January Book Haul

The first month of 2017 is already over and I still have not realized how quickly 2016 went by. Anyway, this month I have bought some really amazing books for myself and I have also received a few books as gifts from my mother. I won’t bore you with my non-existent news, I will get straight to the book haul part. Enjoy…!

January Book Haul

First, I will show you the books that my mother bought for me from a used bookstore in Zurich.

41dh678s7hl-_sx321_bo1204203200_1. Wuthering Heights by Emily Bronte

This book was recommended to me by my English Language teacher some time ago, but I’ve been putting off buying it because I don’t think that I’m going to like it and so I didn’t want to spent a lot of money for it, while at the same time I couldn’t find an edition that I liked enough to put it on my bookshelves. Now I don’t have to worry about any of this.

Set on the stormy moors of northern England, this classic novel is filled with the cruel and ecstatic love between the characters Heathcliff and Catherine. As they grow together as children and later as lovers, the conflicts of class and an all-consuming passion overwhelm the inhabitants of Wuthering Heights. The all-star cast of performers includes Claire Bloom and James Mason as the doomed lovers.

Goodreads | Amazon UK | Book Depository

53422. The Life of Our Lord by Charles Dickens

Though I’ve heard of Charles Dickens, I had never heard of this book before. However, this is a beautiful yet weird edition. The cover is pretty and the naked book is pretty too. It has deckled edges on the side and (here comes the weird part) the top edge is a magenta color but the side edge and bottom edge of the book are not colored at all. I’ve never seen that in a book before. Anyway, it’s a short book, so it should be a quick read, but this is a terribly wrong pick for me. You see I am not at all religious and this is a book of religious context. I really don’t know if I am going to read it.

In this charming, simple retelling of the life of Jesus Christ, adapted from the Gospel of St. Luke, Dickens hoped to teach his young children about religion and faith.

Goodreads | Amazon UK | Book Depository

159237953. The Peculiar by Stefan Bachmann

This is another book that I have never heard of. It is also a Children’s Book. I can’t remember the last time I read one of those. I don’t think my mother has any idea about my tastes in books at all. I’m not rejecting it though. It looks interesting and the synopsis sounds like something I might like. I guess I’ll read it and find out.

Don’t get yourself noticed and you won’t get yourself hanged.

In the faery slums of Bath, Bartholomew Kettle and his sister Hettie live by these words. Bartholomew and Hettie are changelings–Peculiars–and neither faeries nor humans want anything to do with them.

One day a mysterious lady in a plum-colored dress comes gliding down Old Crow Alley. Bartholomew watches her through his window. Who is she? What does she want? And when Bartholomew witnesses the lady whisking away, in a whirling ring of feathers, the boy who lives across the alley–Bartholomew forgets the rules and gets himself noticed.

First he’s noticed by the lady in plum herself, then by something darkly magical and mysterious, by Jack Box and the Raggedy Man, by the powerful Mr. Lickerish . . . and by Arthur Jelliby, a young man trying to slip through the world unnoticed, too, and who, against all odds, offers Bartholomew friendship and a way to belong.

Part murder mystery, part gothic fantasy, part steampunk adventure, The Peculiar is Stefan Bachmann’s riveting, inventive, and unforgettable debut novel.

Goodreads | Amazon UK | Book Depository

186576984. Cop Town by Karin Slaughter

Another book I knew nothing about. This seems to be the prevailing theme with the books mom bought me. It sounds like a mystery/thriller type of book. I think I might actually enjoy reading this one. Either way, I’ll let you know.

1970s Atlanta: A time of great change and yet for many the fierce desire to keep things exactly the same is still strong. For women like Maggie Lawson and Kate Murphy every day is a battle. From different sides of the tracks they are united in their determination to be good cops. But they have to fight the prejudice of people like Maggie’s uncle Terry who are convinced a woman’s place is in the home. And all this in a city where 10 cops are killed a year and most of the city is a no-go area – even for their male colleagues. Then Jimmy’s partner is shot dead and Maggie and Kate find themselves caught up in a case that forces them to make choices. Choices that have far reaching consequences – for them, for the police force, and for the community as a whole.

Goodreads | Amazon UK | Book Depository

130665115. “Ακριβή μου Σοφία…” by Freddy Germanos

I found this book in the half price stand of a bookshop in Thessaloniki. At first glance I couldn’t see anything that I wanted to buy until I found this. Freddy Germanos was a Greek author that I have heard many people talk about. I have occasionally seen a book of his and thought of buying it just to see if I like his writing but I never actually did it. So when I found this one sold at half-price, I got it without a second thought.

Unfortunately I don’t think that it has been translated in English. However, if I do like it I will make a post about Germanos’ works and leave links to any books of his that have been translated, probably as a part of my new Modern Greek Authors monthly feature.

