February Book Haul

I know I have only just talked about my book buying ban in my latest post. I have not cheated before I even started. These are books that I got either before I started the book buying ban or were given to me as gifts for my birthday, which was on the 16th of February. I am now officially 24 years old 😀

(Btw does every 24-year-old get as excited about their birthday as I do, or am I simply weird?)

Aaaanyway, before I start with this month’s book haul, I would like to inform you-my faithful readers-that my new posting schedule will be Tuesdays and Saturdays. In a perfect world, I would be posting everyday, of course, but I am suspecting that my erratic posting schedule is mainly caused by me trying to post too many times per week, which leads to my burning out and disappearing from the blogging community for months at a time. So, I am going to take it easy and see how it goes. Now, let’s get on with the book haul, shall we?

339818111. Kostas Karyotakis: Poems

This is an anthology of Kostas Karyotakis’ poems, who was a Modern Greek poet. I remember that, when I was still at school, his was some of my favorite poems that we studied. It has been my intention to buy a collection of his poems for a while now, but for some reason those books are usually ridiculously priced. However, this time I got very lucky and found this edition at a VERY good price and grabbed it without a second thought. The bad thing is that this book has not been translated in English, nevertheless, I have left you a couple of links below to translations of his works. I’m sorry that I couldn’t provide you with a greater selection, but unfortunately translating Greek poetry in English is a very hard job to do and thus translations like this are not easy to find. (I will be talking more about why this is true in a future post.) Anyway, I will be writing a post about Karyotakis and, when I do so, I will do a better search for translations and leave links to them for you.

GoodreadsAmazon UK | Amazon.com

poiimata-kai-peza-9789604577224-200-1204891.jpg2. Dionysios Solomos: Poetry and Prose

If you have read my introduction post to my new monthly feature on Modern Greek Literature, then you might remember that I was planning to make polls for you to vote on the author I would be talking about next. Some of you may have even wondered why I have not already posted such a poll when the first post of the series is going to be posted in about a week. The reason is simple. There isn’t going to be a poll for February because, in my opinion, there is no better author for one to start learning about Modern Greek literature than Dionysios Solomos. Now, if you would like to know why, then you will have to wait for my post at the end of the month.

This book is a collection of his works. Again, I will leave you links for you to translations of Solomos’ works later in the month.

Goodreads

238481453. Queen of Shadows by Sarah J. Maas

In my last book haul I told you how I almost bought this book and eventually didn’t. Well, my mother bought it for me for my birthday.

Everyone Celaena Sardothien loves has been taken from her. But she’s at last returned to the empire—for vengeance, to rescue her once-glorious kingdom, and to confront the shadows of her past . . .

She will fight for her cousin, a warrior prepared to die just to see her again. She will fight for her friend, a young man trapped in an unspeakable prison. And she will fight for her people, enslaved to a brutal king and awaiting their lost queen’s triumphant return.

Celaena’s epic journey has captured the hearts and imaginations of millions across the globe. This fourth volume will hold readers rapt as Celaena’s story builds to a passionate, agonizing crescendo that might just shatter her world.

Goodreads | Amazon UK | Book Depository

295590524. Empire of Storms by Sarah J. Maas

Yes! Mom got me Empire of Storms too! Now I own the entire Throne of Glass series and they are all matching editions!!! OMG they look soooo pretty on my shelf!

(Okay, Nora. You’ve got too many exclamation points.)

The long path to the throne has only just begun for Aelin Galathynius. Loyalties have been broken and bought, friends have been lost and gained, and those who possess magic find themselves at odds with those don’t.

As the kingdoms of Erilea fracture around her, enemies must become allies if Aelin is to keep those she loves from falling to the dark forces poised to claim her world. With war looming on all horizons, the only chance for salvation lies in a desperate quest that may mark the end of everything Aelin holds dear.

Aelin’s journey from assassin to queen has entranced millions across the globe, and this fifth installment will leave fans breathless. Will Aelin succeed in keeping her world from splintering, or will it all come crashing down?

Goodreads | Amazon UK | Book Depository

63296485. Antigone by Sophocles

When I was 17, we studied Antigone in school. However, we didn’t analyze the entire play. However, I did like the parts that we studied. I would like to read the entire play for myself. I think that Antigone is a very interesting character.

The curse placed on Oedipus lingers and haunts a younger generation in this new and brilliant translation of Sophocles’ classic drama. The daughter of Oedipus and Jocasta, Antigone is an unconventional heroine who pits her beliefs against the King of Thebes in a bloody test of wills that leaves few unharmed. Emotions fly as she challenges the king for the right to bury her own brother. Determined but doomed, Antigone shows her inner strength throughout the play.


