September Book Haul

At last my finals are over! Now I can get back to my normal schedule. I really didn’t know I had accumulated this many books this month. And to be honest, I would have gotten even more than those, but some of the books I had ordered were taking too long to arrive and so I canceled the order. Now let me show which books I bought this month…

First of all, I want to share some really exciting news with you. A bookshop in the center of Ioannina has just become a Book Bazaar Bookshop that actually has bargain priced books that I am interested in reading. That is a huge progress.

So, I bought two books from there:

1-filosofia1. Philosophy: The Latest Answers to the Oldest Questions by Nicholas Fearn

After the seminar in Bulgaria, I really want to learn more about philosophy. I think that this book will be a very good place to start and I am planning to read it very soon.

Aristotle, Plato, Kant, Wittgenstein…The work of the great philosophers of the past is well known and has been discussed endlessly. “Philosophy: The Latest Answers to the Oldest Questions” is the first book to explain, for the general reader, what today’s philosophers think about what it is to be human. In the search for higher meaning, Nicholas Fearn has consulted some of the world’s most distinguished thinkers, including John Searle, Martha Nussbaum, Bernard Williams and Daniel Dennett (among many others). Variously, they believe that free will and identity are not what they seem; that the difference between good and evil can be a matter of sheer luck; and that, one day, we will all be vegetarians.

2-to-xadi-toy-anemoy2. Το Χάδι του Ανέμου by Joelle Lopinot – Mastrandoni

I have no idea if this was originally written in Greek or not and I don’t know of any translations of this book. From what I understand this is a book about a girl who has been horribly abused and humiliated by her family, who one day meets a famous sculptor and discovers her hidden talent. Seriously, I didn’t get much more from the very short synopsis, but it is a very short book, so I will read it and try to explain it a bit better to you in my review of it.

Η Αυγή μεγάλωσε σε μία βάρβαρη οικογένεια που την κακοποίησε και την ταπείνωσε. Ωστόσο, βρήκε τη δύναμη, το σθένος και μια δίψα για ομορφιά που δεν μπόρεσε καμία ασχήμια να σκοτώσει. Γνωρίζει μια μέρα τυχαία τον Ζακ, ένα διάσημο γλύπτη, και κοντά του ανακαλύπτει το ταλέντο της. Τι κρύβεται όμως πίσω από το μίσος των γονιών της; Γιατί της είναι απαγορευμένη η αγάπη;

Σε κάθε της βιβλίο η Ζοέλ Λοπινό-Μαστραντώνη θίγει ένα καυτό κοινωνικό θέμα, αναλύοντας το ψυχολογικό υπόβαθρο των ηρώων της. Ένα συναρπαστικό μυθιστόρημα με αναπάντεχα γυρίσματα που θα σας κόψει την ανάσα ως και την τελευταία του λέξη.

3-magazaki-aytoktonivn3. The Suicide Shop by Jean Teulé

I found this one while I was browsing the book corner in the little shop inside the bus station. It seems like a very funny book and it’s so short that I could probably read it in a few hours.

Has your life been a failure? Let’s make your death a success With the twenty-first century just a distant memory and the world in environmental chaos, many people have lost the will to live. And business is brisk at The Suicide Shop. Run by the Tuvache family for generations, the shop offers an amazing variety of ways to end it all, with something to fit every budget. The Tuvaches go mournfully about their business, taking pride in the morbid service they provide. Until the youngest member of the family threatens to destroy their contented misery by confronting them with something they ve never encountered before: a love of life.

9-the-woman-and-the-ape4. The Woman and the Ape by Peter Høeg

This was gifted to me by my English teacher for passing the IELTS exams. I honestly have no idea what it is about and the summary along with my teacher’s comments make me think that it’s going to be a very weird book, but I am still interested in reading it.

The heroine of this love story is Madelene Burden. Lonely and disillusioned despite her upper-crust London existence, she’s a modern-day sleeping beauty drowsing gently in an alcoholic stupor. But the prince whose kiss brings her to life is not tall, dark, and handsome. He’s a short, dark, 300-pound ape named Erasmus. The victim of a smuggling attempt gone awry, Erasmus is brought to Madelene’s home; her husband, Adam, a distinguished behavioral scientist, believes the ape’s sophisticated intelligence renders him more human than animal. If he is right, Erasmus would be a most lucrative addition to Adam’s new zoo. But Madelene is determined to save Erasmus from a series of inhumane tests that would rob the ape of the very qualities that makes him so un-apelike. Pursuing this goal with all the energy she had previously reserved for her drinking, Madelene’s compassion turns to passion and woman and beast escape and fall in love. But Erasmus has come to England with a purpose that eventually forces the couple to face the world they have sought to flee.Enthralling readers with the same taut prose, enigmatic characters, thrilling suspense, and satirical humor that drove Smilla to the top of bestseller lists across the country, Peter Hoeg offers a daring and imaginative fable that poses searching questions about the nature of romance, freedom and humanity. Above all, it is a love story as erotically charged and emotionally powerful as any you will ever read.

4-raven-boys5. The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater

I have wanted to read this book for such a long time. But I have waited to do so, becauseI wanted to have my own copy of it instead of just an e-copy on my computer. And by the way, isn’t this cover gorgeous?

Even if Blue hadn’t been told her true love would die if she kissed him, she would stay away from boys. Especially the ones from the local private school. Known as Raven Boys, they only mean trouble.
But this is the year that everything will change for Blue.
This is the year that she will be drawn into the strange and sinister world of the Raven Boys. And the year Blue will discover that magic does exist.
This is the year she will fall in love.

