October Book Haul & Wrap Up

I cannot believe how quickly October passed. My life has been so hectic lately and there are so many things that I really want to do that 24 hours in a day are simply not enough! Now let’s talk about books and October.

The Book Haul

I must say that I am very proud of myself concerning my book buying habits this month. I have been focusing on buying only the books that are on my wishlist and only if I really want to read them. I actually have a mental list of which books I am allowed to buy and in what order and I have stuck with it. I am determined to get my TBR under control by the end of 2017 and so far I’m doing great.

Anyway! Here are the books I bought last month…

182483811. The Way of Kings by Brandon Sanderson

I have wanted to get my hands on this book for too long! I have never read a Brandon Sanderson book before and I am so looking forward for my Bookshelf Love Challenge to be over so that I can finally read it. But I have to admit that this book is huge. It’s bigger than my head! 🙂

Roshar is a world of stone and storms. Uncanny tempests of incredible power sweep across the rocky terrain so frequently that they have shaped ecology and civilization alike. Animals hide in shells, trees pull in branches, and grass retracts into the soilless ground. Cities are built only where the topography offers shelter.

It has been centuries since the fall of the ten consecrated orders known as the Knights Radiant, but their Shardblades and Shardplate remain: mystical swords and suits of armor that transform ordinary men into near-invincible warriors. Men trade kingdoms for Shardblades. Wars were fought for them, and won by them.

One such war rages on a ruined landscape called the Shattered Plains. There, Kaladin, who traded his medical apprenticeship for a spear to protect his little brother, has been reduced to slavery. In a war that makes no sense, where ten armies fight separately against a single foe, he struggles to save his men and to fathom the leaders who consider them expendable.

Brightlord Dalinar Kholin commands one of those other armies. Like his brother, the late king, he is fascinated by an ancient text called The Way of Kings. Troubled by over-powering visions of ancient times and the Knights Radiant, he has begun to doubt his own sanity.

Across the ocean, an untried young woman named Shallan seeks to train under an eminent scholar and notorious heretic, Dalinar’s niece, Jasnah. Though she genuinely loves learning, Shallan’s motives are less than pure. As she plans a daring theft, her research for Jasnah hints at secrets of the Knights Radiant and the true cause of the war.

The result of over ten years of planning, writing, and world-building, The Way of Kings is but the opening movement of the Stormlight Archive, a bold masterpiece in the making.

Speak again the ancient oaths,

Life before death.
Strength before weakness.
Journey before Destination.

and return to men the Shards they once bore.

The Knights Radiant must stand again.

161311072. The Black Prism by Brent Weeks

I don’t think that it comes as a surprise the fact that I bought this book. After all I did say in my last book haul that I was going to buy it. And I did! And it’s here! I’m so excited!!!!! Now I am almost ready to marathon the entire series.

Guile is the Prism, the most powerful man in the world. He is high priest and emperor, a man whose power, wit, and charm are all that preserves a tenuous peace. Yet Prisms never last, and Guile knows exactly how long he has left to live.

When Guile discovers he has a son, born in a far kingdom after the war that put him in power, he must decide how much he’s willing to pay to protect a secret that could tear his world apart.

This were all the books I bought this month. I told you I was a very good girl last month. Now as a reward for being so good I will allow myself to buy as many books I want in November. I’ve already made an initial list and it’s not too big it only has 9 books in it. It’s a very good start. You know, nothing excessive. It’s not going to mess with my TBR goals at all.

… … …

200_s.gif

… … …

Just kidding! That would be counterproductive.

The Wrap Up

I read 8 books this month. I am one book behind on my Challenge but I am doing well enough for now so I am not complaining.

122420.jpg1. Asterix and the Normans by René Goscinny & Albert Uderzo

Normans never feel fear—but they do believe that terror literally gives one wings, enabling a person to fly. Now they’re planning to test their theory on Vitalstatistix’s cowardly nephew Jusforkix by pushing him right off the edge of a cliff.

Goodreads | Amazon | Book Depository

Oh my God! This is the best Asterix comic I have ever read! I was laughing so hard while reading that my belly hurt. You should definitely read it if you haven’t.

cover2. Crimson Death by Laurell K. Hamilton

In her twenty-fifth adventure, vampire hunter and necromancer Anita Blake learns that evil is in the eye of the beholder…

Anita has never seen Damian, her vampire servant, in such a state. The rising sun doesn’t usher in the peaceful death that he desperately needs. Instead, he’s being bombarded with violent nightmares and blood sweats.

And now, with Damian at his most vulnerable, Anita needs him the most. The vampire who created him, who subjected him to centuries of torture, might be losing control, allowing rogue vampires to run wild and break one of their kind’s few strict taboos.

