10 + 1 Reasons To Read Midnight Marked

I have tried. I have done my best. But I have been staring at my laptop for hours and I haven’t been able to write a review for Midnight Marked. So, I thought to do something different and since I was going to tell you to definitely read Midnight Marked anyway. Then, at least let me give you 10 + 1 reasons to do it.

20556439Title: Midnight Marked

Author: Chloe Neill

Series: Chicagoland Vampires #12

Pages: 361

Summary: As the Chicagoland Vampires series continues, Merit and Ethan find themselves in a deadly game of cat-and-mouse, where winning may require the ultimate sacrifice…

A vampire’s grudges don’t stay dead long…

Merit is one of Chicago’s most skilled vampire warriors; these days, she doesn’t scare easily. But she and Master vampire Ethan have made a new and powerful enemy, and he won’t give up until he owns the Windy City.

With his last plan thwarted, he’s more determined than ever to watch Cadogan burn. Ethan has put the House’s vampires on high alert, but their enemy will stop at nothing, including pitting vampire against vampire…

In this deadly game of cat-and-mouse, the stakes are life or death—and winning might mean sacrificing everything…

Did you read the summary are you’re still wondering why you should read Midnight Marked? Well, then let me tell you… But before that, I have reviewed a few of the other books in this series: Some Girls Bite, Friday Night Bites, Twice Bitten. I wanted to review each book separately, but there are too many in the series and I felt like I was simply repeating myself. However, I am planning to do a collective review of the entire series (& the novellas) as soon as I’ve read all of the books.

Reason #1: Ethan Sullivan

Yes, I know that Ethan is not a new character in this series. He’s been present from the first page of the first book. But it is not cheating! Because Darth Sullivan is a great reason to read not just the first twelve books of a series but to continue on and read another twelve, if he is in them. I can honestly say that he is one of my favorite male characters and Chloe Neill has done a great job in his creation. Ethan has a very complex personality. He is stubborn and arrogant and dominating and all in all an alpha male vampire but he is also sweet and romantic and cute and handsome. Need I say more?

Reason #2: Merit

Merit is a very strong female protagonist. She is independent and is not afraid to voice her opinion. She is a leader and secure enough to allow herself to be led. But still she refuses to do anything that goes against her moral code and her personal sense of right and wrong. She doesn’t allow people to intimidate her and force her to act in ways she considers wrong. She takes care of her people and protects the ones she loves. And she also vulnerable and is not afraid to show that vulnerability to the people she trusts to be there for her. In a few words she is AWESOME!

Reason #3: Alchemy

Yes, you read that right. There is alchemy involved in this book. That is not a spoiler. It is an incentive. And this time people are doing stuff that are way more sinister than simply turning lead into gold. Are you intrigued yet?

Reason #4: Mysterious mystery

There is an extra dose of mystery in this part of the Chicagoland Vampires Series. Things happen that not even I, who not too long ago had been training you on finding out the ending of a book, was not able to predict. And I am always very thorough in my research…

Reason #5: The Suspense & ending

…which leads me to this next reason. The plot was constructed and written in such a way that there was a constant sense of mystery and suspense surrounding it. I was always wondering what was going to happen. And I was generously rewarded for my patience with an amazing ending.

Reason #6: Trying to bring down a crime lord

Who is cunning and a very good strategist. Until now he has escaped prosecution. Will he be allowed to do it for much longer? Will he be stopped? Will his accomplishes be found and punished? Or not? And what will he come up with in the meantime? Want to find out? Well, then go on and read the book 😉

Reason #7: Berna

And yes, I know that I am once more using a character as a reason. But if you know her then you’ve got to admit that Berna IS awesome. She barely uses more than a few words when and if she speaks. But still she has managed to earn the respect of the people around her. No one dares say no to Berna. But more than that she is strong and caring and if I didn’t have a mother already then I would gladly allow Berna to adopt me. She is a no-nonsense person and I love that about her as well.

Reason #8: Shifter & Vampire Drama

Which relates to several parts of the plot. I, of course, am not going to reveal any of them. Feel free to read the book to learn about all of them. Drama is always interesting, but Vampire & Shifter drama (or is it Vampire vs. Shifter? You find out) take the plot to another level. But just to prove that I am not a cruel person I will tell you that there is also Alpha vs. Alpha drama. There. That will satisfy your curiosity…or maybe not… *evil laughter*

Reason #9: Prophecies that you can’t wait to see if they are going to happen or not and how

If you don’t know what I am talking about, then go read the previous 11 books, you sacrilegious person! There are things that have been prophesied and have yet to happen. Is it time for them to do so, or will you have to wait until April? And if you know the prophecies I’m talking about, then I’m sure that you can’t wait to find out about them either.

Reason #10: Magical battle

 When? Where? Who is involved? What is the battle about? Who is going to win? What is going to happen? Are any of these questions on your mind right now? Then *smiles evilly* read the book. I’m not giving away any spoilers… 😀

Reason #11: People handling katanas masterfully

If you are not yet convinced. If the magical battle and all the reasons above it didn’t do it fo you. Then let me remind you that the Chicagoland vampires are katana owners. And they all know how to use them very well.

So, there is a little bit for every taste in this book. Murder, mystery, suspense, romance, crime lords, drama, supernaturals, magical and non-magical battles,… What else could any book need?PicMonkey Collage

0089-300x200

Photo by Dana Damewood

About the author:

Chloe Neill is the New York Times and USA Today bestselling author of the Devil’s Isle, Chicagoland Vampires, and Dark Elite series. She was born and raised in the South, but now makes her home in the Midwest. When not writing, she bakes, knits, Pins, and scours the Internet for good recipes and great graphic design. Chloe also maintains her sanity by spending time with her boys–her favorite landscape photographer/husband and their dogs, Baxter and Scout. (Both she and the photographer understand the dogs are in charge.)

 

Now it’s your turn…

Did you like this post? Have you read Midnight Marked? Have you read any of the books in the Chicagoland Vampires Series? What are your thoughts on them? And if not, then would you like to read them?

Tell me all about it in the comments below…

 

Leave a Reply

