#AZDiverse Read-a-thon Wrap Up

This is the last day of the #AZDiverse Read-a-thon. The Read-a-thon is hosted by Annika at Hidding Books and Ezrah at I Heart Romance & YA and its theme is diverse literature. You can check out their blogs for more information about it. Also, I have a TBR post for the Read-a-thon, so you can go on ahead and read that as well.

So, now let’s see how I did.

remote.jpgNumber 1: My first goal was to finish Demons Don’t Have Names by Chrysiida Dimoulidou. I didn’t think that this one had anything to do with diverse literature, it looked like any other Mystery/Crime book. I was sooo wrong. There is a lot of diversity in this novel and I really liked the author’s approach to the subject. I posted a review on it yesterday. So, Demons Don’t Have Names was a nice surprise (when talking about how it fit in the Read-a-thon theme).

Thanasis Vergis loses the earth beneath his feet when, in May 1972, his thirteen-year-old daughter Drosia drowns in the river outside their village. Her body will not be found, only her shoes and jacket. Almost a year later another girl from the neighboring village mysteriously disappears. Rumors say she eloped with someone who was madly in love with her. A few months later, another girl from the first village disappears with no reason or trace on the day of her birthday. One drowning and two disappearances in the same area cause many questions to arise between both the villagers and the Police, who are looking everywhere for the girls and can’t find any answers. The village is now considered cursed and a cloud of fear lies above the residents’ heads.

Twenty years after after Drosia’s death, a fifteen-year-old girl is found drowned in the same river. The curse strikes once again. And along with this case the Police will re-open three forgotten files. That is when the demons awaken. Because this time, someone will talk and they will reveal truths that no one wants to believe. What happened to those girls who disappeared? Where did they go? Where are they now?

Demons have no names. But they are present and they choose who to torture…

24910156Number 2: The second book I wanted to read was another one by Chrysiida Dimoulidou called The Tears of God. I haven’t finished that one yet, but I’ve only got another 120 pages or so, so I will probably finish it tonight. So far I’m liking it and I will have the review on it posted this week (probably tomorrow).

They say that God weeps every time he sees us whores. He weeps in shame, since we have none left. But if God weeps, then Death owes us!

It is the 1950s. Over the wounds of a Greece that is still bleeding from the war, in neighborhood in Piraeus, the famous Troumpa, among the smoke of hand-rolled cigarettes and cheap alcohol, love leaves on the bodies of women its frayed dreams and a hope that life is magical and beautiful. Day and night prostitutes stroll the narrow streets selling their bodies for very little money. A few steps farther their supposed protectors lurk like vultures ready to snatch their prey, selling them promises of a better future made of glitter and angels. Each of these women has a different story to tell, that might have begun from a rich house or even a marriage, an engagement, a great love. I was one of these women myself, going by the name of Madame Jeny, I started as a simple prostitute and ended up owning the most famous brothel in Troumpa.

No, life has not been easy for me. There have been no easy paths to follow. One night of my life was your entire life… This night I will tell you. Now, in my eighties, and for many years, I have been Eugenia Frankou, a respectable woman, who is highly regarded by her family and social circle. Nobody has ever learned who I really was. Why am I doing this now? Because to me Death has yet to repay his debt…

coverNumber 3: The last book I was hoping to read during this Read-a-thon was Luna by Julie Anne Peters. I don’t know if I will have enough time to pick this one up tonight. To be honest, I took my time reading The Tears of God, because I wanted to savor it, and that is why I don’t have enough time now to read Luna. I will probably read it for the #AYearAThon, which officially started yesterday and I’ve combined it with the #AZDiverse Read-a-thon.

Regan’s brother Liam can’t stand the person he is during the day. Like the moon from whom Liam has chosen his female namesake, his true self, Luna, only reveals herself at night. In the secrecy of his basement bedroom Liam transforms himself into the beautiful girl he longs to be, with help from his sister’s clothes and makeup. Now, everything is about to change-Luna is preparing to emerge from her cocoon. But are Liam’s family and friends ready to welcome Luna into their lives? Compelling and provocative, this is an unforgettable novel about a transgender teen’s struggle for self-identity and acceptance.

Generally, I think I did pretty well, considering that the first two books are more than a thousand pages in total.

Now it’s your turn…

Did you participate in the #AZDiverse Read-a-thon? Are you participating in the #AYearAThon?  What books are you currently reading? Have you read Luna? What other diverse books would you recommend for me to read?

Leave a Reply

