Book Haul August 2016

Another month just passed and September has come along with my final exams. Tomorrow I’m taking my first exam for the month. Wish me luck everybody 🙂 And also, tomorrow I’m going to get the results of the IELTS examination. I’m so nervous! I thought that the exam was way too easy, which can mean only one of two things: 1. it was indeed easy or 2. I did really bad. Go on, praise my optimistic view on things and then come commiserate with me until I get the results.

But all of that is for tomorrow, today let’s talk about the books I got in August…

21999961. Wicked Lovely by Melissa Marr

This book has been out forever. However, I accidentally bought Darkest Mercy instead of this one a few years ago thinking that it was the first. Well, as it turned out Darkest Mercy is not the first, oops! After I discovered that I kept waiting until i could get matching copies of the rest of the books, but I finally decided to buy at least the first one, read it and of I like it I’ll buy the rest.

Rule #3: Don’t stare at invisible faeries.

Aislinn has always seen faeries. Powerful and dangerous, they walk hidden in mortal world. Aislinn fears their cruelty—especially if they learn of her Sight—and wishes she were as blind to their presence as other teens.

Rule #2: Don’t speak to invisible faeries.

Now faeries are stalking her. One of them, Keenan, who is equal parts terrifying and alluring, is trying to talk to her, asking questions Aislinn is afraid to answer.

Rule #1: Don’t ever attract their attention.

But it’s too late. Keenan is the Summer King who has sought his queen for nine centuries. Without her, summer itself will perish. He is determined that Aislinn will become the Summer Queen at any cost—regardless of her plans or desires.

Suddenly none of the rules that have kept Aislinn safe are working anymore, and everything is on the line: her freedom; her best friend, Seth; her life; everything.

Faerie intrigue, mortal love, and the clash of ancient rules and modern expectations swirl together in Melissa Marr’s stunning 21st century faery tale.

cover2. Transcendence by Shay Savage

This is a book I first found out from Little Book Owl‘s channel and I immediately got the ebook. After the paperback came out, I wanted to wait a little until the price was reduced a little. However, two years later the price is still just as high as it was before. So I got tired of waiting and decided to buy it.

It’s said that women and men are from two different planets when it comes to communication, but how can they overcome the obstacles of prehistoric times when one of them simply doesn’t have the ability to comprehend language?

Ehd’s a caveman living on his own in a harsh wilderness. He’s strong and intelligent, but completely alone. When he finds a beautiful young woman in his pit trap, it’s obvious to him that she is meant to be his mate. He doesn’t know where she came from; she’s wearing some pretty odd clothing, and she makes a lot of noises with her mouth that give him a headache. Still, he’s determined to fulfill his purpose in life – provide for her, protect her, and put a baby in her.

Elizabeth doesn’t know where she is or exactly how she got there. She’s confused and distressed by her predicament, and there’s a caveman hauling her back to his cavehome. She’s not at all interested in Ehd’s primitive advances, and she just can’t seem to get him to listen. No matter what she tries, getting her point across to this primitive, but beautiful, man is a constant – and often hilarious – struggle.

With only each other for company, they must rely on one another to fight the dangers of the wild and prepare for the winter months. As they struggle to coexist, theirs becomes a love story that transcends language and time.

And that was it. These are all the books I got this month. In fact, they are books I bought in July that simply arrived in August.

Now it’s you turn…

What books did you get in August? Have you read either of the books I mentioned? Did you like them? Would you like to read them?

Tell me all about it in the comments below…

2 thoughts on “Book Haul August 2016

  1. Oh I want to read the Wicked Lovely series at some point! But like I say that for 3839 million series hahah. BUT I WILL GET TO THEM ALL SOMEDAY. *goes on a search for immortality* I did collect a fair few books in August, which is very exciting. 😀 I finally got a copy of A Darker Shade of Magic and also bought This Savage Song. So the Schwab appreciation is strong with me for August.😂

    Like

Leave a Reply