Antigone raises issues of law and morality that are just as relevant today as they were more than two thousand years ago. Whether this is your first reading or your twentieth, Antigone will move you as few pieces of literature can.

Goodreads | Amazon UK | Book Depository

87481626. How to Travel with a Salmon and Other Essays by Umberto Eco

The English title is just weird, but the Greek title is hilarious. I have read a few pages of this book in the past and it was soooo funny. I am eager to read it all this time.

Once a columnist for an Italian literary magazine, Eco now shares his acute and highly entertaining sense of the absurd in modern life in these essays about militarism, computerese, cowboy and Indian movies, art criticism, librarians, semiotics, and much more–including himself.

Goodreads | Amazon UK | Book Depository

161817467. Power & Greed: A Short History of the World by Philippe Gigantes

I found this book on the philosophy section of my favorite bookstore in Ioannina. I thought it would be a really interesting read. I am not usually drawn to historical stuff (unless it is a historical romance, which is totally different), but this one caught my attention. I hope I’ll like it.

With purposeful brevity and intellectual liveliness Philippe Gigantes examines the progress of humanity through the centuries, and behind every critical event, in every culture and every era, he finds repeatedly the same two driving forces—omnivorous human greed and the quenchless thirst for power. In an engaging journey through four millennia Gigantes focuses first on the great rule-makers of history—Moses, Plato, Solon, Jesus, the Brahmans, the Buddha, Lao-tzu, Confucius, and Muhammad—who by the first century A.D. had laid down virtually all the principles that advance a fair and just society. Gigantes then revisits the sometimes destructive deeds and often amazing accomplishments of history’s ruthless rule-breakers. These Grand Acquisitors, as Gigantes calls them, range from the warring chieftains of tribal societies to the robber barons of the nineteenth century and superpower nations of the twentieth. With a kind of historical inevitability, the actions of these dynamic acquisitors result in crusades and jihads, in revolutions and long, bloody military conflicts, in two world wars and catastrophic terrorist attacks. Defying historical orthodoxy, Gigantes argues that we humans have continually failed to benefit from the lessons of our own history. And we continue to invest power in politically and economically greedy acquisitors. In the reasons why, Gigantes hopes we cannot only gain further insight into what lies behind today’s news headlines but also realize the means to a more civilized future.

Goodreads | Amazon UK | Book Depository

41ujeq28uvl-_bo1204203200_8. Κήποι Εσωτερικών Χώρων by John Brookes

This is an old textbook that belonged to my aunt. I have no idea how it ended up on my parents’ bookshelves, but I thought it would be a great source of inspiration for my drawings, since it talks about plants. It has so many pictures of different plants that I can study. It’s going to be a very good resource when I am trying to draw flowers etc. Of course, I am not going to actually sit down and read the entire thing and it’s not going to be added on my tbr shelf. I am having a hard time reading my own textbooks. I am not going to willingly add more books to that pile.

64068219. Human Anatomy: The Artist’s Guide to Form, Function and Movement by Valerie L. Winslow

This, however, is a book that I am totally going to read. It’s not going to be a part of my tbr list, but I am planning to read it in its entirety. I can’t remember which artist it was, but I do remember that I found out about this book through Youtube. I have already told you that I want to study the anatomy of the human body in order to improve my drawing skills in my last book haul. If you are interested in anatomy for artists too, then I definitely recommend that you look up this book. It is a very good and extensive resource.

After more than thirty years of research and teaching, artist Valerie Winslow has compiled her unique methods of drawing human anatomy into one groundbreaking volume: Classic Human Anatomy. This long-awaited book provides simple, insightful approaches to the complex subject of human anatomy, using drawings, diagrams, and reader-friendly text. Three major sections–the skeletal form, the muscular form and action of the muscles, and movement–break the material down into easy-to-understand pieces. More than 800 distinctive illustrations detail the movement and actions of the bones and muscles, and unique charts reveal the origins and insertions of the muscles. Packed with an extraordinary wealth of information, Classic Human Anatomy is sure to become a new classic of art instruction.

Goodreads | Amazon UK | Book Depository

I know this was an early post, but I won’t be getting any more books this month so there was no point in waiting to the end of the month. I think that this must be the most varied book haul I have ever posted. I’ve got a little bit of everything: poetry, ancient classics, fantasy, comedy, history and politics, non-fiction, interior design, art and human anatomy… I like it.

Now it’s your turn…

What books did you get this month? Anything special you would like to share? Which books do you draw inspiration from?

Tell me all about it in the comments below…

Leave a Reply