Όλα θα πρέπει ν’ άρχισαν στα 1907. Ένα χειμωνιάτικο απομεσήμερο του Δεκέμβρη, την ώρα που οι χωροφύλακες οδηγούσαν εφ’ όπλου λόγχη στον ανακριτή έναν νεαρό ταραξία της Nομικής, με σγουρά μαλλιά και φλοτάν γραβάτα, που λεγόταν Γεώργιος Παπανδρέου. “Tον έσπρωχναν θυμωμένοι να κατέβει τα σκαλοπάτια του Πανεπιστημίου”, θυμόταν η Σοφία, που θα γινόταν αργότερα γυναίκα του. Aυτός και οι συμφοιτητές του είχαν αναστατώσει για κάμποσες μέρες την Aθήνα, κάνοντας τον πρωθυπουργό Θεοτόκη να χάσει τον ύπνο του. Eκείνη την ώρα η Σοφία, φοιτήτρια της Φιλολογίας, στεκόταν πλάι στο άγαλμα του Pήγα Φεραίου, με μωβ φόρεμα και μωβ ομπρελίνο (“Mου φάνηκες σαν μια πορσελάνινη κούκλα”, θα της έγραφε για εκείνη την ώρα, τρία χρόνια αργότερα), και κοίταζε με ορθάνοιχτα μάτια τον κομψό δανδή που σπρωχνόταν άγρια απ’ τους χωροφύλακες. Tα βλέμματά τους συναντήθηκαν. Eίχαν συναντηθεί κι άλλες φορές, στους διαδρόμους του Πανεπιστημίου. Aυτή όμως θα πρέπει να ‘ταν διαφορετική απ’ τις άλλες. Ήταν Πέμπτη, 6 του Δεκέμβρη.

Tο 1907 ήταν καλή εποχή για αγάπη. H Aθήνα ζει μια ροζ εποχή. O πρίγκιπας Γεώργιος, δύο χρόνια μετά τη σύγκρουσή του με τον Bενιζέλο στην Kρήτη, ετοιμαζόταν να απαλύνει τα ψυχικά του τραύματα με έναν γάμο – η νύφη είναι μια απόγονος του Nαπολέοντα, η Mαρία Pολάνδου Bοναπάρτη. Στην Πάτρα μια νεαρή ηθοποιός που λέγεται Kυβέλη Aδριανού παρουσιάζει την Παριζιάνα του Mπέκ. Στη Θεσσαλία σκοτώνεται ο Mαρίνος Aντύπας. Στη Mακεδονία γεννιέται ο Kωνσταντίνος Kαραμανλής. Tην ίδια ώρα, ο Γεώργιος Παπανδρέου οδηγείται απ’ τους χωροφύλακες στο Φρουραρχείο της Aθήνας με τα μάτια μαγεμένα απ’ την εικόνα του μεγάλου έρωτα, που μπήκε στη ζωή του πριν από πέντε λεπτά. H μεγάλη περιπέτεια αρχίζει.

Goodreads | Amazon UK | Book Depository

176707096. Crown of Midnight by Sarah J. Maas

I was walking through one of my favorite bookstores in Greece and browsing through the shelves to find books to buy that complied with my book buying ban, which was still an unofficial thing back then but I was already trying to follow it, when I found the entire Throne of Glass series in exactly the same edition as the first book that I got from my trip to London two years ago! Up until then I had found a few interesting books, but I didn’t want any of them badly enough to spent my money on them. Of course, I picked all four of them up immediately thinking that if I were to find a book I had been looking for I would put one or two of them back on the shelves.

Crowned by Evil.
Bound by Duty.
Divided by Love.

Celaena Sardothien, royal assassin, is the King of Adarlan’s deadliest weapon. She must win her freedom through his enemies’ blood – but she cannot bear to kill for the crown. And every death Celaena fakes, every lie she tells, put those she loves at risk.

Torn between her two protectors – a captain and a prince – and battling a dark force far greater than the king, Celaena must decide what she will fight for: her liberty, her heart or the fate of a kingdom…

Goodreads | Amazon UK | Book Depository

206176367. Heir of Fire by Sarah J. Maas

This is the second and last book in the Throne of Glass series that I bought that day, because I did indeed decide to buy one more book and I didn’t want to go over my budget. I’ll have to buy the other two books some other time. And hey, my birthday’s coming up!

Consumed by guilt and rage, Celaena can’t bring herself to spill blood for the King of Adarlan. She must fight back…

The Immortal Queen will help her destroy the king – for a price. But as Celaena battles with her darkest memories and her heart breaks for a love that could never last, can she fulfil the bargain and head the almighty court of Terrasen? And who will stand with her?

Goodreads | Amazon UK | Book Depository

293830018. The Artist’s Complete Book of Drawing: A Step-By-Step Professional Guide by Barrington Barber

I have been looking for a book like this for some time now. Specifically, I needed a book that talked about how to draw anatomically correct figures. However, I wasn’t able to find a book that focused on human anatomy for artists that day. This was the next best thing I found and I have to say that I am not at all disappointed with my purchase. It covers almost everything. It starts with how to hold your pencil correctly and goes on to talk about still life, landscape, figures and portraits. I think it is a great guide for beginners and even for more experienced artists like me. It has lots of exercises and pictures to help you learn. Some of the information in here are not for me because I already know it, but there is also useful knowledge and interesting tasks to help me practice and get better. I still think that I will probably need more information on anatomy than this book provides, but it’s a very good start.

Another first-rate, comprehensive drawing manual from bestselling author Barrington Barber. With exercises and demonstrations throughout, this book contains everything an aspiring artist needs to know, from how to hold a pencil to drawing a panoramic landscape outdoors.

Goodreads | Amazon UK | Book Depository

Those are all the books I got in January. There are some more books that I have to show you, but those will be part of my February book haul. Patience, my faithful readers, is always rewarded. Plus, my birthday is coming up on February 16th and then on February 28th I will be celebrating my 2nd Blogoversary! So stay tuned and don’t forget to drop by tomorrow, because I will be posting about my book buying ban that I mentioned above.

Now it’s your turn…

Did you like this post? Have you read any of these books? Where there any books that you didn’t know about? Would you like me to review one of the books in this post?

And also…

What books did you buy this month? Have you read something amazing in January?

Tell me all about it in the comments below…

2 thoughts on “January Book Haul

Leave a Reply

