Tome Topple Read-a-thon TBR

I recently found out about this Read-a-thon from the Little Book Owl and I thought that it was a great idea for me to read some of the bigger books on my Bookshelf Love Challenge TBR.

The Read-a-thon will last from November 18th to December 1st and the goal is to read as many tomes over 500 pages during that time as possible. There are also challenges, but I won’t be doing any of them.

So this is what I am planning to read…

622911. A Storm of Swords by George R. R. Martin (1128 pages-definitely a tome)

I recently finished A Clash of Kings and I am taking advantage of this Read-a-thon to push myself to read this book quicker than the previous two. It is a good plan and I am hoping that it will work.

Goodreads | Amazon | Book Depository

Of the five contenders for power, one is dead, another in disfavor, and still the wars rage as alliances are made and broken. Joffrey sits on the Iron Throne, the uneasy ruler of the Seven Kingdoms. His most bitter rival, Lord Stannis, stands defeated and disgraced, victim of the sorceress who holds him in her thrall. Young Robb still rules the North from the fortress of Riverrun. Meanwhile, making her way across a blood-drenched continent is the exiled queen, Daenerys, mistress of the only three dragons still left in the world. And as opposing forces manoeuver for the final showdown, an army of barbaric wildlings arrives from the outermost limits of civilization, accompanied by a horde of mythical Others—a supernatural army of the living dead whose animated corpses are unstoppable. As the future of the land hangs in the balance, no one will rest until the Seven Kingdoms have exploded in a veritable storm of swords…

68567842. The Da Vinci Code by Dan Brown (590 pages)

It’s been so long since I read Angels & Demons, but I remember that I really loved it and I am hoping that this one will be just as good. Also, I don’t think that I have ever watched the entire The Da Vinci Code movie and the parts of it that I did watch I don’t really remember. Therefore, I think I will be as unspoiled while reading the book as any person at my age could be when it comes to The Da Vinci Code.

Goodreads | AmazonBook Depository

An ingenious code hidden in the works of Leonardo da Vinci. A desperate race through the cathedrals and castles of Europe. An astonishing truth concealed for centuries . . . unveiled at last.

While in Paris, Harvard symbologist Robert Langdon is awakened by a phone call in the dead of the night. The elderly curator of the Louvre has been murdered inside the museum, his body covered in baffling symbols. As Langdon and gifted French cryptologist Sophie Neveu sort through the bizarre riddles, they are stunned to discover a trail of clues hidden in the works of Leonardo da Vinci—clues visible for all to see and yet ingeniously disguised by the painter.

Even more startling, the late curator was involved in the Priory of Sion—a secret society whose members included Sir Isaac Newton, Victor Hugo, and Da Vinci—and he guarded a breathtaking historical secret. Unless Langdon and Neveu can decipher the labyrinthine puzzle—while avoiding the faceless adversary who shadows their every move—the explosive, ancient truth will be lost forever.

140620303. Steve Jobs by Walter Isaacson (527 pages)

I know that it is only 527 pages but this book is the tallest one in my entire library. Anyway, it is still a tome and it still counts for this challenge. This will be the first biography I have ever read. I tend to think of biographies as very boring books. However, I have been craving for more diversity in my readings and that includes the genres that I read from. Also, when I was still trying to complete the Read Harder Challenge 2016, I was required to read a biography that was not a memoir or an autobiography and this is what I chose. I’m very excited to see if this is a genre that I would like to read more of, but I’m also afraid that it will make me feel too much like a gossiping busybody. Either way, it’s worth a try before I completely reject an entire genre of literature. If I do like it, then I might search for a few more biographies to read.

Goodreads | Amazon | Book Depository

From best-selling author Walter Isaacson comes the landmark biography of Apple co-founder Steve Jobs.

In Steve Jobs: The Exclusive Biography, Isaacson provides an extraordinary account of Jobs’ professional and personal life. Drawn from three years of exclusive and unprecedented interviews Isaacson has conducted with Jobs as well as extensive interviews with Jobs’ family members and key colleagues from Apple and its competitors, Steve Jobs: The Exclusive Biography is the definitive portrait of the greatest innovator of his generation.

209978504. Priestess of the White by Trudi Canavan (688 pages)

I was planning to leave Priestess of the White for last in my Bookshelf Love TBR Challenge, so that I would have enough time to buy the third book and marathon the entire Age of the Five Trilogy. But since I didn’t have enough tomes left in my Challenge TBR and since I didn’t want to add in my Read-a-thon TBR any extra books, I decided to just go with this one.

Goodreads | Amazon | Book Depository

When Auraya was chosen to become a priestess, she could never have believed that a mere ten years later she would be one of the White, the gods’ most powerful servants.

Sadly, Auraya has little time to adapt to the exceptional powers gifted her by the gods. Mysterious black-clad sorcerers from the south plague the land, and rumours reach the White of an army being raised. Auraya and her new colleagues work tirelessly to seal alliances and unite the northern continent under their banner, but time is running out.

War is coming to the lands of the White, and unless Auraya can master her new abilities, even the favour of the gods may not be enough to save them . . .

3-magazaki-aytoktonivn5. The Suicide Shop by Jean Teulé (166 pages)

This one is a tiny book—definitely not a tome. I am adding it in this TBR anyway so that I can have a small book to help me not get lost in all these tomes.

Goodreads | Amazon | Book Depository

Has your life been a failure? Let’s make your death a success With the twenty-first century just a distant memory and the world in environmental chaos, many people have lost the will to live. And business is brisk at The Suicide Shop. Run by the Tuvache family for generations, the shop offers an amazing variety of ways to end it all, with something to fit every budget. The Tuvaches go mournfully about their business, taking pride in the morbid service they provide. Until the youngest member of the family threatens to destroy their contented misery by confronting them with something they ve never encountered before: a love of life.

And that is all. I don’t know whether these books are too many or not enough. I suppose I’ll find out soon enough.

Now it’s your turn…

Are you participating in the Tome Topple Read-a-thon? Which books will you be reading? Are you doing any of the challenges? Are you cheating like me?

Tell me all about it in the comments below…

7 thoughts on “Tome Topple Read-a-thon TBR

Leave a Reply

