Exciting Announcements! New Monthly Feature And More…

Hello everybody! I am super excited today because I finally get to announce something that has been in the back of my mind for a long time now that I am finally making the effort and commitment to do.

Ever since I started this blog, I have been sharing freely with you all of my “reading experiences” with you. I have not been telling you only about the books I read that are written in English. I have talked about Greek books as well, without counting if these books have been translated or not. I have even gone so far as to translate the summaries of Greek books that have not been translated yet.

Why did I do this? Because you never know who might be reading your blog. It is very possible that sometime in my book blogging journey a publisher or two might end up visiting my blog. It is part of a publisher’s job after all to find new bloggers to promote their books after all. So, if this publisher does visit my blog, what do I want him/her to see? What is it that makes my blog different? What information do I want them to keep in mind when they leave?

One of the things that I want to achieve with my blog is to promote Greek Literature. Of course, I love books and talking about them and that is the main reason I am blogging, but this is a secondary goal of mine when it comes to this blog. So, by giving people a translated summary and reviews of books that have not been translated in English, I am giving them a glimpse of what they could read in the future. I am giving the publisher ideas on which books they might be interested in translating and selling.

However, I don’t believe that this is enough in order to get people to know Greek Literature. What I have noticed is that most people know at least one or two Ancient Greek authors, but there are very few foreigners who are acquainted with modern Greek Literature. I myself would like to read more Modern Greek literature.

This is why I decided to add a monthly feature in my blog, where at the end of each month I will be talking about a different Modern Greek author. I might talk about an Ancient Greek author once in a while but it will be almost exclusively Modern Greeks. In this feature I will be talking about the authors life, I will be sharing some of his/her most important works, I will be giving you links to any of the books that have been translated in English and lastly I will be reviewing a book written by that author. Furthermore, at the end of the post, I will have a poll where you will be able to vote for authors I will be reviewing next.

Lastly, I am thinking of creating a Goodreads group where you will be able to read along with me the book I will be reviewing for that month and where you will be able to share your own thoughts and opinions on the authors, their works, etc. But I don’t know if this is something that you would be interested in or not. What do you think?

The other news I wanted to share with you was that I am currently in the process of creating an art blog where I will be sharing my drawings and stuff. I will tell you more about it when it is ready, but I was too excited about it to keep it a secret!

That is all for today.

Now it’s your turn…

What do you think about this new feature in my blog? Do you want to know more about Modern Greek authors? Do you have any ideas on who you would want me to start with?

Tell me all about it in the comments below…

Leave a Reply