Some say love is a great motivator, but hatred gets the job done, too. And when Anita joins forces with her friend Edward to stop the carnage, Damian will be at their side, even if it means traveling back to the land where all his nightmares spring from…a place that couldn’t be less welcoming to a vampire, an assassin, and a necromancer.

Ireland.

Goodreads | Amazon | Book Depository

Of course! I couldn’t just not read the latest Anita Blake book. This series is a guilty pleasure of mine. I know there are probably better-written books out there, but I don’t think I could ever stop reading Anita’s adventures. And of course, I could never refuse to read it after I found out that it would have Damian starring in it. For those of you who don’t know, Damian is one of my favorite characters in the entire series after Anita. He’s currently competing for second place with Jean Claude. And yes, I do know that he is almost never even mentioned in most books, but he’s still my favorite.

And by the way, this series REALLY needs a TV show. One like Game of Thrones that will stick as close to the books as possible. I would never stop watching it.

cover3. What Doesn’t Kill Us by Stephanie Henry

As a child, Drew tried to protect his little sister from his belligerent parents. Through the screaming and arguing, a tragic accident occurs; one that will forever define Drew’s life.

When he meets Hailey years later, he never would have thought that their lives could ever be entwined.

Despite their obvious differences, they form a life-changing bond. But on a trip to visit Hailey’s dad, they unearth a fateful discovery that changes everything.

Can they survive uncovering decade-old secrets and learning the truths of their pasts? Or will the aftermath of their discoveries break the bond they’ve been desperately clinging to?

Goodreads | Amazon | Book Depository

I have recently reviewed this book here on my blog, so I won’t say too much about it. In fact, most of my last posts have been book reviews, so I’m currently allowing myself to take a break and get off review mode. What I will say is that I really liked this book and that I gave it 5 cupcakes. (I wish someone would give me 5 cupcakes!)

cover4. Reason by Lena North

Everyone knows that Susannah is a good girl. Beautiful, accomplished, calm and polite. What they don’t know is that she’s also another girl, one who is hot-tempered, brave – and an expert at throwing knives.

The three friends have settled in Dragoncourt and Susannah is happier than she’s ever been. Or she would be, if it wasn’t for a prophecy that predicting that Sannah is bound by fate to Kee, the beautiful Prince of Dragoncourt. The golden one. The only one who acutely dislikes Susannah.

Suddenly life is becoming more and more confusing to Susannah. Kee isn’t who she thought he was, and she starts to realize that maybe she isn’t a settled girl at all anymore.

Then disaster strikes and Sannah has to let go of the good girl. She has to lie and deceive her way straight into Pantano, the stronghold of the Waterfolk, and she’ll have to do bad things in the name of love and fury.

In the end, she has to decide, is the good girl or the wild one? Or can she be both?

Goodreads | Amazon

This is the second book in the Dreughan series. I think it is a trilogy but I am not sure. I just think that it is. I had already reviewed Courage, the first one, last month. I also have a review of this one too. It’s a really good YA Fantasy and you should definitely check it out, if you like this genre.

cover5. Joy by Lena North

Troy finally has what he always wanted, a place where he belongs. Vilda and Sannah are like sisters to him, and through them, he has a place in their Dreughan family. There is nothing he wouldn’t do for his family, he’s already killed for them and he would do it again, without remorse.

The Waterfolk called for a meeting to discuss how to end the war that never ends, and Troy is asked to be a part of a small group that goes with Brock, the General of the Dreughan, to the negotiations. He’s happy to be chosen, to be trusted, but he also has another reason for going. They suspect that Valerian of the Waterfolk could be his half-brother, and Troy is eager to take a look at the man. This turns out to be more complicated than he thought, because the Waterfolk seem to recognize him immediately, and neither Troy nor his family can understand why.

As a part of the negotiation, it is decided that a group of Dreughan will visit Pantano, the main village of the Waterfolk, and Troy is going with them. It soon becomes clear to him that, whether he likes it or not, he has more than one family.

Troy’s warrior friend Mal and Drake’s sister Rinna are also part of the group and they’re all happy to be in the beautiful village, but strange things are happening, things that no one can explain. Slowly they start to suspect that someone wants to keep the war going.

Then Troy has to do everything he can to protect his family, his families. If he succeeds, then it would help ending the war, but it looks like he will have to pay a high price.

Goodreads | Amazon

I just reviewed joy in yesterday’s post. This one was my favorite of the three and it was really good.

Bookshelf Love Challenge Progress

130976866. A Clash of Kings by George R. R. Martin

The Seven Kingdoms of Westeros are plagued by civil war, while the Night’s Watch mounts a reconnaissance force to investigate the mysterious people known as wildlings. Meanwhile Daenerys Targaryen continues her quest to return to and conquer the Seven Kingdoms. All signs are foreshadowing a terrible disaster that is to come.

