Review: Joy

Before I say anything else in this post, I need to warn you that I am currently going through a really bad cold and I can barely look at my computer screen. Also, I know that I promised to have this review up on Wednesday, but I was too sick to do it. Sorry!

cover.jpgTitle: Joy

Author: Lena North

Series: The Dreughan #3

Pages: 231

Goodreads | Amazon

Summary: Troy finally has what he always wanted, a place where he belongs. Vilda and Sannah are like sisters to him, and through them, he has a place in their Dreughan family. There is nothing he wouldn’t do for his family, he’s already killed for them and he would do it again, without remorse.

The Waterfolk called for a meeting to discuss how to end the war that never ends, and Troy is asked to be a part of a small group that goes with Brock, the General of the Dreughan, to the negotiations. He’s happy to be chosen, to be trusted, but he also has another reason for going. They suspect that Valerian of the Waterfolk could be his half-brother, and Troy is eager to take a look at the man. This turns out to be more complicated than he thought, because the Waterfolk seem to recognize him immediately, and neither Troy nor his family can understand why.

As a part of the negotiation, it is decided that a group of Dreughan will visit Pantano, the main village of the Waterfolk, and Troy is going with them. It soon becomes clear to him that, whether he likes it or not, he has more than one family.

Troy’s warrior friend Mal and Drake’s sister Rinna are also part of the group and they’re all happy to be in the beautiful village, but strange things are happening, things that no one can explain. Slowly they start to suspect that someone wants to keep the war going.

Then Troy has to do everything he can to protect his family, his families. If he succeeds, then it would help ending the war, but it looks like he will have to pay a high price.

Review:

This series just gets better and better as it progresses and this is my favorite book in it so far. I have to say that before reading this book I wasn’t really interested in reading about Troy. However, I did want to know the ending of this story and I am so glad that I did read it!

I have to say that I did something very different with these books than with other series I have reviewed. I wanted to be able to focus on one book at a time in my reviews without being affected by what I might write in the next reviewed or by something that I read later on in the series. So I didn’t allow myself to start reading the next book until after I had written the review of the one I had just finished. Unknowingly this helped me, not only in the way I had intended it to, but to also notice changes from one book to the next. And what I did notice was a progress. I realized that things that had bothered me while reading Courage were not as noticeable in Reason and some of them were not even an issue for me while reading Joy. For example, Joy was written in a way that didn’t make me feel too old to be reading it, as if it had been written for a much younger audience than I am.

Plotwise I definitely prefer Joy to either of the two previous books in the series. I think felt that the plot was not only more interesting but also more complex.

Moreover, another thing that I liked about the entire series is that no character is perfect. Even ‘the good guys’ have flaws and make mistakes just like it happens in real life. Of course, it can be frustrating when you have to admit that your favorite hero is just a human (or elf, or dwarf, or dragon-you know what I mean), but giving the characters flaws and allowing them to make mistakes makes them look more realistic.

Finally, I want to talk about the ending. As a conclusion to the story, I think that Lena North did a really good job. I liked the ending and while reading the book it was like I could see the stray threads of random information, facts and suspicions coming together. Everything tied up together very nicely and all of my questions were answered except one. I really would have liked to know the answer to this question (and I am not going to tell you which question that was and spoil the ending for you). However, the answer to this question could be an excuse for another book to be written or, if not an entire book, then maybe a novella or a short story. If I am ever lucky enough to have Lena North actually read this review then I hope that she does take my advice and do just that.

PicMonkey Collage

That was my review of Joy. Don’t forget to check out my reviews of Courage and Reason.

Now it’s your turn…

Did you like this review? Have you read Joy? Have you read any other books by Lena North? What is your favorite dragon book of all time? What was the last fantasy book you read and loved? Which book do you want me to review next?

Tell me all about it in the comments below…

Leave a Reply

