T5W: Books You Will Never Read

It’s been a while since I did a Top 5 Wednesday post. But I wanted to do this week’s post. Of course, I wanted to do it earlier, but I couldn’t find some free time to write it until now. The theme is Books I Will Never Read. You can see the Complete List of Wednesday-ers on the Goodreads group page.

29069989.jpgNumber 1: Harry Potter and the Cursed Child by J.K. Rowling, John Tiffany & Jack Thorne

I’ve read all of the original Harry Potter books and I loved them. But I am not going to read the 8th book for several reasons. Firstly, I’ve read many reviews by people who have read it and none of them were wowed by it. Secondly, I think that there is too much hype around it just because it’s a Harry Potter book and not enough proof that it in itself is a good book. And lastly, I think that Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows completed the Harry Potter series for me and anything more would be too much.

6752378Number 2: City of Fallen Angels by Cassandra Claire

There are too many things wrong with this series. I honestly cannot understand why so many people love it as much as they do. I have only read the first three books and it was way too much for me. And apart from that, after the third I had really thought that there would be no more books, that the series was complete. Until the fourth book was released and I was like “What?!!! Wasn’t that a trilogy?” and my second thought: “Do I have to read the fourth book now?” The answer was no and it has remained no.

5364Number 3: Dragonfly in Amber by Diana Gabaldon

I will be short. You can ask me to cut my veins and jump off a cliff, but please PLEASE don’t ask me to read this book. I beg you!

6644117Number 4: The Iron Fey Series by Julie Kagawa

I have tried and tried and tried to read this series. But every time I said that I would read it I fell into a reading slump. It seems like someone doesn’t want me to read this series and is taking extreme measures (reading slumps) to make sure that I don’t.

4611704Number 5: Sophie’s World by Jostein Gaarder

My father loved this book. I didn’t want to read it. So, he tried to “force-feed” it to me. I will never read this book in my life ever. That is why the number one advice I have for any parent who wants to make their child read more is to not make them do it but to make smartly phrased suggestions. Because when someone is so insistent that you should do something, chances are that you will do everything you can to avoid it.

But most of all, Sophia (Sophie) means wisdom in Greek. In fact, the title translates to The World of Wisdom. You don’t make a 12-year-old read a book with that title. And to make matters worse the subtitle said: “A Novel on the History of Philosophy”. You definitely can’t make a 12-year-old read that. It might be the best book I could have never read, but now I never will.

And that is it for this Top 5 Wednesday post.

Now it’s your turn…

What are the top 5 books that you will never read? What are some of the reasons that would make you not want to read a book? Are you participating in this week’s Top 5 Wednesday?

Tell me all about it in the comments below…

9 thoughts on “T5W: Books You Will Never Read

  1. I understand your thoughts on HP & the Cursed Child. I feel like the series was completed with Deathly Hallows as well. I will still give it a try and see what I think. But honestly, I think I will be treating this more like… fanfiction. 😀 I won’t regard it as #8 in the series or as an official addition to it. Just doesn’t feel right.

    Like

  2. Love this! I TOTALLY agree with your choice about City of.. Whatever. It gets SO BORING. I force-finished the last one, and I will never get back those 712 pages of my life 😂 And I feel you with Harry Potter too. Now, I am not really a HP fan, but I am obsessed with The Hunger Games and if someone told me there was going to be a play-turned-book that was going to mess with my babies… NO THANK YOU. And my dad made me read David Copperfield when I was about 10, so I feel you- now I have an extra special hatred of all things Dickens and will NEVER touch them with a 10 foot pole. Parents, stahhhp!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yeah, at first it felt weird that I didn’t like the Mortal Instruments series when I everyone around them loved. Now, it just feels good to have other people understand what I’m talking about. So thank you 🙂

      Like

  3. I don’t know if it’s just me, but I feel like a lot of people are mad that the Cursed Child, isn’t exactly like the other Harry Potter books. If I’m correct, JK Rowling didn’t even right it…and isn’t it based on a play?

    My T5W! 😀

    Like

    • I’m not mad. I’m not saying that I don’t like the book or that I have anything against it. It’s just that the HP world was completed with the ending of the seventh book for me. I just don’t feel the need to read an eighth book in this series. I think that if it had been advertised as a play set in the HP world a few years after the ending of the HP series, it would have been okay. I think that it was the fact that it was advertised as HP #8 that has turned so many potential fans against it.
      Anyway, I’ll go check out your T5W post. Thanks for stopping by 🙂

      Like

      • My sister is the same way! She LOVED the series, but she said she is done. She will never read The Cursed Child.

        Yep, I think the fact that it was misleading made everyone upset.

        Liked by 1 person

  4. I love Harry Potter just as much as everybody else, but I don’t want to see more Potter books. I’ll never read The Cursed Child (and it’s so expensive, why?!!), it’s not even written by Rowling. Please just let HP series alone. hahaha

    Great post 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

