Huge Unhaul

Over the past week or so I have been going over the books on my shelves and I have decided to get rid of a lot of them. This need to part with some of my books was inspired by exlibris on Youtube, who has been even more serious than me in her attempts to minimize her book collection.

Another reason for my need to get rid of books was that I have been feeling as if they were weighing me down. I have paid quite a bit of money in the acquisition of all these books, but either I am not planning to re-read them, or I am not going to read them any time in the near future. Also, I had paid a lot of money for them and it felt like I was wasting that money by not reading the books I’d bought with it. Generally, the pressure I felt to read them was more than my desire to do so. Now that my TBR has been reduced to less than 50 books, I feel a lot better than before.

Of course, I am waiting on a few more books that will be arriving in September, but I don’t think it will be that long until I read all of them. They are all books I have wanted to buy for a very long time.

Books I gave to my sister:

1. Twilight by Stephenie Meyer and New Moon by Stephenie Meyer

When the Twilight movie had first come out for some reason I had loved these books. I had thought that they were the best piece of literature that I had ever read. Needless to say, I have thankfully divested myself of this delusion. Unfortunately, I did so after I’d read all four books too many times to count. And since I am never planning to re-read either of them, I see no reason in keeping them. So I gave them to my sister, who still seems to be mysteriously fascinated by that series.

2. Uglies, Pretties and Specials by Scott Westerfeld

It’s been close to six years since I bought the first book in this series and I have yet to open it and read it. After six years, I doubt that I will suddenly get the irresistible urge to read any of them.

Books I am returning to my parents’ bookshelves:

1. The Castle and The Trial by Franz Kafka

I really do want to read Kafka sometime, but these two books have been sitting on my shelves for months and I have never felt the need to pick them up and read them. If I change my mind in the future, I can always get them back from my parents’ bookshelves, but I don’t think I will.

b939762. Flowers in the Rain by Rosamunde Pilcher

Just like in the case of Kafka, I really do want to read Pilcher’s books sometime. But it is not this book that has caught my attention. I got this one from my mother just in case I loved Under Gemini and wanted to read it, but all it’s been doing is to take up space on my shelves and make me feel like I have to read it. So I’m returning it to my mother’s shelves until—if ever—I decide to read it.

3. Το Κόκκινο Σπίτι (The Red House) by Alkyoni Papadaki9789602192115-200-0139600

Alkyoni Papadaki is considered a very good Greek author. So when I found this book of hers on our shelves, I decided it was my chance to read something by her and see if the rumors are right. But as you could see from my Greek Fiction on my TBR post, it’s one of the books that I was the least interested in. I’m not saying that the synopsis hasn’t caught my interest, but I have other books on my TBR that I am a lot more interested in reading than this one.

Books I am giving away to the library:

I still remember the look on the librarian’s face when I last donated books to my local library. I am hoping that it will be the same librarian today. If she is, I can’t wait to see her reaction this time. (I’ve got a lot more books to donate then last time.)

1. Fallen, Torment, Fallen in Love & Rapture by Lauren Kate

When I read the first book in the Fallen series, I really liked it. But as the story went on, I started to have several problems with it. Of course, the most important of these problem was the religious part. All the mentions of God and the Devil and of Christianity managed to turn me off entirely of this series. Generally, I don’t mind reading books when the characters are religious. But if they turn out to be too religious then I will no doubt not like that book. Likewise, when an author writes a book in which the existence of God is taken for granted and the entire premise is how to save paradise from the Evil Devil who’s trying to sabotage it, it is 99% certain that I will hate it. It will have to be an extraordinarily extraordinary book for me to like it.

2. Everneath by Brodi Ashton9413044

This book was mostly a cover buy. I simply love the bottom of this dress. But other than that I don’t think I will ever read it. So I’m giving it away to the library for someone else to read it.

3. Tithe & Ironside by Holly Black

When I first bought these two books, I was really excited about them. I thought that there was no doubt I was going to love them. Up until I got home and realized that instead of the first two books in the trilogy I had gotten the first and third book in the trilogy. But of course that by itself wasn’t the real problem. I could have simply bought the second book as soon as I had finished the first one. The real problem was that I really didn’t like the first book. In fact I DNF’ed it. In the past six years these two books have been sitting on my TBR waiting for me to decide to give them a second chance. Yeah, I think that six years later I have finally realized that it’s probably never going to happen.

