Review: Reason

I have recently reviewed Courage by Lena North and said that I was planning to read the other two books in the trilogy. Not too long after that review, I found out that there were available review copies for the other two books and of course I requested a copy of Reason. However, the awesome people that decide who gets to review these books and who doesn’t sent me both Reason AND Joy. So today I am reviewing Reason, the second book in The Dreughan trilogy.

coverTitle: Reason

Author: Lena North

Series: The Dreughan #2

Pages: 239

Goodreads | Amazon

Summary: Everyone knows that Susannah is a good girl. Beautiful, accomplished, calm and polite. What they don’t know is that she’s also another girl, one who is hot-tempered, brave – and an expert at throwing knives.

The three friends have settled in Dragoncourt and Susannah is happier than she’s ever been. Or she would be, if it wasn’t for a prophecy that predicting that Sannah is bound by fate to Kee, the beautiful Prince of Dragoncourt. The golden one. The only one who acutely dislikes Susannah.

Suddenly life is becoming more and more confusing to Susannah. Kee isn’t who she thought he was, and she starts to realize that maybe she isn’t a settled girl at all anymore.

Then disaster strikes and Sannah has to let go of the good girl. She has to lie and deceive her way straight into Pantano, the stronghold of the Waterfolk, and she’ll have to do bad things in the name of love and fury.

In the end, she has to decide, is the good girl or the wild one? Or can she be both?

Review:

I liked Reason better than Courage. I think it was mostly because the author had already described the basic setting and had started the general plot, so it was easier to read because there weren’t so many things that needed to be explained.

Also, I liked reading about Susannah more than Vilda. Of course, in Courage Sannah was my least favorite of the three (Vilda, Troy, Susannah) and Vilda is still awesome, but while reading Reason I realized that Sannah is more like me as a personality and it was easier for me to identify with her.

Another thing that I really like about Reason was the humor in it. I really liked how the author used these humorous situations to lighten up the mood especially after scenes that were ‘darker’.

Moreover, I liked the author’s approach while writing the book. What I mean is that she is writing about a war that has lasted for years. She could have exploited the hatred and pain and loss and all the other negative feelings that a war causes and used several plot twists based on that to create her plot. However, she has chosen an approach that promotes understanding for the pain of both sides and for what both sides have been through and has written her characters to have as their main goal the end of the war. I think that this is a very positive approach, especially considering the events that our world is currently facing: the wars, the hatred, the prejudice and all these people who have lost everything and everyone that was important to them. I believe that this is a very good message for an author to send to his/her readers and it is even better in this case since this trilogy was written for a young adult audience.

Of course, the fact that it is a young adult novel means that it was written for people a bit younger than me. But, fist of all, I didn’t let that fact affect my review and, secondly, it didn’t hardly affected me at all. I am only mentioning it in case some of you really do mind. I wouldn’t to leave anything important out of my review.

PicMonkey Collage

Aaaaand that was my review of Reason by Lena North. Come back on Wednesday for my review of Joy.

Now it’s your turn…

Did you like this review? Have you read Reason? Would you to read it? Have you read any other books by Lena North?

Tell me all about it in the comments below…

Leave a Reply

