How to Add Cupcakes Rating In Your Blog Posts

For a long while,  have had to use words for my ratings. For example,

Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

From the very start, what I had wanted to do was to use star ratings. However, since I am using the Free Plan for my blog at the moment, the star rating widget is not available.

I searched and searched, but I couldn’t find any other solution.

Until the idea struck me.

I had found several reviews on other blogs, in which instead of star ratings, they used heart/coffee mugs/other rating systems. I am not sure but I think they are still using some kind of widget, but even if they are I don’t think I could use it on my blog.

So how do I get a cool rating system for my blog? Photoshop.

Step 1: Firstly, I decided that I wanted to have a cupcake rating.

Step 2: Then, I found some cupcake pictures that I liked.

Step 3: Here is where I used my mad Photoshop skills. In fact, my Photoshop skills are so mad, that I had to give up and use PicMonkey to make a collage out of the five different images. I put all of the images one next to the other in the order that I liked the best and played with each of their sizes until they all looked as I wanted them.PicMonkey Collage

Step 4: This where my mad Photoshop skills really come in. Since my five “star” rating was already done, I used it as a base to create the rest of the ratings. For the 4.5 rating I used a very complicated method, that I am not sure you will understand, but I will try to explain it as simply as possible. I used the eraser and erased half of the last cupcake. I saved the image as a separate file and continued on with my hard work. 4.5 star ratingThe 4 “star” rating was a little trickier to create. I used the crop tool and cut out the remaining fifth cupcake. 4 star ratingAgain I saved the image and continued on partially erasing cupcakes for the half ratings and cropping out cupcakes for the rest going from the highest rating to the lowest. Every time I was done with a rating I saved it as a new image.2.5 star rating

Step 5: Instead of using a widget, I simply have to add the correct image in the place where I would have normally added the rating.

That’s it guys. It did take me some time to figure out how to create the images for each rating. Mostly, because when I’m saying I have mad Photoshop skills, I mean that I have absolutely no idea how to use Photoshop at all. However, once I had created the 5 cupcake collage it was very easy to do the rest. Also, I don’t think that you absolutely need Photoshop to do this. It is possible that other software would work just as well.

I hope this post has been helpful to any new blogger who wants to add ratings on their blog and cannot figure out how. If you know a better or easier way to do this then please tell me in the comments below, or write a post about it on your blog and leave a link in the comments, so that I can check it out.

Now it’s your turn…

Did you find this post helpful? What do you think of my cupcake rating? What do you think of my method for its creation? Do you know of any other way to add a rating method in your blog posts? What rating method do you use on your blog? But most importantly: How awed are you by my mad Photoshop skills?

Tell me all about it in the comments below…

Leave a Reply

