Review: Courage

Nine days have passed since my last blog post, but I actually felt like I hadn’t posted for at least two weeks. Anyway, I am back with a book review. I should really post more book reviews or at lest I should try. I am currently late for two book reviews I’ve been meaning to write this month. But for now, let’s focus on this one…

coverTitle: Courage

Author: Lena North

Series: The Dreughan

Pages: 211

Goodreads | Amazon

Summary: Vilda lives in a muddy little corner of the world, in the time of the war that never ends. The war between the Waterfolk and the Dreughan. She is different where conformity is important, break rules in a world where punishments are given freely, and she pays for it. If it weren’t for her best friend Troy, she would have no one.

Then Vilda saves the life of a dragon and shortly after that, things are spiraling out of control. The Waterfolk attack, searching for an unclaimed girl, and Vilda has to escape through the night together with Troy and the only other girl the Waterfolk could be looking for – their former best friend, Susannah.

Soon, they find themselves in Dragoncourt, the stronghold of the Dreughan, where a prophecy predicts that the war will finally come to an end when the beautiful Dreughan prince has claimed another royal from the end of the world.

It seems as if Vilda is the girl in the prophecy, and she might be, but she also has a strong link to a young man with black hair and eyes as blue as the summer skies – the prince’s cousin, Drake…

Review:

I honestly don’t know where to start this review. I guess I’ll start by saying that I liked this book. I love reading books about dragons and since I am going to write my own dragon book during NaNoWriMo, I got some really good ideas from it.

The plot was very interesting. I really enjoyed reading about the protagonist’s adventure and her journey of self-discovery. Things happened that I hadn’t predicted and I was constantly wondering what was going to happen next. When it comes to the romance part of the story, I loved how it was written! I really liked that it wasn’t a dragged out affair, where the heroine cannot make up her mind.

In fact, I really liked how strong and independent Vilda was. And not just Vilda, but all of the characters in the book. They were all different and they all had some unique characteristic that made them interesting.

Moving on, I want to also make a couple of negative comments. Firstly, I wanted to point out that there were several mistakes in the book. It wasn’t typos, not exactly. They were syntactical errors. Words that were misplaced in the sentences as if the author made that mistake as she was writing in haste and no one noticed it during the editing process. And the second and last ‘complaint’ I have is that in a couple of cases the dialogues felt just a tiny bit off. What I mean is that in these moments I am talking about, it was a tiny bit obvious that it was a dialogue written in a book instead of just something that the characters were saying. However, it wasn’t something that happened all the time. It was only two or three sentences in the entire book.

Other than those two things I just mentioned, I had no problem while reading Courage. I can’t wait to read Reason and Joy! I really want to find out what happens next in the story. I’m hoping that the next two books will make me laugh and cry just as much as the first one did (and I laughed a lot while reading Courage).

All in all, I liked Courage. It was a very quick and enjoyable book to read and if you like dragon books too, then you should definitely pick it up and read it.

*This was a book I requested in exchange for an honest review. 

4 star rating

Now it’s your turn…

What did you think of this post? Would you like to read Courage? Have you read any other books by Lena North?

Tell me all about it in the comments below…

Leave a Reply

