My IELTS results and my plans for the future (the Dutch battle)

I know. I know. Today I was supposed to do another very exciting original book tag. But moments before actually posting it, I decided to do a search for it. You know what? My original tag is not original! Someone else had already created it and their questions were almost exactly the same as mine! As you can see there is no point in doing an original tag that has already been created. So, instead of that I decided to share some excitings news with you.

I got my IELTS results today!

Now let’s start from the beginning. On August 20th I took the IELTS Academic test as I’ve told you in my Blog Post That Did Not Want to Be Posted. Today I got the results and I PASSED! No. I did not just pass. I did AWESOME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I shouldn’t have worried as much in yesterday’s book haul post after all.

My aim was to get at least 7.5 out of in every part of the test (that is Listening, Reading, Writing and Speaking). While I didn’t reach that goal, I have no reason to complain. My results were as follows:

  • Listening: 8.5/9
  • Reading: 9/9
  • Writing: 7/9
  • Listening: 7.5/9

Average: 8/9

The-Office

Happy dancing

As you can see there is a pesky 7 in there messing with the completion of my goal, but honestly I don’t care that much about it.

But why did I take the IELTS test in the first place?

Especially since I already have a Proficiency degree in English. Well, next year I am going to leave Greece to study abroad. To be exact, I want to study in the UK and preferably in Scotland. However, my English tutor, who’s going to help me with the applications and everything, told me that there are several other countries that I should consider as well. Since the Brexit and everything I am starting to think about it very seriously. We will see.

There is one thing for sure. I won’t be going to Holland. Now, don’t get me wrong. I have nothing against the Dutch. The reason that I don’t want to go has nothing to do with the country. This case is actually very similar to what I was talking about on Wednesday’s post about why I am never going to read Sophie’s World.

A few years ago, my mother visited Amsterdam with a distant relative of ours, whose son was studying Mathematics there. After they both came back, my mother had already decided that as soon as I finished University here in Greece, I would be going to Amsterdam for a postgraduate degree. She has a really bad habit of doing things like that. She likes to make decisions about my life without taking my opinion under consideration.

Of course, when she informed me of her decision, I told her NO. I wasn’t going to base a decision about my future on the fact that my mother liked Amsterdam while travelling there as a tourist! And I especially didn’t like the fact that when I informed her that I didn’t want to go to Amsterdam for a postgraduates she got enraged!!!

Ever since then she still tries to “persuade” me that Holland is “the best country for a mathematician to go to”. I am soooo sick of this behavior. I am sick of her assumptions about me that have in truth nothing to do with me.

I love her. But every time she does or says things like that she is unknowingly pushing me away from her instead of helping me.

The real problem is that we are two completely different personalities and because of that she doesn’t understand the way I think. But even though she doesn’t understand it, she still judges my decisions on what she thinks is right or wrong, on what she thinks is most important. And it is exhausting. This is why I’m not going to Holland. EVER! I’m sorry to all the Dutch people out there. If you decide to come to my country, I will give you the warmest welcome ever, but do not ever ask me to come to your country. I won’t.

That was all I had to share with you for today.

Now it’s your turn…

What are your plans for the future? Are you studying at a University? If yes, what subject? What are your goals for the future?

Tell me all about it in the comments below…

Leave a Reply