209978506. Priestess of the White by Trudi Canavan

As some of you might have realized, Trudi Canavan is one of my favorite authors when it comes to fantasy. I had bought Last of the Wilds, the second book in her Age of the Five Trilogy, more than a year ago thinking it was the first. So, I had read 7 out of the eight books by her that I owned and couldn’t read the eighth because I didn’t own the first book in that series which of course is Priestess of the White. Now I can finally read both of them.

In a land on the brink of peace—watched jealously by a ruthless cult from across the sea and beset by hidden enemies—five extraordinary humans must serve as sword and shield of the Gods.
Auraya is one.

Her heroism saved a village from destruction; now Auraya has been named Priestess of the White. The limits of her unique talents must be tested in order to prove her worthy of the honor and grave responsibility awarded to her. But a perilous road lies ahead, fraught with pitfalls that will challenge the newest servant of the gods. An enduring friendship with a Dreamweaver—a member of an ancient outcast sect of sorcerer-healers—could destroy Auraya’s future. And her destiny has set her in conflict with a powerful and mysterious, black-clad sorcerer with but a single purpose: the total annihilation of the White. And he is not alone. . .

107902777. Rise of Empire by Michael J. Sullivan

This series has been recommended to me by so many people, so when I heard Regan on Youtube talking about it, I remembered the recommendations and decided to get the books and read them.

A PUPPET IS CROWNED. THE TRUE HEIR REMAINS HIDDEN. A ROGUE’S SECRET COULD CHANGE EVERYTHING.

War has come to Melengar and once more Royce and Hadrian are hired to make a desperate gamble and form an alliance with the Nationalists whom are fighting the Imperialists in the south. As the power of the Nyphron Empire grows, so does Royce’s suspicion that the wizard Esrahaddon is using the thieves as pawns in his own grab for power. To find the truth, he must unravel the secret of Hadrian’s past–what he discovers may end their friendship and break Riyria in two.

120385368. Heir of Novron by Michael J. Sullivan

This is a bind up of the 5th and 6th books in The Riyria Revelations series.

A FORCED WEDDING. A DOUBLE EXECUTION. TWO THIEVES HAVE OTHER PLANS.

The New Empire intends to celebrate its victory over the Nationalists with a day that will never be forgotten. On the high holiday of Wintertide, they plan to execute two traitors (Degan Gaunt and the Witch of Melengar) as well as force the Empress into a marriage of their own design. But they didn’t account for Royce and Hadrian finally locating the Heir of Novron—or the pair’s desire to wreak havoc on the New Empire’s carefully crafted scheme.

Heir of Novron is the final volume of The Riyria Revelations and includes “Wintertide” and —available for the first time— the final volume, “Percepliquis.”

246626709. The Broken Eye by Brent Weeks

This is another series that has been recommended to me a lot but I wasn’t sure whether I should buy it or not. Then I watched Regan’s videos about it and decided to actually check the books out to see what they were all about. I have to say that it sounds like an awesome series.

As the old gods awaken, the Chromeria is in a race to find its lost Prism, the only man who may be able to stop catastrophe, Gavin Guile. But Gavin’s enslaved on a galley, and when he finally escapes, he finds himself in less than friendly hands. Without the ability to draft which has defined him . . .

Meanwhile, the Color Prince’s army continues its inexorable advance, having swallowed two of the seven satrapies, they now invade the Blood Forest. Andross Guile, thinking his son Gavin lost, tasks his two grandsons with stopping the advance. Kip and his psychopathic half-brother Zymun will compete for the ultimate prize: who will become the next Prism.

P.S.

I had also ordered The Black Prism, The Blinding Knife and Theft of Swords, but the ordered was going to take too long to arrive (I didn’t even know when it was going to arrive). So I decided to cancel that order and buy them from The Book Depository. It is going to cost me a  little bit more but at least I’ll know that I am definitely going to get my books.

Fun fact (that wasn’t really fun, but I will only allow myself to think of it in that way)

After I watched Regan’s videos and decided to buy these last three books, I went to her video about them and told her about it and thanking her for the recommendation. After all she was the one who drew my attention on these specific books when I was looking for recommendations of fantasy books because I wanted to buy some more-wait for it- *gasp* fantasy books. A few days later some random person responds to my comment by calling me stupid for buying sequels in a series when I have not read the previous books in it. I mean seriously, why would someone who doesn’t even know me think that they are qualified to tell me where and how I should spend my money? I don’t get it! For all he/she knows I could be a rich author who likes to support other authors by buying their books and never reading them. I could have an insane monthly book buying budget that allows me to buy all these books and not care about if I like them or not. Or I could be a library manager who decided to buy all these books for my library. Why should a stranger who knows me by a single comment I have written on the internet think they can question my money spending decisions?

Anyway, these were all the books I got in September. I hope you enjoyed this blog post.

Now it’s your turn…

What books did you buy this month? Have you read any of the books I mentioned? Do you have any other recommendations of huge fantasy books for me? And do you think I am stupid for ordering more than one book in a series at the same time? Have you had any experiences similar to what I have just described?

Tell me all about it in the comments below…

7 thoughts on “September Book Haul

  1. I’m reading The Raven Cycle at the moment and absolutely loving it! Maggie Stiefvater just has such a way with writing worlds, and the one in The Raven Boys is creepy and spooky and perfect for Halloween.

    Like

  2. Great haul! I definitely bought too many books this month but they are books so that isn’t bad right? Have you read Six of Crows? (If not, I highly recommend it!)

    Like

Leave a Reply

