Review: The Raven Boys

I did it! I finally read The Raven Boys. I’ve wanted to do that from the moment I heard about this book. I’ve wanted to read Maggie Stiefvater for even longer than that. Was it worth my time? Read on and find out…

4-raven-boysTitle: The Raven Boys

Author: Maggie Stiefvater

Series: The Raven Cycle #1

Pages: 421

Goodreads | Amazon UK | Book Depository

Summary: Even if Blue hadn’t been told her true love would die if she kissed him, she would stay away from boys. Especially the ones from the local private school. Known as Raven Boys, they only mean trouble.

But this is the year that everything will change for Blue.

This is the year that she will be drawn into the strange and sinister world of the Raven Boys. And the year Blue will discover that magic does exist.

This is the year she will fall in love.

Review:

Okay, I will admit that when I first decided that I need to read this book, it was because of the cover. But when I read the summary, I was even more intrigued. I mean who wouldn’t be intrigued by a book that on the front cover said: If you kiss your true love, he ill die? Then, of course, there was the period when I was afraid of reading it just in case I didn’t like it. And then, there was the moment I got over it and picked the book up.

Thankfully, I’d had nothing to fear. It was indeed an amazing book. To be honest I don’t really have much to say about the book. What I really enjoyed the most was this feeling I had while reading it. It’s hard to describe it accurately, but I kept feeling like the world was full of possibilities, that something mystical was going to happen, that magic did exist in the world and not just in the book’s world but also in the real one. I know that this sounds a little… cheezy(?)… hippie(?) I don’t know. But I guess that what I’m trying to say is that the book sucked me in it and didn’t let go until I had read it all.

There is only one thing that I would like to comment on and that is this: How come that three underage boys live alone with no parental supervision at all and no one has said anything?

That’s it. I really have no more comments to make neither on the characters or on the plot. BUT I do have a few predictions to make. Note that I am not calling them spoilers, because they are actually things I am predicting that will happen in the next books.

  1. This, I think is pretty obvious, but I don’t think that Adam is Blue’s true love. I think that is Gansey and the author has left several hints about it throughout the book.
  2. Ronan has special powers that will be revealed later in the series. The raven coming to him was no coincidence. Also, there is something in his father’s death that is probably going to affect what’s going to happen later.
  3. Something’s up with Gansey. There is something about him, about these two sides of him, that has been nagging me. It either has to do with Glendower or with the fey lines, but there is definitely something important about it.
  4. Where did Neeve go? Probably nowhere good. Based on what Calla said about her, we are definitely seeing her again and this time it’s going to be much worse than the first time.
  5. Something bad will happen to Adam. I don’t know if it will be him turning into an a**hole, or something worse, but I have a bad feeling about him.
  6. Blue’s father was not human. Or at least there is something mystical/magical/whatever about him. He might have even be that voice coming from the trees.
  7. If the voice was not Blue’s father, whom we are definitely going to meet by the way, then I fear there might be something sinister behind it.
  8. One out of two things are going to happen with Ronan. He’s either going to straighten out and finally deal with his problems, or he will follow Adam’s predicted path and will probably piss me off big time. Maybe enough to not want to continue reading this series.
  9. Another obvious prediction: Blue is going to kiss Gansey.
  10. And lastly, Blue is going to discover her powers.

I think that was all. What do you think? Did you like my predictions? I thought it would go well with this review since half of the characters in this book are self-employed psychics.

4 star rating

Goodreads | Amazon UK | Book Depository

downloadAbout the author:

New York Times bestselling author of The Shiver Trilogy, The Raven Cycle, and The Scorpio Races. Artist. Driver of things with wheels. Avid reader.

All of Maggie Stiefvater’s life decisions have been based around her inability to be gainfully employed. Talking to yourself, staring into space, and coming to work in your pajamas are frowned upon when you’re a waitress, calligraphy instructor, or technical editor (all of which she’s tried), but are highly prized traits in novelists and artists. She’s made her living as one or the other since she was 22. She now lives an eccentric life in the middle of nowhere, Virginia with her charmingly straight-laced husband, two kids, two neurotic dogs, and a 1973 Camaro named Loki.

Now it’s your turn…

Have you read The Raven Boys? Did you like it? Have you read any of the books in The Raven Cycle Series? Have you read any other books by Maggie Stiefvater?

and also…

Did you like my review? Should I write more predictions for what’s happening next in my future reviews? Did I get anything right? How much did get right?

Tell me all about it in the comments below…

But don’t tell me what I got right, because that would be spoilers. Predictions don’t count.

4 thoughts on “Review: The Raven Boys

  1. “What I really enjoyed the most was this feeling I had while reading it.”

    Yes! Reading the Raven Cycle is very much an experience. There is just something so atmospheric about Stiefvater’s writing. Her characterization is also very on point.

    I really enjoyed reading your predictions! I think you will find that you are spot on with a few of them 🙂

    I really enjoyed The Raven Cycle. My favorite was the 3rd book: Blue Lily, Lily Blue. Unfortunately I was disappointed with the 4th (and final) book, but I still love the series. Enjoy!

    Like

  2. Great review! So far I’ve only read this first book so I don’t know if your predictions are right yet. I need to get the next book from my library to find out.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

