in the world of the international bestselling Black Magician trilogy.

94130447. Everneath by Brodi Ashton

Everneath has been part of my TBR for way too long. So, now it is finally time to pick it up and read it. By the way, I really like this cover.

Last spring, Nikki Beckett vanished, sucked into an underworld known as the Everneath. Now she’s returned—to her old life, her family, her boyfriend—before she’s banished back to the underworld . . . this time forever. She has six months before the Everneath comes to claim her, six months for good-byes she can’t find the words for, six months to find redemption, if it exists.

Nikki longs to spend these precious months forgetting the Everneath and trying to reconnect with her boyfriend, Jack, the person most devastated by her disappearance—and the one person she loves more than anything. But there’s just one problem: Cole, the smoldering immortal who enticed her to the Everneath in the first place, has followed Nikki home. Cole wants to take over the throne in the underworld and is convinced Nikki is the key to making it happen. And he’ll do whatever it takes to bring her back, this time as his queen.

As Nikki’s time on the Surface draws to a close and her relationships begin slipping from her grasp, she is forced to make the hardest decision of her life: find a way to cheat fate and remain on the Surface with Jack or return to the Everneath and become Cole’s queen.

Everneath is a captivating story of love, loss, and immortality from debut author Brodi Ashton.

135193978. Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas

Okay, I have to admit it. It’s embarrassing that I still haven’t read Throne of Glass, but here it is, my shame in all its glory. I bought Throne of Glass last year, when I went to London with my sister, and I need to finally catch up with that part of my TBR. And while we’re still on this topic, I really love my edition. I mean just look at that cover!

After serving out a year of hard labor in the salt mines of Endovier for her crimes, 18-year-old assassin Celaena Sardothien is dragged before the Crown Prince. Prince Dorian offers her her freedom on one condition: she must act as his champion in a competition to find a new royal assassin.

Her opponents are men-thieves and assassins and warriors from across the empire, each sponsored by a member of the king’s council. If she beats her opponents in a series of eliminations, she’ll serve the kingdom for four years and then be granted her freedom. Celaena finds her training sessions with the captain of the guard, Westfall, challenging and exhilirating. But she’s bored stiff by court life. Things get a little more interesting when the prince starts to show interest in her … but it’s the gruff Captain Westfall who seems to understand her best.

Then one of the other contestants turns up dead … quickly followed by another. Can Celaena figure out who the killer is before she becomes a victim? As the young assassin investigates, her search leads her to discover a greater destiny than she could possibly have imagined.

9786180107845_hd9. The Fox Hunt (Το Κυνήγι Της Αλεπούς) by Fani Pantazi

This is another book that I talked about in my Greek Fiction TBR post. After translating the summary for you, I was really intrigued by it and I decided to add it to my TBR list, because I want to read it as soon as possible. (And I really love this cover.)

He is living in perfect happiness with his wife and child, until he discovers that his beloved is cheating on him. And then, in just one moment, he loses the ground beneath his feet and everything around him is turned into rubble. After this traumatic experience and a painful divorce, he hates all women and his only goal from now on is to find a scapegoat.

In another part of the city, an unsuspecting young woman lives her own feigned happiness, until she discovers the horrible secret her husband has been hiding from her. After the inevitable divorce and the deep wound that it caused, one thing is for certain: She will never trust a man again in her life. The only thing she cares about now is her little daughter.

What will happen when these two people meet? How cruel can he be and how much more can she be hurt?

Two people who will be forced to realize that sometimes life makes our biggest decisions for us.

July 2016 TBR:

My TBR for the month of July will consist of the books on my #AYearAThon TBR that I might not have the time to finish during it as well as some extra ones…

Read DHV10. The rest of Sherrilyn Kenyon’s books on my TBR

I am currently on a break from marathoning Sherrilyn Kenyon’s books. To be exact I have read the first 15 books in her Entire Dark-Hunterverse series and I have read the beginning of One Silent Night and I want to finish that one
as well as the rest of this series, plus The Chronicles of Nick series, and finish the rest of her League series in which I have read thefirst 3 Read Leaguebooks. If any of you are familiar with Sherrilyn Kenyon’s books, then you know that I’ve still got a loooooong way to go before I’ve read all of these books. It’s impossible to read all of them in July. What I really want is to read as many of them as I can this month and then continue on with them in August.
The complete list of titles I have yet to read is this:

  • The Entire Dark-Hunterverse Series (including The Chronicles of Nick Series)
    1. One Silent NightDHV TBR
    2. Dream Warrior
    3. Bad Moon Rising
    4. Infinity
    5. No Mercy
    6. Invincible
    7. Retribution
    8. The Guardian
    9. Infamous
    10. Time Untime
    11. Inferno
    12. StyxxLeague TBR
    13. Illusion
    14. Son of No One
    15. Instinct
    16. Dragonbane
  • The League: Nemesis Rising Series
    1. Born of Shadows
    2. Born of Silence
    3. Born of Fury
    4. Born of Defiance
    5. Born of Betrayal

This means that I still need to read 21 books, which in turn means that I am not even half-way through and I have already read 18 books. Yay!

Anyway, these series are way too long to do individual reviews on the books as I finish them. I will do two series reviews, as soon as I finish each of the series.

In total, I have 31 books on my July TBR. This means that if I manage to finish a book every day then I will be able to read all of the books on my list. What do you think? Is it possible? We shall see…

Now it’s your turn…

What books are on your TBR list for this month? Are you participating in any cool Read-a-thons? Have you read any of Sherrilyn Kenyon’s books? How many of her books do you think that it is possible for me to finish before the month is over?

Tell me all about it in the comments below…

4 thoughts on “#AZDiverse Read-a-thon & #AYearAThon & July TBR

  1. WHAT A LIST! That’s a lot of books and they’re all so different and they sounds FABULOUS!
    Luna sounds so good – I can’t wait to hear what you think of it! And lots of Trudi Canavan! I haven’t read any of her work yet but they look wicked. 😀
    Your Throne of Glass cover is gorgeous!! I love how it looks nice and frosty, like a little ice mage was at the photo shoot! ♥
    My cousin reads/read Sherrilyn Kenyon books and loved them for the longest time but I haven’t personally read any of her work yet. I wish you luck in finishing as many of them as you can!
    I’m participating in the #AZDiverse readathon as well, so I’ll see you on Twitter this weekend! 😀

    Like

    • Wow! I don’t know in what to reply first, so I will simply say thank you for stopping by and commenting 😀 I hope that you have a great time during the Read-a-thon and feel free to leave a link so that I can see what you are reading 🙂

      Like

  2. So glad you’re taking part in the readathon! Luna sounds amazing, I need to add that one to my TBR!
    But.. CAN I FANGIRL ABOUT TRUDI CANAVAN NOW?! I loved the Black Magician trilogy so much! I hope you enjoy the next trilogy too! I feel like it might break my heart because of all the characters who *won’t* be in it!

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