4. Marked & Betrayed by P.C. & Kristin Cast

Like I said last week in my Mathematics Book Tag post this series should have been much much MUCH shorter. I don’t think that I am ever going to re-read it again and I don’t think there is a reason for me to keep books in my room that I don’t absolutely love.

5. The Magician’s Nephew & The Last Battle by C.S. Lewis

I really like the Chronicles of Narnia, but I don’t think I am ever going to buy the other five books in the series and read them. So I am giving these two books away and if I ever decide that I want to read the entire series, I will buy a box-set or a bind-up so that I can have all of the books without worrying about ordering mismatched editions.

6. Spells by Aprilynne Pike

15704139

When I bought this book, I knew it was part of a series. What I didn’t know was that it was the second book in the series. Since I don’t think I will ever buy the first one, I don’t think there is any point in keeping the second.

7. Heart of Darkness by Joseph Conrad & The Picture of Dorian Gray by Oscar Wilde

The reason I’m giving both of these books away is the same:

I CANNOT understand a SINGLE sentence in them!!!

And that is assuming that Joseph Conrad actually knew the concept of the full stop. You know, that little dot we use to mark the end of a sentence? Well, my guess is that this pest of a dot and Joseph Conrad had gotten into a fight in high school and ever since that happened they’d stopped speaking to each other.

As for Oscar Wilde… I’ve got no words. I will never understand why my mother loves this book so much! That would imply she was actually able to understand what Wilde was talking about. Oh well, scratch that. We are talking about my mother, so she probably loves it so much BECAUSE she didn’t understand a word. Though, to be fair, she read it in Greek and I read it in English.

8. The Art of War by Sun Tzu9789604362219-1000-0381767

I really like this book. What I don’t like is the edition that I own. I much prefer my father’s edition and I am planning to hunt it down, find out the publisher and all the other information I need and order one for myself. But this one has to go.

9. The Fault In Our Stars by John Green

11870085

Since honesty is a theme today, I will admit my dark secret. I bought The Fault In Our Stars because of the hype. However after I’d bought it and started reading it, I quickly realized that it was not a good choice for me. Sorry to all the John Green fans out there, but that is the truth.

10. The Family Reunion by T.S. Eliot926694

Again, T.S. Eliot is an author that I really do want to read sometime, but this is not the right choice for me. So I’m getting rid of it.

11. Δοκίμια για τα Θέματα της Έκθεσης της Β’ Λυκείου by A. Kolokotsas & M. Dimopoulosdokimia

I bought this book thinking that m cousin it would help my cousin with her schoolwork and stuff. But she wasn’t very interested in reading it. She didn’t even bother to pick it up and read the summary in the back. I knew that this was probably what she would do, but since I found in my local library’s book bazaar for so cheap, I didn’t mind that much that she didn’t read it. Now, I’m taking it back to the library. If they don’t want to keep it, then they can put it in their next book bazaar and earn some more money for the library.

12. Twelfth Night & A Midsummer Night’s Dream by William Shakespeare

I have always thought of Shakespeare’s works as slightly ridiculous. Mostly because he has a habit of killing off as many characters as possible in each of his plays. But I still want to read some of them (except for Romeo & Juliet which is THE most overhyped story in the history of mankind, in my opinion) just so I can have an honest opinion about them. The problem is that I find it really hard to understand Shakespeare in English. So, I have decided to part with my English editions of Shakespeare’s plays and get Greek translations from the library.

13. Eleven Minutes by Paulo Coelho18249233

Another book I got from the library’s book bazaar. My mother read it and she said it wasn’t good at all and especially in comparison to the rest of Coelho’s books. After reading the summary at the back, I have to agree with her that it is probably something that I won’t like.

These are all the books I am removing from my bookshelves. I am also thinking of getting rid of A Game of Thrones, A Clash of Kings & A Storm of Swords by George R.R. Martin, but I don’t think I am ready to do that yet. I will probably keep them for another month or so, before taking them to the library. That will bring the total number of books I’m “purging” to 33, which is about 1/5 of the total number of books I currently own.

That was it for this post. Come back tomorrow for my Top 5 Wednesday post. Also, on Thursday I’m going to post my August book haul and on Friday I’m planning to post my second original tag, as I promised you in last week’s post.

Now it’s your turn…

Did you like this post? Would you like me to do some more unhaul posts in the future? Have you read any of the books I am giving away? Did you like them? Which books are you unhauling?

Tell me all about it in the comments below…

Leave a Reply