Goodreads | Amazon | Book Depository

I finally managed to finish this book! Now I only have to read A Storm of Swords and then I will have to buy the rest of the books and read them too. I still prefer the TV series to the book, but I cannot be objective because I had already watched Season 2 of Game of Thrones before reading the book. I will have to read the rest of the books before I watch the next season. It’s still a good book, but I prefer the series.

9786180107845_hd7. The Fox Hunt by Fani Pantazi

He is living in perfect happiness with his wife and child, until he discovers that his beloved is cheating on him. And then, in just one moment, he loses the ground beneath his feet and everything around him is turned into rubble. After this traumatic experience and a painful divorce, he hates all women and his only goal from now on is to find a scapegoat.

In another part of the city, an unsuspecting young woman lives her own feigned happiness, until she discovers the horrible secret her husband has been hiding from her. After the inevitable divorce and the deep wound that it caused, one thing is for certain: She will never trust a man again in her life. The only thing she cares about now is her little daughter.

What will happen when these two people meet? How cruel can he be and how much more can she be hurt?

Two people who will be forced to realize that sometimes life makes our biggest decisions for us.

Goodreads | Amazon | Book Depository

Yes, indeed. This one’s available on Amazon and currently unavailable on The Book Depository but I added the link to it anyway because I was just so exited about it. Any other interesting Greek book I have ever searched for in either of these sites I could not find it. And also, I thought it would be nice to add these links just in case some of you are actually interested in buying it.

Anyway, let me tell you a few things about this book. When I first read the summary I was both intrigued by it and at the same time I feared that it might be one of these books about people who are so self-destructive that they ruin every chance at happiness that they get. In a few words, what I got from the summary was that I would either love it or 100% hate it.

Fortunately, for me it was the former. It was an intense read. I got so invested in the story and in what the characters were feeling. It was just amazing.The author did a really great job at transferring this story on paper. Because after reading it I found out (or maybe I knew and had forgotten?) that this was a true story.

After learning that, I was so happy that I got to read it. You see I really liked the ending and learning that all of it actually happened reminded me that, even though life can be harsh, there are many things to be happy about. Now, I sound as if I’ve got a tortured past-which is so not the case-but I believe that having real life examples of both the bad and the good things that can happen in life is in some way a shield. It is a shield that helps you to 1. not be naive about the evil that exists in this world and 2. not despair and forget about the endless possibilities for happiness that life always throws into our path along with the bad bad parts. And now I’m getting cheesy. But cheesy is good once in a while. (Only if it is ONLY ONCE in a while.)

2-to-xadi-toy-anemoy8. Το Χάδι του Ανέμου (The Touch of Wind) by Joelle Lopinot – Mastrandoni

Avgi (Dawn) grew up in a brutal family that abused and humiliated her. However, she found the strength, the courage, and a thirst for beauty that no ugliness could kill. One day she accidentally meets Jacques, a famous sculptor, and as she gets closer to him she discovers her hidden talent. But what hides behind her parents’ hatred for her? Why is love forbidden to her?

Goodreads | Amazon | Book Depository

Wow! I am impressed! When did Greek books start being available on sites like Amazon and the Book Depository? All I have been able to find on there where boring non-fiction and Harry Potter in Ancient Greek. (Yes, Harry Potter has been translated in Ancient Greek, but do not ask me why.) Now all that’s left is for the books to be translated so that more people can read them. We needed to promote Modern Greek Literature. Authors, Publishers get on with the program!

And seriously, this is an amazing book to start with. Though it wouldn’t be to everyone’s taste. I have to admit that. It is definitely very dark, it contains a lot of violence, and it is very possible that people would find it disturbing. I tend to be a lot more understanding when I read books with disturbing content because I realize that what that book is describing is something that can and has happened in real life-unfortunately. So, I always try to put that fact aside and judge the people, the characters, based on the rest of their actions.

Anyway, I really liked the book. It took me about 5 to six Hours to read it and most of that time I was crying (I think bawling would be the most fitting term and there was snot and countless used tissues). Now that I have you appropriately disgusted I think I can move on with this post. I believe it is obvious how much I enjoyed reading this book.

That was it from me for today. I am currently reading a couple of books, which I will be reviewing soon, and I am also expecting a couple of books to arrive but these are going to go on my November Book Haul.

Now it’s your turn…

What new books are you exited about? What books did you read lately  and did you like them? Is your TBR manageable and how do you manage it?

Tell me all about it in the comments below…

Leave a Reply

